We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view in a quiet, small town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowichan Bay
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The Oceanfront Suites is a small (56 room) all-suite hotel on a beautiful bay--looking out your window you will see the beach and docks--you are ON the bay! Cowichan Bay is a small fishing village surrounded by the organic farms, wineries and valleys of Vancouver Island. The hotel is very clean, with nice bed linens, but finishing touches are not there--fluffy towels, modern appliances in the kitchenette, flat screen tvs, etc. The staff is friendly and will provide recommendations for things to do and places to eat.

Room Tip: All rooms face the bay. You can't get a bad view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5TravelOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 229 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

The suites are quite large and contain a kitchen and sitting / TV area separate from the bedroom. Our suite was on the ground floor and opened, via sliding doors, onto the waterfront area. Chairs were available to enjoy the outdoors and the great view of the harbour and bay. Nice bathroom set up and of adequate size. Our suite had slightly odd closet configurations, but that was the only flaw. I would definitely stay there again. Also, it was within very easy walking distance to the village shops - including a fantastic bakery, cheese and candy shops. Lots of wonderful places to have a coffee in the morning. Staff were also very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor open onto a waterfront patio. I believe the other floor have Juliet balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinkyecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The location is perfect, right at the end of Cowichan Bay's main street, with a stunning view of the harbour and bay. The large windows provided perfect entertainment: we often curled up with tea at the end of the day, watching the boats go by and seals swimming laps right below our window.

Our room was enormous, almost too big, with lots of empty space, but can't really complain about being able to spread out. The kitchen was modern, with newish appliances, and a few utensils for cooking, although it wasn't the most equipped hotel kitchen we've ever seen. We had to improvise a bit to cook some meals. The kitchen and bathroom were very clean, although the window railings were so dirty and covered in bird droppings, we never wanted to lean on them while looking outside. The bed was comfortable and we always slept well there.

We checked out the gym and pool. They were pretty good, and the restaurant upstairs has a lot of potential. There was a cute little space designed to be a wine bar near the restaurant that was seemingly deserted. Maybe they will open up something there in the future.

The hotel was undergoing renovations while we were there, so it looks to improve further.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bocadey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The rooms here are quite large and it felt like an apartment on the beach. Great views of the ocean. Decor was a bit sparse. Loved the sliding doors in both rooms, making you feel like you're almost outside. Only downside really was the desk not being adequately staffed. Most times we went to the desk there was no one there. When there was they were stretched too thin to help everyone efficiently. But I will definately stay here again when I get back to Cowichan.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petegas78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Stayed ine night. Spacious rooms overlooking the harbour. Friendly staff and great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayaktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowichan Bay
10.3 km away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
20.7 km away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
52.9 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.3 km away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
15.7 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
447 reviews
15.9 km away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay

Address: 1681 Cowichan Bay Road, Cowichan Bay, British Columbia V0R-1N0, Canada (Formerly Oceanfront Grand Resort & Marina)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Cowichan Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowichan Bay
Price Range: ₹ 6,861 - ₹ 12,299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay is idyllically nestled in the Cowichan Valley, between Victoria and Nanaimo, in the seaside village of Cowichan Bay. With its eclectic collection of shops and restaurants and the wharves filled with, sail boats, fishing boats and floating homes it is one of the most picturesque, secret locations on Vancouver Island. The Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay offers 56 spacious suites, all facing the ocean. Each is equipped with a master bedroom, bathroom, and a comfortable living and dining area. Most are equipped with a complete kitchen. Whether you’re looking for an outdoor adventure, romantic getaway, family vacation or a special wedding destination, The Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay can deliver in comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Suites At Cowichan Bay Hotel Cowichan Bay
Oceanfront Grand Resort Marina
Oceanfront Grand Hotel Marina
Oceanfront Suites At Cowichan Bay Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing