We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed ”
Review of The Plough Hotel

The Plough Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Larbert
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: PLOUGH HOTEL LARBERT we and our staff take great care to ensure that our guests are well looked after for the duration of their time with us. Restaurant offers - NEW GRILLHOUSE MENU - Function , whatever the event you wish to organise Our Function Hire versatility can accommodate many different requirements for layout and catering. Accomodation Seven rooms available. En-suite Super King Twin/Double, En-suite King Double, Super King Twin/Double, Single Rooms CLICK on WEBSITE link to find out morefor
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Smallest scones EVER and poor service will not be returning. Expected much better. Place tired and run down as well.

2  Thank la s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plough2016, Manager at The Plough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Scone with butter and choice of preserve 75 pence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Hi,arrived and the waitress gave us our table and the menu which was a good choice. Waitress took order and the lunch was lovely.All the staff were very nice and very attentive.

2  Thank Fwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Came to visit for a meal as our son and daughter-in-law will be getting married here next year. Staff were really friendly, made sure we were aware of the specials. I had the haggis fritters, the locally produced haggis was delicious, followed by breaded haddock - fresh and huge! Others in the party reported the same quality in their breaded mushrooms, steak pie, even a burger got rave reviews. With 2 courses for £10 it was incredibly good value as well. I can assure you that we will be back many times.

3  Thank Holyroller411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Went for dinner today not been in a year ! Usually a hit or a miss defo a miss , was told the chef had badly cut his finger and was in a& e so the waitress was doing the cooking , the fish was over cooked there was a hair in among it and the lemon wedge was covered in mouldy defo won't be back

2  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Owner at The Plough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Hi Jennifer, thank you for your review. We take all feedback seriously in order to maintain high standards. Clearly there has been a major issue during your visit. Please accept our most sincere apologies for your bad experience. It is correct that the chef had had an accident and had to go to A & E, and we tbe owners were not in site at the time. We will be looking into this further and taking relevent action to ensure nothing like this happens again. Apologies once again. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

We are locals, and the last time I went in would be 18months back. Since then they have done a refurbishment.

Much improved. They are visibly trying hard. The chef is much better, his onion rings were great but let down by a mediocre onion. The food was generally very good, much better.

Being hyper critical, the decor still needs work. The area of tables for two is clostraphobic rather than intimate. Mirror the walls, or put a window to look in on the kids play area. Let light in, make it feel bigger. Make sure the external shutters are clearing the door, etc. We will be back soon based on today, visible improvements. Still some way to go, but it's silly stuff rather than fundamental. A good place to grab a meal, but not yet a valentines destination.

1  Thank coppergrease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Owner at The Plough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Many thanks for your kind and supportive review. We are trying to improve the ambience of the restaurant as we speak and will take your ideas into consideration. We really appreciate constructive feedback so thank you once again for taking the time to review our restaurant. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough Hotel also viewed

Larbert, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Larbert, Falkirk District
Larbert, Falkirk District
 

Been to The Plough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing