We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wee gem!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Fenns Barn

Fenns Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fenns Barn
Fenns Barn Superking size bed to enjoy or can be made into twin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Fenns Barn
Fenns Barn
Superking size bed to enjoy or can be made into twin
twin or superking bedroom
one of the lawned areas to enjoy a brew
Chatsworth is a half hour drive away
The view from Wetton Hill over to Thors Cave
The view from Thors Cave looking over the Manifold Valley. 10minute walk into the valley.
Alton Towers for the thrill seekers is a 20minute drive from the barn
Walk from Hartington to Dovedale passing through Milldale and Berresfordale.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Butterton, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carly H
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wee gem!”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We (and two other couples) stayed at Fenns Barn for a weekend and loved it! Great location and the cottage was of a really high standard. So clean and well kitted out. Really comfortable beds and hot water whenever we needed it!
The local village is a nice walk away - unfortunately the pub wasn't open for a pint at lunch time but a beautiful setting and well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like a home from home - we wanted for nothing
Liked least: The weather! And that the pub wasn't open - neither had anything to do with the barn.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2015
Thanks for your lovely comments. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily C
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The title says it all! Fenns Barn is beautiful both inside and out. Myself and 5 other friends have returned when a weekend there. (None of us wanted to leave) The barn is very tastefully decorated and in keeping with the barn and surroundings. Bed are soooo comfy and lovely bedding also. Everyung was so clean and the up most attention to detail considered.
Will definitely return :-)
Thanks Michelle and Jason, fab hosts and the biscuits and wine were a nice welcoming touch

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2015
Thanks for the lovely review. We hope we can welcome you back very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chezzy84
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Thank you so much for a wonderful weekend. The whole family had a fantastic time. There was a wide age range from 2months old to 78 years and the cottage was perfect for all. Very clean and tidy, with everything you need to hand. Beautiful location too.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
Thanks for this lovely review. Glad the whole of the family had a fantastic time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitham30
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely,home from home, barn conversion, ideal for families or group of friends”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Myself and a group of five friends have just spent a weekend at Fenns Barn. The property itself is very tastefully decorated and furnished. to a high standard . Beds are soft furnishings are exceptionally comfy and the property is very well equipt with a full range of appliances Situated within the quiet village of Butterton, it is ideal for families, friends, or couples looking for a relaxed rural location but within a few miles of Leek and Ashbourne. There is plenty to do in this area , including a Craft Barn and tea room, and it is an excellent base for walkers. Llam Country Park , beside the River Manifold , and Dovedale are nestled within the spectacular limestone White Peak District..
Fenns Barn is highly recommended and we will definately book again ned year.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2014
Thanks for the lovely review Kathryn. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiler242...
1 review
“Modern, cosy cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We just returned from a short break. The cottage was perfect for our group which included 3 young children. The owners have paid so much attention to detail- everything we could have wanted was there, including the fabulous little playhouse in the garden. The owner Michelle was prompt with any query we had and had thoughtfully greeted our arrival with wine and biscuits! We also took advantage of the craft barn opposite to paint pottery. It was just a short break but it was truly home from home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2014
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. When we converted the old farm barn this is what we hoped for. Hope to see you again. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing