We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“classy and quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“classy and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

This small hotel property about 20 miles north of Victoria,B.C. is located in a quiet area of Brentwood Bay. We stayed in room 305. The room was outstanding with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the bay, a gas fireplace for a romantic touch (and warmth when necessary), and a jacuzzi, complete with candle tea ligthts. I liked the fact that the big windows in the room could be shaded without closing out the light by the use of pull-down translucent shades. The bed was extremely comfortable with plenty of pillows. The hotel service was exemplary with special help from Juan at the front desk. There are two restaurants on property; a casual pub-type and a more formal dining area. Dress is smart casual to casual. The best part of the property, however, is their spa which offers a wide variety of services. I had the relaxation massage which was superior to any I have ever had elsewhere.
Brentwood Bay is a very nice hotel but several things prevented me from giving it a 5: the jacuzzi should have handrails on the side of the tub which is very deep and difficult to get out of, and the restaurants should offer a daily special since the menu can get tiresome, especially if you are not a sushi or seafood fan. In addition, the hotel's location makes it difficult to get around unless you have a car or are prepared to take taxis everywhere. A cab ride into Victoria city center is around $50 each way w/o tip. The other nearby city is Sidney which is a beautiful seaside town but again, the taxi fare is around $35 each way w/o tip.

Room Tip: rooms on 2nd and 3rd floor have the best view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bookalukus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    128
    26
    23
    16
See reviews for
60
460
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Based on reviews in Frommer's and elsewhere, we chose to stay here outside of city rather than fight the crowds downtown. Getting there without a car is tough; Pacific Coast Lines dropped us off along the highway, then we needed a cab; alt it's 40 dollar cab from ferry. But once there, we knew it was right place. The room, food, ambience, amenities were excellent. Kayak over to Butchart Gardens in the morning for a fun trip and beat the crowds. The other water activities were great though fitness room was lacking. The spa services were also excellent. Getting into town on the city bus was a small ordeal, especially coming back, but it sure was nice to "come home" after touring the city. Not sure if I'll trek back to Victoria, but will search out this spa if we don.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DartSkiDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

This was our first time staying at the Brentwood Bay resort but it definitely won't be our last! The staff were really friendly and efficient and our rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. Unlike some resorts, the restaurant here is fantastic and worth visiting even if you aren't staying at the hotel (we shared several entrees and everything was delicious). We were concerned about not staying right in the city of Victoria, but the drive is very short, and it's also very handy for the Butchart Gardens and the town of Sidney. Thanks for a really enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We keep returning to the Brentwood Bay Resort and Spa because they do everything right.

This is a highly specialized property-- there's not much to do right nearby except what the resort has to offer and those things are wonderful. Come here to relax, enjoy delicious conscientious food, fabulous spa treatments, eco-tours of the bay by a marine biologist, kayaking, diving, and gorgeously designed comfortable rooms.

There's no beach or walking paths, and the resort is a kilometre or so from other retail and services-- this is a place to get away from it all while still being down the road from civilization.

The building itself is architected to fit into the magical pacific northwest setting and the eco-tours of the bay are a highlight for us, with a dense population of bald eagles visible from the boat. Other ocean life abounds-- you can often see herons and other birds among the beautiful arbutus trees visible from your room.

Luxury and nature combine to make this a rejuvenating place to spend a little time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myklreinhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We came here to relax after our son's wedding. The first thing we experienced was the exceptional service from the staff. We were allowed to check in early. Our room was clean and the bed and linens were very comfortable. The spa bathroom was one of my favorite features. You can also make unlimited calls to the USA. The marina has kayaks available to explore the coves where seals, starfish, and bald eagles can be observed. I've never experienced better service!

Room Tip: The less expensive rooms are on the third floor which has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Saanich
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: 849 Verdier Ave | Brentwood Bay, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 1C5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Central Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,592 - ₹ 24,894
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on pristine Brentwood Bay, in the heart of Victoria's wine country, minutes from Butchart Gardens and with easy access to Downtown Victoria and the Airport, this boutique hotel is a 5-star luxury resort with contemporary west coast flair. Each elegant Ocean Suite features king beds, spa-like bathrooms, romantic fireplaces and stunning ocean views. Simple, intimate and relaxing… indulge in a true state of bliss at Vancouver Island’s finest spa & culinary resort destination. We’re not a million miles away, it just feels like it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Bay Hotel Brentwood Bay
Brentwood Bay Resort And Spa
Brentwood Bay Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing