We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
65
3
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
3
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home grown peak district fresh strawberries room was spacious and clean welcoming hosts late arrival warm welcome home made marmalade weekend stay rooms are lovely oatcakes full english breakfast local history plums tom babette
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2018

Wonderful, captivating and charming .... and that's just the house ! Babette and Tom are lovely and fascinating - time passes quickly in their company. They are in the business of making fond, cherished memories - our part of the Wiles family treasured every minute we spent with you.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenshawshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babette L, Owner at Holly Meadow Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Wonderful to meet 3 Wiles and associates in one go! So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your company. We had a super time! All the best for your next family reunion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

We have just returned from spending a three night stay at the wonderful Holly Meadow Farm.Babette and Tom are such wonderful,lovely and interesting people to get to know and we were so warmly welcomed along with our dog Hugo from the moment Babette opened the front door.Our room was large, and immaculately clean and it was so fresh and airy,with the windows open so it was lovely and cool after a hot journey.It has dual aspect windows with beautiful views over the countryside and out of one window you can see their bird table,we had a lovely time watching the birds especially the lesser spotted woodpecker.
Breakfast was also wonderful,more than plenty in fact we didn’t need to eat until the evening on any day of our stay.The ingredients were of good quality and included fresh eggs from their hens,and other homegrown produce,redcurrants,plums,gooseberries and superb chutney and apple jelly which Babette was happy to tell me how to make. We also had some great conversations with them.
Our dog Hugo had a great time too,and was free to walk off lead,around the farm.Babette even gave him (after checking with us first) a piece of leftover bacon and sausage for a snack on the way home.
Thank you so much Babette and Tom we all had a superb time and really hope to visit again in the future.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Harding3Thame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babette L, Owner at Holly Meadow Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Thank you both and Hugo for your kind review. We had 3 lovely days in your company and look forward to your next stay. All the best with the veg garden!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

Our second visit. Excellent (as was the first). Very comfortable bed in a spacious airy bedroom linked to a spacious bathroom. With windows on each side of the bedroom it was possible to get a thro’ draft to temper the decidedly unseasonal heat. Also, because the farm is so isolated, we could have the windows wide open at night without any disturbance to sleep.
Make sure you are hungry at breakfast time. You can start off with cereals and/or fruit (from their garden) and yoghurt. Babette will be disappointed if you don’t have two eggs and two sausages (with the two rashers of bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms and oatcakes). Finally toast and homemade marmalade or crab apple jelly. Having said that, if you don’t have the stamina she does do lighter breakfasts too, including excellent porridge.
Babette and Tom are wonderful hosts whom it has been a pleasure to get to know. They have lots of local maps, guides to walks and fascinating books on Derbyshire in the bookshelf in the dining room, all available to guests.
Our dog loved chasing a ball on the grass airstrip running past the house and walking around the paths on the farm. You may also be lucky enough to be entertained with a grandstand view of the occasional take-off/landing of one of the light aircraft based at the farm.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnbrock2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babette L, Owner at Holly Meadow Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

It was a treat to have you stay again this year. We seem to share so many interests and discovered more this year with your local connections. Take care until your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Holly Meadow Farm when staying in the area for a party. We were made to feel totally at home. Both rooms are comfortable and clean. All amenities that you should need are available and the WiFi worked! It was good to have a small fridge too. There were home made gluten free biscuits.

The views from rooms are lovely even from the bathrooms.
We were able to enjoy walking on the farm. My husband who is a farmer enjoyed a pre breakfast walk with Tom and the dogs. We also explored the farm paths.
Babette and Tom were both interesting to chat to and we certainly did plenty of that over breakfast.
Breakfast! Fresh strawberries from the garden, home made preserves from garden produce and a delicious full Derbyshire.
I cannot recommend this enough. We are trying to think of an excuse to go back to this area,

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank MVP40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babette L, Manager at Holly Meadow Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thank you for your kind review! We too had a great time and look forward to your next visit. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

Holly Meadow Farm absolutely blew me away. To start with, the welcome we received from Babette and Tom was warm and genial, despite our late arrival! Babette checked what time we would like breakfast and assured us that it would be plentiful... and she wasn't lying! The breakfast was incredible: cereals, fresh strawberries and yogurt awaited us when we got downstairs, shortly followed by a platter of bacon, sausages, mushrooms and oatcakes, followed by a generous portion of toast with jelly and marmalade. We were definitely set up for a long day at the wedding! Our breakfast was complemented by Babette's interesting conversation and the variety of books to look at in the dining room. The standard of the breakfast never slipped in the 3 days we stayed at the farm. One morning we were joined by another couple, however far from being awkward, it made for a fun, relaxed breakfast before we set off for a walk around the farm. The 280 acre property is beautiful and we really enjoyed the walk which took around an hour and took us through a stunning wood. The room itself was pristine and yet was still cosy and homely. There were fresh towels, milk in the fridge and even a bottle of shower gel. The view from the room was amazing, especially with the beautiful weather we were lucky to have on the weekend we visited. Aside from the farm itself, we found taxis very easy to get from the farm (through Ashbourne Taxis), and the drive to and from the farm was easy enough, although you may need to breathe in on those narrow country lanes! I could go on and on about Holly Meadow Farm but I'll leave it here and recommend that you stay here if you're in Ashbourne or nearby, or even if you want a break to get away from the hustle and bustle. In these modern times where conversation and the beauty of nature can be forgotten, coming to Holly Meadow Farm has made me remember these little joys in life. I'd recommend Holly Meadow Farm whole heartedly.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babette L, Owner at Holly Meadow Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Becky and Mark, I do not know what to say!!! Thank you so much for your review. It is so nice to know that you enjoyed you break. It was lovely to meet you both. You are so appreciative and interesting. 5 star guests! Very best wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews