We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orange Tabby B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$ 142
US$ 128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 145
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
North Coast Trail Backpacker's Hostel(Port Hardy)(Great Value!)
US$ 51
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Escape B&B(Port Hardy)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwa'lilas Hotel(Port Hardy)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Telco House B&B(Port Hardy)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
88
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
5
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2015

We had the pleasure of a four night stay here with James and Susan. We arrived after midnight on the ferry from Bella Coola to a lovely note from James and Susan welcoming us to Port Hardy and next morning we woke after a super nights sleep to an amazing breakfast of fruit, followed by cooked eggs and sausages and followed again by pastries juices tea or coffee. What a set up for the day.
Breakfast and the room service is undertaken by a lovely chatty home help however James and Susan took a great interest in what we had planned for the day and were obviously passionate about the area they call home.
The accommodation is a very short walk from the harbour front and a great seafront walk with superb views out over Queen Charlotte Sound with snow capped mountains in the distance.
We had the orange tabby room which was spacious, well furnished, spotlessly clean and tidy with a modern bathroom and shower. We also managed to catch up with all our washing at no cost, what super service.
James , Susan and the house keeper have the upper floor and there are three guest rooms downstairs with a small lounge and breakfast room.
many people ask what do you do for more than a night in Port Hardy well we did the seafront walk, the Quatse river loop which was beautiful, Storey beach and used Port Hardy as a base to do the Grizzly bear tour at Telegraph Cove and because of the early start we were sent off with the most enormous packed breakfast.
We had hoped to do a land based guided tour around Cape Scott but despite the best effort of James and the short notice we had given him it was not possible to arrange this as the guide was booked for the only free day we had but James did suggest alternative activities for us,
Most visitors seem to use Port Hardy as a hop on hop off for the ferry which i can understand but don't underestimate this little town, we saw loads of eagles, herons, kingfishers a mother bear with this years cub and much more and if you want some good food try the Sporty pub (just down from the orange tabby) or the Lyons Den out at Fishermans Wharf.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank catnap50plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2014

susan was very friendly and helpful. it was like a home far from home. the brealfast was delicious, with a lot to eat.
the B&B is central and next to the harbour.
i was there in october, but i would say in august or september you can see more wildlife and bears.

Room Tip: smal but very nice
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2014

The experience we had here with James as our host was far and away the best of our 5 weeks in Canada and we had some absolutley fabulous experiences almost every day of our stay.James was interested in exactly what we wanted to achieve during our stay and he went out of his way to do everything possible to help us achieve that. He even took us out in his own boat to look for bears and watch the slamon run.
We can thoroughly reccomend this B&B. The breakfast was excellent, even available "to go" for early starts,great location and the local knowledge meant we had bear and whale watching experiences that could not be equalled anywhere else. Don't miss this place!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2014

If you find yourself in Port Hardy, look no further than the Orange Tabby B&B. It is well-kept (the room and bathroom looked new), spotlessly clean, a short walk from town and hosted by the most friendly, charming people. It literally is a home-away-from-home with everything you will need. Breakfast consisted of eggs, bacon, two types of delicious home made bread (I'm gluten intolerant but devoured the bread!), yogurt, fresh fruit, juice and coffee/tea. My husband and I had never been to the area before, and found we would need 1 night's lodging. Communication via email was expedient with all common questions a traveler would have answered. Upon arrival, James and Susan gave us great tips for dining (the sushi restaurant was very good), things to do in the area and even offered the use of their washer/dryer. We wished we could have stayed longer to take in the local sights of flora and fauna. If we find ourselves in Port Hardy again this is where we'll be staying, and will highly recommend to all we know traveling to the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in #3. Everything was perfect.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newmediasoup2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014

Warm and cosy room in the October rains. Lovely bed, very clean bathroom. Good breakfasts and conversation. Susan is an excellent host. Very helpful with restaurant suggestions and ideas for walks. Private entrance in a great location.

Room Tip: Orange Tabby room is as good as everyone says. Didn't see the others.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancyblackett9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews