We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning AHH moments at every angle! Impressed interior designer!!”
Review of Kasbah Bab Ourika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ourika
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the moment we step foot into this oasis we were so happy to be in Kasbah Bab Ourika and the staff working there stole our hearts. As Australia's importer of zellige Moroccan mosaic, Tilesofezra, and an interior designer, hotel design is very important to me... I was blown away by the design, the style, the history, the details, the care, the love ... everything. I want to bring this hotel to Australia where I could share such beauty with others. The interior is gorgeous and the setting/backdrop absolutely BREATHtaking... and that is not an exaggeration. Every angle you look you are having AHHH moments. From the gorgeous mountainside breakfasts to the refreshing complimentary homemade lemonade and cake in the afternoon all the way to the sunset drinks and candle lit dinners over-looking the red glowing ourika mountains. Good menus which change daily, and being a vegetarian/who eats fish this is sometimes restricting but every meal was delicious and really well priced. The staff were so divine with our 1 year old son, at the time even in September we were experiencing 38s and 39 degrees and so it was tough with our son but everyone was so accommodating. One thing we loved was that the staff were all local and employed from local surrounding towns in ourika. V special!

Only faults were, no air conditioning - only fans... which was tough in the heat and the wifi is shocking. In saying this a few days without good internet isn't such a bad thing!!! we were so sad to leave but ready to take on the hustle and bustle of our next stop - Marrakech! I would stay here again for sure, and I would refer this hotel again. It is very beautiful!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greview2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2018

This is a beautiful hotel built like a fort in the foothills of the Atlas Mountains. I have stayed there twice and it is worth the return visit. Architecturally Arabic in style with spacious courtyards and inner areas open to the skies, the rooms and communal areas are very lovely. The extensive and impressive landscaped gardens provide private areas for sitting and reading. Bab Ourika manages to combine 21st century luxury with the simple and traditional. The food is delicious; a combination of French and Moroccan cuisine. The staff, headed by the charming Damien, are helpful and extremely pleasant. Only an hour from Marrakech airport and you can be walking in the Atlas Mountains knowing that on return to your hotel you will experience man made beauty, comfort and gentility.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a mountain view, east and south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

My wife and I stayed three nights at Kasbah Bab Ourika during our honeymoon. The accommodations, service and atmosphere were all top-notch. The property is surrounded by breathtaking mountain views all the way around. The staff was very helpful during planning and booking as well as throughout our entire stay. Highly recommend this beautiful mountain escape!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Kasbah Bab Ourika Marrakech stands in the exceptionally beautiful landscape high in the Atlas Mountains. The Kasbah itself is amazing and the views of the mountains are breathtaking. The Atlas Mountains in Morocco are simply incredible beautiful with huge snowy peaks and lush green fields.The interior design and decor is minimalistic but luxurious, with earthy tones and of course Moroccan influence. The Kasbah itself is set in extensive gardens with two courtyards and lost of places where you can relax and admire the beautiful landscape.

I had the pleasure to enjoy the beautiful pool suite, with a private terrace and the most breathtaking views of the whole valley. The room was beautiful and tastily decorated in earthy textiles with wooden furniture and some collector’s pieces. The bathroom had a large shower, two sinks and access to the terrace. The bedroom had a comfortable king size bed and it was connected to the beautiful living room with a working fireplace. It was just a perfect place to spend my first few days in Morocco.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelSelfies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

This is a small hotel up a steep dirt road in the beautiful Ourika Valley. The staff was very helpful. The rooms are comfortable with fireplaces to keep them warm if it is cold. The wifi only works in the lobby and is unreliable if that is important. There is a British style bar in the hotel which is unusual in the places we stayed. There is a nice pool (unheated) and some games including badminton and ping pong to play outside.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamiCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ourika
24.9 km away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
825 reviews
17.4 km away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
3.7 km away
Kasbah Agounsane
Kasbah Agounsane
#3 of 3 in Ourika
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Auberge Le Maquis
Auberge Le Maquis
#2 of 3 in Ourika
76 reviews
26.8 km away
Les Residences Du Domaine
Les Residences Du Domaine
#310 of 500 in Marrakech
232 reviews
35.9 km away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#22 of 500 in Marrakech
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Bab Ourika? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Bab Ourika

Address: Tnine Ourika, Ourika, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ourika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ourika
Price Range: ₹ 11,488 - ₹ 45,233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Bab Ourika 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bab Ourika perches majestically on a hilltop at the apex of the Ourika Valley, guarding the gateway to the snow-capped Atlas Mountains – yet it is only 45 minutes from Marrakech’s International airport. With 360 degree panoramic views, this innovative new hotel receives warm sunlight all day, ending in spectacular sunsets. From its unique eyrie-like position it offers a birds eye view of the Atlas, of traditional Berber villages and of the lush river valley below. The Kasbah is one of the most eco-friendly hotels in Morocco; constructed principally from rammed earth, the traditional Berber building technique, it seems almost to have grown out of the rocks beneath. The thick walls provide such good insulation that air-conditioning is unnecessary. Solar panels provide hot water for the hotel and and the underfloor heating in the dining and bar area. Soon a biodigester will provide electricity and compost not only for the hotel but also for the village below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Kasbah Bab Ourika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Bab Ourika Hotel Ourika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing