We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food and Location, but little details need attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Location, but little details need attention”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I spent several days at the Brentwood Bay Resort and Spa in mid-April. We certainly appreciated the view of the Bay from our room and the 3-course Brentwood Bay breakfast cheerily delivered to our room each morning. We were also very impressed with our dinner at the SeaGrille Restaurant.
We were mildly disappointed with a few details of our stay that we felt should have been checked and corrected prior to our arrival: the electronic safe's batteries were too low to allow the safe to be locked and the shower drain did not operate well. We also found the WiFi signal in our room to be marginal.
All in all, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REMCANNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrBrentwoodBay, Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Thank you for your compliments regarding our food, service, and location. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay apart from the few items you have noted. Good news however; this past week we have updated our WiFi which has improved the signal strength. I will be sure that housekeeping continues to check the safe’s batteries but the front desk is always happy to help when called upon. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    129
    27
    24
    17
See reviews for
63
462
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We slept for two nights in a very comfortable king bed, from which we could look through our patio doors to the small marina and ferry stop below.The restaurant prepared and delivered outstanding breakfast trays each morning. If the weather had been warmer, we would have enjoyed them on the patio; instead we cozied up to the gas fireplace in the living area of our room. There were also two leather easy chairs with matching hassock, entertainment cabinet with a large flat-screen TV. A Keurig coffee maker, tea kettle and the necessary go-withs were all provided.
The spacious bathroom features a large jetted tub, a separate glass shower, good-sized vanity. The low-flush Toto toilet was in an adjoining small room, a thoughtful touch.
We were warmly welcomed and treated graciously by all the friendly, courteous staff in the hotel as well as in the restaurant. It made us feel like special guests - so nice! Thank you to everyone at Brentwood Bay! We'll be back!. In the meantime, we're telling our friends about our most pleasant stay. Two nights were not enough - we didn't have time to visit the spa. Instead we spent most of the day enjoying nearby beautiful Butchart Gardens.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the marina. Room 109's patio came with table and tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bermudafan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrBrentwoodBay, Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
The pleasure is ours! I am delighted that you are planning a return and I do hope you have the opportunity to stay a little longer. If you plan on returning to the Butchart Gardens as well, it may be worth considering our 3-night Romantic Package which includes a gourmet three-course breakfast every morning, a bottle of sparkling wine on arrival, and two admission passes to the Butchart Gardens. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We throughly enjoyed our relaxing time at Brentwood Bay. If you can't unwind here, then you are in real trouble.
We came from Calgary to enjoy some real 'spring' weather over spring break and split our holiday between downtown Victoria and Brentwood Bay. Brentwood Bay was the relaxing part of the holiday for sure! Don't be confused by reviews that say there is no where to eat other than at the resort. We found a great little coffee shop (JJ's) and a bakery (Breadstuffs Bakery) just up the hill from the resort (and everything is uphill, but it's just a refreshing walk). However, we did eat at the resort pub 3 times, mostly because I became addicted to the seafood chowder. I am not sure what they put in it, but once you eat...you will just want more (and I NEVER order the same thing over and over!). There is yummy food in the pub and great service. Such a nice place...you won't want to go home...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinnamom24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrBrentwoodBay, Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
We call it “Island Time”—time rolls on at a slower pace on the Island which certainly allows travelers the opportunity to catch their breath and relax. This is especially true of our little seaside village of Brentwood Bay which is ideal for strolling and exploration. We have cute cafes, restaurants and bakeries as you mentioned. Just steps from our resort, there is a lovely paved path along the waterfront that meanders past a boat builder and a marina. Rent out one of our kayaks and explore the coastline from the water. There are several wineries in the area open for tastings. Take a bottle back to your suite and sip a malbec while watching the Brentwood Bay ferry come and go from your outdoor patio. We take things a little easier here. I am happy you were able to experience this.

Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was probably the best hotel we will ever stay in. We are from Victoria, wanted a night's getaway, and booked into Brentwood Bay for a romantic evening. The front desk staff were terrific and welcoming, and when we got to the room it was even nicer than we had imagined. Beautiful west-coast decor, a unique shutter window in the bathroom that let us look out over the ocean while we sat in the tub... exquisite.

The restaurant was also great. Similar food to the oak bay Bistro and Cafe Brio, done extremely well and served by an obviously experienced staff. We were not rushed, the food came out at the perfect moment every time, and the view out over the marina was great.

An all around terrific mini-vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imapwnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrBrentwoodBay, Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Greetings impawnu! Thank you for the very positive review of your overnight getaway with us. We are proud that we were able to deliver warm and professional service that resulted in a great experience for you. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the front desk and Seagrille team. Thank you for staying with us and I hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

What a great little get away from city life. I would highly recommend this for a quiet couple's get away (note no kids, no pets, no smoking allowed). Jacuzzi tub, fireplace, leather recliners to sit and watch activity in the marina. The perfect place to just relax and enjoy the slow pace of life in Brentwood Bay. My only complaint is the service in the restaurants was terrible - so slow, waited a long time for even our drink order, appetizers and the bill. Room service was much more prompt and at no extra charge. You really don't have any other food options in the neighbourhood so you are 'stuck' with the hotel. The food is fine, but the service needs improvement.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe ocean suite, next time I'd go up a level to the one bedroom unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrBrentwoodBay, Manager at Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Serene, peaceful, and romantic—what a perfect description of the setting we are so fortunate to have! While we expect your time with us to be relaxing and unhurried, we certainly strive to provide service which is prompt and efficient. It is disappointing to hear that we did not deliver on this service promise and be assured that this is not commonplace. I value your feedback and have reviewed it with the food and beverage management team. Thank you for choosing us for your getaway and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Saanich
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Address: 849 Verdier Ave | Brentwood Bay, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 1C5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Central Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Central Saanich
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,321 - ₹ 35,860
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on pristine Brentwood Bay, in the heart of Victoria's wine country, minutes from Butchart Gardens and with easy access to Downtown Victoria and the Airport, this boutique hotel is a luxury resort with contemporary west coast flair. Each elegant Ocean Suite features king beds, spa-like bathrooms, romantic fireplaces and stunning ocean views. Simple, intimate and relaxing… indulge in a true state of bliss at our full-service spa and enjoy our on site dining while taking in the beautiful view. We’re not a million miles away, it just feels like it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Bay Hotel Brentwood Bay
Brentwood Bay Resort And Spa
Brentwood Bay Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing