We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was clean, beds were comfortable, This is Waterton, get out and enjoy the outdoors.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waterton Lakes National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear Mountain Motel
Reviewed 7 September 2016

If you want a fancy room with lots of amenities this is not for you, but then neither is Waterton. If you want a clean room, comfortable beds, friendly staff and a reasonable price - you have found it. Are the rooms small - yes, but we were out hiking for the day and enjoying the town in the evening so only needed a place to sleep. The beds were super comfortable and the room was nice and clean. We had a kitchenette unit and there weren't a lot of pots etc. but with two pots, two frying pans, some dishes and a toaster we had all we needed.
Seriously, if you want a place to relax, have a hot tub, go to a fancy dinner without leaving the premises, stay at the Prince of Wales Hotel for $800 a night. If you want to experience Waterton and all the beauty around it, this is a great place to stay. We even had a female big horn sheep run right past us as we were sitting outside our room eating supper - won't get that at the Prince of Wales!

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 10 are facing another building so not the best view but well sheltered in the rain.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 404Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Bear Mountain Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Clean and comfortable but fairly basic motel. Free tea and coffee available in the office. They use the free Park WiFi, so it's a bit patchy. Good location - town is very small and highly walkable! Keep an eye out for deer!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We stayed here last year on the last weekend they were open before shutting down for the winter. We just booked again for another Canadian Holiday !! The people in the town were all so very nice and we got a winter coat at one of the stores on main street and it is very warm and looks like an Eskimo coat done in red.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Comfortable beds and clean rooms. Very friendly and helpful service.
Easy walk to any town site services, plus a lake shore. Good but variable mountain views.

Lowest prices in town per night stay.

A bit basic spartan but much roomier and livable than a tent or small trailer.

Negatives (relatively unimportant): Tiny showers and toilet stools. Banging screen
doors around 7:00 am.

Wheel chair access might be a little difficult.

Room Tip: Ask if your assigned parking is near your entrance, or behind the bilding.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jlpasztor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

The rooms are concrete block, barely walk around the bed, with plastic shower pods barely feeling safe. Getting the last room in Waterton, we were grateful, but all things considered, not worth the money, even with the exchange rate. The kitchenette did not fit, so was not useful. Bedding cotton, good- not polyester!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.3 km away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
364 reviews
0.5 km away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
517 reviews
1.0 km away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#3 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
236 reviews
0.5 km away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
482 reviews
0.3 km away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Motel

Address: 208 Mountainview Rd., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada (Formerly El Cortez)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range: ₹ 4,829 - ₹ 9,658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Motel Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Bear Mountain Hotel
Bear Mountain Motel Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing