We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
23
11
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
11
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Everything about this hotel says "wine". The rooms are called Barrels and they are filled with corks arranged in vases, table lamps made from wine bottles and corks, standard lamps made from old vines, etc. Even the TV channels are listed on a painted wine bottle. The restaurant (where a decent buffet breakfast is served) looks out at the best vineyard in the locality, the Ayler Kupp, after which the hotel is named. Our room was generously sized, comfortable and modern, as was the bathroom. We did have a few issues: we had to fix the pop-up plug in the basin because the mechanism underneath was fouled by the waste pipe and had obviously never worked since it was installed; one of the aforementioned table lamps had a mind of its own; and the supply of hot water ran out on our last evening. Nevertheless, this would be a good place to spend a few days as a base for wine-tasting or walking in the Saar Valley. The restaurant is expensive and "fancy", but there are a couple of more reasonably priced alternatives serving simpler fare in the village.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bilboburgler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015

We stayed here for 4 nights in June, they hotel is absolutely lovely, lots of arty touches and beautifully decorated. The rooms are clean and comfortable, we had a large bathroom with an excellent shower and a small balcony that overlooked the vineyards.
The real highlight was the food, it was absolutely fantastic. The restaurant is closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays but the other two nights we stayed there more than made up for it, it really was outstanding.
Nothing is too much trouble for the two lovely hosts and the vineyard next door produces absolutely first class wines.
This was a really memorable stay and we will return. It was also fantastic value for money. Very good spot for touring nearby Saarburg, Konz and Luxemborg

Room Tip: We were in room 1 on the first floor, all the rooms had lovely views.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Its tuesday, we have been traveling from the Alsace via the weinstrasse to the Mosel, and we are late in the afternoon, unluckily, the kitchen of the hotel is closed as the cook has his day off. Peter Laur's son is waiting for us to arrive to show us the way into the hotel, clean spacey room with a balcony for a friendly pice. As we return to the car mr Laur jr is waiting for us with a botlle of wine in his hand.. Now the kitchen is closed you do have time to have a little tasting with me.. Who can say no to an invitation from a prize winning winegrower.. I could not. Expressfull wines passed over the counter to my palate.. Car was full so we have to come back to taste some more and have dinner, we will!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dordtseballen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The hotel is located in a nice small town. The hotel is run by a family and they are amazing hosts. Great food and wine!! Our stay was beautiful!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sachin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Weinhotel Ayler Kupp is run by the Lauer family, of Weingut Peter Lauer fame. It's in the charming town of Ayl, in the Saarland. Their wines are fabulous (and also hard to find), and they have several special packages. I did the Riesling Gourmet package, which included a fabulous gourmet dinner and samplings of their fine rieslings matched to each course. The next day, you go to the tasting room to make guided purchases. The countryside is beautiful, and it is not too far from some of the main towns in the Mosel (such as Bernkastel - Kues). I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike_JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews