We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated, overpriced, bad mgmt”
Review of Auberge Le Maquis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge Le Maquis
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ourika
Reviewed 30 April 2015 via mobile

We found a price indicated through trip advisor/booking and when we arrived the owner had augmented her prices. When we asked why the prices were different she said "she can't control what is put online by trip advisor" and expected us to pay the higher price for accommodation. Further, they place trip advisor stickers in the front of the hotel and still would not honour the price indicated online. Lastly, the rooms are outdated and the decor completely bland and unrepresentative of Morocco - feels like an older Best Western type. For the same price range we found a much better place to stay. I suggest staying elsewhere.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mgagn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jean-pierre B, Propriétaire at Auberge Le Maquis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2015
Google Translation

1/ Nous sommes un établissement marocain, situé au Maroc et régit par les lois marocaines
2/ Nos prix sont en Dirhams marocains (MAD) et uniquement en Dirhams même si des organismes (Booking ou autre) donnent une équivalence approximative en Euros pour information. Ils sont affichés à la réception de l'hôtel à 630 Dhs - Chambre double avec petit-déjeuner.
3/ Contrairement à ce que vous affirmez, sur ''Tripadvisor'' il est ''impossible de trouver le prix pour cet établissement '' !
4/ En revanche il est possible de trouver un prix sur Booking.com : 628 Dhs. Si on se sert du convertisseur intégré de Booking : 628 MAD = 58 € = 79 CAD (Dollar canadien).
5/ Saïda vous a fait visiter plusieurs chambres. Vous avez choisi la 20 (2 pièces, 38 m2, cheminée et salle de bain en Tadelaght sans aucune remarque sur le prix annoncé de 630 Dhs et vous y êtes restés 1 heure.
6/ Vous êtes revenus à la réception et avez essayé, avec une insistance déplacée, de négocier un prix à 490 dhs (!!!!!) au lieu des 628 affichés et indiqués par Booking. (soit une remise de 22% !)
Pourquoi avoir menti en nous affirmant que 79 CAD = 490 MAD ?
D'où sortent ces 490 MAD ?
Pourquoi affirmer que nous avons augmenté nos prix alors que C'EST FAUX ?
7/ ''....rooms outdated, decor bland, unrepresentative of Morocco '' : si vous pensez que la salle de bains en Tadelaght n'est pas représentative du Maroc c'est que vous n'avez rien compris à la culture, à l'artisanat marocain ou tout simplement à la tradition de ce pays....... un autre voyage au Maroc s'impose !
Ces réflexions sur les chambres sont exactement la démonstration de ce qu'écrivait Jean de la Fontaine au XVII ème siècle (célèbre fablier français.....au cas où....) : "Ces raisins sont trop verts et bons pour les goujats". Je vous conseille de relire ce poème (Il doit être traduit en anglais, j'espère.
8/ Parce que (vous avez oublié de le mentionner dans votre avis ! juste un oubli (?)) ma femme vous a mis à la porte de l'hôtel et qu'elle a bien fait.
En conclusion, en 18 ans, jamais un client ne s'est permis de fixer le prix chez moi et ça n'a pas commencé avec vous !
Content que vous ayez trouvé un hôtel moins cher, ce n'est pas difficile. une Renault Twingo sera toujours mois chère qu'une BMW série 5 ! je vous souhaite de bonnes vacances et bon vent.
Sachez aussi que nous sommes fiers du ''sticker'' d'excellence de Tripadvisor et que Le Maquis le mérite, ne vous en déplaise.
Jean-Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2015

Only stopped here for a drink and toilet!! Had been to the local market and the facilities are limited! Very friendly, clean and peaceful. Owners english similar to my french and arabic!! Can get by fairly easily though. Beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fenningrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2015 via mobile

Very nice Authentic morrocan hotel at the foot of atlas mountains. .relatively easy to find from airport, 45 min drive ,with lovely views of valley ..staff spoke little English but we managed ok on my pigeon french. ..food was nice and reasonably priced .Our room was chalet style with fire place in lounge with nice bathroom to one side and bedroom to other ..Was perfect for us arriving on early evening flight and looking for somewhere to begin our motorcycle tour of the mountains the following morning..would definitely stay there again

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank albachas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We picked Auberge le Maquis as a base for our mountain visit, avoiding the expensive ski resort at Oukaimeden, and it proved a convenient base for both the resort (it took about an hour to get up to Oukaimeden from here) and the Ourika valley. Our room was simple and clean, with plenty of hot water in the shower. We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was good - a different vegetarian option on each of our two nights despite there being only one on the menu. The gardens are attractive, and although located next to the road we had no problem with traffic noise at night. It is useful to be able to speak a bit of French here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparadisaea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stopped here over the weekend for lunch, had to mention it on tripadvisor as there is little arround for a nice lunch in this valley ( apart of a million tajines locally made of which I was not sure ...along the road)

The pool looked very clean, don't know about the rooms but the overal appearance was fine. Nice service too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ourika
4.9 km away
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Kasbah Bab Ourika
#1 of 3 in Ourika
625 reviews
6.5 km away
Kasbah Agounsane
Kasbah Agounsane
#3 of 3 in Ourika
77 reviews
25.6 km away
Dar Imlil
Dar Imlil
#3 of 6 in Imlil
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 km away
Hotel Etoil Du Toubkal
37.7 km away
Le Flouka Auberge et Restaurant du Lac
Le Flouka Auberge et Restaurant ...
#1 of 3 in Lalla Takerkoust
191 reviews
27.6 km away
Le Coq  Hardi
Le Coq Hardi
#443 of 500 in Marrakech
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Le Maquis? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Le Maquis

Address: km 45 Vallee de l'Ourika | Marrakech, Ourika 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ourika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ourika
Price Range: ₹ 3,546 - ₹ 4,642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Le Maquis 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain inn in the High-Atlas, at only 45 kms from Marrakech. 11 rooms in the gardens on 5000 sq meters. Restaurant and bar with alcoholik drinks.a lot of activities on sive or very near.Swimming pool.balads and trekking in the berberian country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Auberge Le Maquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Le Maquis Ourika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing