We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Crandell Mountain Lodge(Waterton Lakes National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Bear Mountain Motel(Waterton Lakes National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa(Waterton Lakes National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Village(Waterton Lakes National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterton Glacier Suites(Waterton Lakes National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort(Waterton Lakes National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Northland Lodge(Waterton Lakes National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,143)
Filter reviews
1,143 results
Traveller rating
372
364
171
145
91
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
364
171
145
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teaafternoon teaprince of waleshistoric hoteldining roomfourth floorwaterton lakesmall elevatorbluff overlookingbucket listmodern amenitiesonce in a lifetimeunique experiencestep back in timerooms are smallgift shoplakeside room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
958 - 963 of 1,143 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We were able to walk in and get a room in this very beautiful old hotel. The view is spectacular and the employees were very helpful. The price? Too high for the accomodations but we felt it would be something to remember..and it was. We were on the sixth floor but the elevator only went to the fouth. The stairwell was extremely tight and the suitcases were a struggle. We will always remember our night with a constant wind whistling through the window. The small room was barely large enough for our suitcases and the double bed. However, the view from the window was wonderful. Are we happy we stayed there? Yes. Would we stay there again? No. Been there - done that.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a view of the lake and has elevator access.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bhfsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thank you for taking your time to leave us this feedback. We will take it as a compliment that you are willing to award us 4 of 5 rating points even with all the modern amenities that we leave out in order to maintain the historic value of this property. Even though it sounds as though we will not be providing you a room, we would love to see you again for tea, maybe?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Beautiful location and great architectural piece. Worth visiting. Staying, well... not sure.

We spent two nights at the hotel in August 2011. With such a location and presence, it is difficult to believe that the full potential of the hotel is not exploited. I found the rooms to be completely outdated, the restaurant / bar of modest quality, the parking lot in need of repair, etc. At about 250 dollars a night, the hotel falls in a price category where one would expect more; and I would venture to say that with modern accommodations, a fine restaurant, a spa, etc. this hotel could easily command a price of 500 /700 dollars a night.

A generous three star, and most likely a one time experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLTfromDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your stay. We do our best to reveal to our future guests the “feel” of this historic property, but sometimes we still fall short. Of course, we understand the potential for profit with this hotel, but with prices set by the Park Service, it is not an option to eliminate the historic nature of the property to make way for something completely modern. That probably would not be in the best interest of service to our guests anyway. Instead, we intend on maintaining the Prince of Wales Hotel in an original fashion. Thank you for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I would stop by to see the view, but never stay there again. The hotel has not been taken care of. The rooms we had problems: dripping plumbing, very worn furniture, very worn flooring, curtain falling off one door, make-shift repairs, broken wood door grate. We had a lake-view room which was very expensive and you couldn't enjoy the view through the small windows & the furniture was too big & awkward to turn around to face the view. Outside they had no furniture or benches to sit to enjoy the view. One of our rooms had left over toiletries from the last visitor. The student-summer help were all very nice and helpful, but not enough to compensate for the rooms. Their policy for canceling the rest of our stay made it too expensive to leave, but I would have if I could. Also, we had bought a week pass at Glacier National in the US and had understood that it covered Waterton Internal Peace Park as well. Not so. It cost another $20+ per day just to be able to reach the hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

We are so sorry to hear that we did not meet or exceed your expectations of a stay with us. Managing and maintaining the Prince of Wales Hotel provides some unique challenges that I would like to address. First, this Hotel opened in 1927, and has changed as little as possible, since then, in order to maintain the historic nature of this property. Second, the Park Service sets the price of each of our rooms and is something that we are required to abide by. Third, the Hotel is only open for roughly three months each year with most of the staff hired new each season. I hope this information is helpful when considering the reasons why our management team makes some of the decisions they must in order to maintain the hotel. Lastly, the location of this Hotel is something out of the imagination of an artist, however, the natural elements are, at times drastic, and require features such as small windows which are much safer than larger ones and the lack of outdoor furniture which would blow away in high winds anyway, if our guests decided to brave the mostly, consistent, strong weather.
That being said, there is no reason that you should have experienced any lack of regular maintenance of the building. I will pass this information on to the president of our company in order to best improve the quality of our service. Thank you for taking your time to leave us this feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This property confirms the adage: location, location, location. Altho pricey (~$250 night), I am glad we budgeted one night here for our visit to Glacier National Park. After taking the afternoon Waterton Shoreline cruise, and a sunset drive to Cameron Lake, we settled in for the night at Prince of Wales Hotel. We were too late requesting seating in the dining room (reservations not accepted), so were seated instead in the bar lounge (same spectular view as dining room, same high quality food). We ordered the smoked prime rib w/ mustard seed mashed potatoes (an exciting pairing) -> this was the best meal we had on our 10-day trip through MT & WY. We had fun snooping around the stairways, and interior hallways of this victorian hotel. The clawfoot tub shower enclosure was like a 1940's experience. In the morning, on our balcony we looked out and saw deer peacefully grazing next the parking lot before sauntering off among the parked cars!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank byumama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thank you for taking your time to leave us this great review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and are happy to have been able to serve you. We look forward to seeing you on any future visit into Waterton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This hotel is not too updated and sways in the big winds and is a bit stuffy at first, but we got used to it, and our extra twin bed in front of the big window overlooking the many railings. The kids running the place were nice and pretty helpful. The restaurant was the only drawback after we had figured we now lived in the Victorian era. It was almost out of food by the time we got there right before seasonal closing and they'd not even had oatmeal for 2 weeks. Go to town for food and cheaper lodging but don't miss the views from this hotel. Stunning and wear wind gear.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Yes, wind gear is a must, especially in the shoulder seasons. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and sorry that we ran out of oatmeal. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews