We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Black Swan(Ravenstonedale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King's Head(Ravenstonedale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (575)
Filter reviews
575 results
Traveller rating
276
199
62
25
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
276
199
62
25
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature reservelambroaring firethe pubbar areaboth nightssteak and ale pietwo night stayeggs benedictcomfortable staykirkby stephenthe ground floorshort breakroom was clean and comfortablefull englishyorkshire dalesgreat weekend
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 575 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Me and my wife spent Good Friday night at The Fat Lamb.
We arrived and were greeted by the owner who was polite and chatty and then we were shown to our room.
Let me start by saying the food was good. The evening meal was good pub grub and the breakfast was nothing to complain about either.Friendly staff too so fair enough.
The only issues I had were that it was like visiting a hotel form the mid 1970s!!
The carpets were worn,the door to our room looked like a dog had been chewing it.The bathroom suite was a pale peach colour and the bath felt like a trampoline when you were stood in it.The pictures (prints) on the wall most have been 50 years old and probably the curtains as well. The piped music that was being played in the bar kind of reflected the age of the decor (60s/70s) It was an odd place.Very quiet with no atmosphere at all..The whole place needs big money spending on it to bring it up to some sort of modern day standard.
As someone who travels quite a lot and stays in pubs and B&Bs on a regular basis I think compared to a lot of other establishments this one has seen better days.Its just old and very very tired.I'm guessing the owners have probably been there that long they don't see it anymore. You kind of get used to those old curtains which is fine if its your own house but when you're charging £60 a night I kind of expect a little bit more than a visit to a 1970s museum with cigarette cards,old oil cans and other odd and sods for decoration.
Throw half a million quid at it and breath some new life into the place.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank grace8132018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a two night stay here. A very comfortable and cosy place with excellent choice and quality of vegetarian food and very reasonable wine choice and prices. Rooms pleasant and there are wonderful walks from the inn itself and other walks close by. Friendly and helpful staff and owners

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank NWEnglandNWcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Our visit for lunch in this traditional pub was a delight. The staff were very welcoming, the food delicious and well priced. Hearty portions of home made sandwiches served with fries, coleslaw and salad. Very well worth a visit.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank florence006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Our stay at the Fat Lamb was not an unpleasant experience altogether. However, it is not what we would expect from 4 star accommodation! We have stayed in 3 star B&B's which have been a lot better and a lot cheaper. At £105 a night for a double, we expected something better.

No member of staff on reception when we arrived to check in and no way of catching anyone's attention. A little bell on the reception desk would have been useful! Eventually, someone appeared and handed us the key to our room. Similarly, when we checked out, the Manager could be seen in the office but ignored us for ages before he finally decided to ask if we needed any help. Just as well we weren't in a hurry to leave!

The room was quite dated, a bit shabby and smelled awful. Not a very good first impression! On the plus side, it had toiletries and tea/coffee making facilities.

The food was average and the choice of craft beers on draft very limited. One would expect a good choice of ales in a Country Inn in Cumbria. Breakfast was again, unremarkable.

The only nice things about the Fat Lamb were the bar and waiting staff of the restaurant who were both very pleasant and helpful and the roaring fire in the lounge which was very welcoming on a very cold night!

Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank cctgrt i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Enjoyable 3 night stay with our Newfoundland, Lulah. Given a room on the ground floor, handy for getting the dog in/out plus she's not good with stairs!

Room extremely clean with a plentiful supply of tea and coffee, comfortable a warm!

Food first class - try the Lamb Shank - and breakfast freshly cooked.

Overall, highly recommended for a restful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willie036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews