We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
26
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
0
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ben lomond log burner fantastic stay kate loch host luxury scotland
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Absolutely delightful part of Scotland, lowlands, yet only a 10 minute drive into the National Park. Kate, the landlady was helpful and friendly throughout. The Yurts have everything you need, including log burner, and are beautifully presented throughout. Very clean. There are two bathrooms and one kitchen shared by three Yurts. We were lucky with the weather but feel that we would have still enjoyed it in worse conditions. Would revisit and highly recommend even to non campers !!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlie_W_Collins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Loved this place!

Kate was very friendly and accommodating!

The yurts had everything you needed and the place was tranquil and a nice place to get away from the hustle and bustle of city !

Would definitely recommend if you are visiting scotland !

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Curiosity177968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Just spent the weekend in the Stuc a Chroin yurt and had the most wonderful time. The pictures do not do this perfect little hideaway justice. We are a young couple who wanted a getaway from our busy lifestyles and could not have chosen a better place. The yurt is extremely cosy and has everything you could possibly need - a lovely log burner with an oven which we baked potatoes in; a little gas stove inside the yurt and a bbq outside. The owner, Kate, was fantastic. From the moment of booking we emailed back and forth and she advised me - as a first time 'glamper' - on what I might need to bring. However, everything you could possibly need from spoons and sugar to board games and hot water bottles - was provided.

We love walking and Kate is so knowledgeable about the local area she gave us so many options to choose from.
The yurt on an evening was a sanctuary, with the lovely decor, solar lit lanterns and all the candles glowing - we really did not want to leave.

We have already discussed booking again and have been suggesting it to our friends and families.
Like I said earlier, trossachs yurts is a little piece of heaven. Ooo and try the burgers available - I'm still craving them now!

Perfect!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trossachs_Yurts, Owner at Trossachs Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Hi Danielle I am so pleased that Stuc a'Chroin was your little piece of heaven for the weekend. It is a wonderful hideaway and we'll look forward to seeing you again and maybe a pile of your friends and all the family! But don't tell everyone! Book now for 2017. Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Well, what can I say! We stayed in Ben Lomond with our 4 children, Age 11 months, 4 and 2x 10 year olds. We had a fabulous holiday. I was a bit dubious before arrival as we have never done anything like this before and our usual stays were nice hotels. However, we are converts and planning our next stay already!!
The yurts are fabulous!! So clean and cosy. I loved getting up every morning to light the wood burner and making a coffee using the camping stove!! I then sat on the step to the yurt and watched the sunrise, just perfect and I really miss it!
The kitchen and bathroom facilities are great. Very very clean. Everything you need. Kate also provides use of a washing machine which can be used for a donation which is handy with children!
We ordered freshly baked bread and hand churned butter along with organic sausages and burgers which we ordered from Kate. We cooked dinner on the BBQ every evening and used the stove to cook our garlic bread and baked potatoes. We toasted marshmallows in the evening too. Honestly, we embraced it all and our children have made fantastic memories. So much better for them than parked in front on the tv!!
There was loads to do in surrounding areas, we visited The Kelpies, Stirling Castle, Edinburgh Castle, Aberfoyle, Rednock Trekking Centre. We were spoiled for choice!!
Kate is a fantastic host,nothing is too much trouble and you can tell she loves what she does.
Oh and we seen sheep, cows and even bats!!!
We loved our holiday here, I think next time we will book for longer than 5 days and there definitely will be a next time.
Oh and just as an aside, yes the Yurts are situated out of the way and yes the surroundings and natural and rustic but that's what we expected and all part of the charm. Book it, you will love it

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewisScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trossachs_Yurts, Owner at Trossachs Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

So glad you had a great time here. Sorry for the delay in replying -And yes you are right - I love having guests to share in the West Moss-side experience. It makes me happy when guests enjoy their holiday too. So thank you for sharing your thoughts here - you will inspire others. Interesting also that the previous review describes a whole other set of activities - you need to stay a week at least to see everything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We came back yesterday from Ben Lomond yurt on West Moos-side farm and we had a brilliant time. The yurts are spacious, very comfortable and there is everything you need there. It was a well needed escape for us as we have very hectic lives and the stay enabled us to totally unwind. Total peace and quiet, very relaxing and lovely to have a nice hot chocolate in front of the log burner in the evening after all the activities we had done in the day. There is loads to do nearby - mountains to climb, steam boat ride followed by bike rides, canoeing on the lochs, swimming in the lochs. I really recommend this place - absolute gem!! Will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Choose Ben Lomond - perfect location!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trossachs_Yurts, Owner at Trossachs Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

thank you Sarah for your review - you certainly had a full-on outdoor experience ! and there is tons still to do when you return! That hot chocolate was definitely deserved in front of the wood burning stove.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews