We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely relaxing break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Holly cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lupton, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jmuir2015
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing break”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed at this small but well equipped cottage for 3 nights. Enjoyed walks along the canal and trips to nearby towns. Beautiful part of the country and found the location of the cottage to be ideal for exploring the Lake District and North Yorkshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatieMac
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful position, lovely cottage”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed for three nights, in mid June. This cottage is in a lovely position, close to the motorway making access convenient, but still very peaceful. The cottage is next to the Lancaster canal, and it was delightful to be able to walk along the canal in the evening, with waterbirds and wildflowers for company. It is only a short drive to all the wonderful sights of the Lake District, and we spent a wonderful day chasing the remains of Roman forts!
The kitchen is extremely well equipped, and we cooked on one evening (picking up supplies from Booths in Kirkby Lonsdale). The other two evenings we ate at The Plough Inn, which was a great place for an informal meal...delicious food, friendly staff, and excellent wines by the glass. Would recommend both The Plough and Holly Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position
Liked least: Bathroom was very 'tight' and as others have said, water from the shower does splash across the floor.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind comments!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westhillg...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday, cottage as described”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My wife, dog and I very much enjoyed or stay at Holly Cottage. The facilities were exactly as described and the nearby canal was handy for walking the dog. The previous comments from people staying were also helpful and correct. Ideal cottage for dog lovers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself was clean, well equiped and comfortable.
Liked least: The shower is above the bath and does not have a shower curtain leading to a wet floor in the bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather G
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Holly Cottage. The cottage was clean, tidy and had everything we needed. We brought our dog along with us and went for several walks down the side of the canal. Kirkby Lonsdale is ten minutes away and has a supermarket and Chinese takeaway which was really useful. We had a trip out to lake Windermere which took about 25minutes to get there in the car. Would recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall look and feel of the cottage
Liked least: We cooked the first night but the oven took ages to cook our food.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments!:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian...
2 reviews
“Wonderfully comfortable and cosy cottage”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

When I booked this break for my girlfriend and myself, I had envisaged a cosy little cottage away from all the stress of home and a busy workload. I was not disappointed and enjoyed my stay immensely.
We booked the cottage through Trip Advisor with minimal fuss and was contacted by the owner informing us of a time to check-in. Upon arrival, we found that the property was perfectly set up for us with linen, towels, toilet roll, pots and pans and everything else we could need. Although we never saw the owner, she was always reachable by phone to answer any queries we had.
Although the cottage was fairly small, it had everything we needed and I was pleased with the location. On the one hand, the location was very remote (it was impossible to see 2ft in front of you in the dark), yet on the other it was very close to a Texaco garage for any supplies we needed. The only disappointing thing about the location, or the trip as a whole, was the claim that there were 2 pubs within one mile of the property. This isn't the case, although it didn't bother us too much.
On the first evening, we drove to the nearest town, Crooklands, in the hunt for somewhere to eat. The first place we came to was the Crooklands Hotel. We had a meal there that we thought was delicious and it cost me less than £60 for two courses including drinks. If you are looking for somewhere to eat close by, you will not be disappointed.
In summary, I was very pleased with our stay and could not fault the cottage, location or the helpfulness of the owner. I would recommend this cottage to any couple that are looking to get away from it all, and it is also very competitively priced.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property as a whole. Remoteness and privacy. Basic essentials supplied. Helpfulness of owner.
Liked least: Couldn't get internet or phone signal (not the fault of the owner or the property). Proximity to public houses not as advertised.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
Thank you for your kind comments! The Crooklands Hotel is just under a mile away and the Plough at Lupton is just over a mile away. Best wishes Amy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing