We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem - Awesome Food near Stonehenge”
Review of The Solstice Rest

The Solstice Rest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Solstice Rest is the closest pub to Stonehenge and provides a great stop-off for travellers going east or west along the A303. You are always assured a warm welcome, somthing to eat and a wide range of drinks. Locals and people staying at the Stonehenge Campsite are always welcome too. With lots of seating outside, a restaurant, bar and snug area inside and homemade cake, coffees and teas, a large menu as well as a kids menu you are always assured a good meal to see you on your way.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Found this gem while visiting Stonehenge. Food portions were quite large and it was delicious. Dog-friendly and the window views are stunning to look out especially with all the snow. Servers kept their distance so unable to comment on their friendliness.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sissy2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz P, Owner at The Solstice Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for comments, I am glad you had a nice stop and enjoyed your food.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2018

Awful from the start. Walked in saying we had booked for the bar man to respond "Are you sure you're in the right place mate, we don't take bookings" Firstly, not your mate. Secondly, where is the polite customer service? He then went into the kitchen to find we had indeed booked, and someone got our table ready. The food was bland, ham egg and chips was cold (as if it had just come out of the fridge) and it was labelled gluten free which it was definitely not as I have reacted severely and it is all I have eaten all day. Waitress was friendly enough, but waiters unprofessional manner continued throughout. Do not recomend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SamJB98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz P, Owner at The Solstice Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am sorry that you did not get the usual high standard of customer service on your visit. The waiter no longer works at our establishment. I can assure you, however, that your meal was gluten free and I am sorry you were not well that day. We are very careful to ensure chips are fried in a different fryer to other products. The ham would have been kept in the fridge in line with our procedures. If you told us you were unhappy at the time, we would have gladly changed your meal or compensated you.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Have been here twice with my sister and young nephews on the way home from visiting our Dad in Devon. Both times we’ve enjoyed a very friendly welcome from extremely friendly staff who go above and beyond. Would recommend to anyone looking for an easy stop with decent food and the type of service that will make you always want to stop there on your journey home!

Thank TomQuilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz P, Owner at The Solstice Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for giving us full marks, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

Popped in on way from Devon to London just great not having to go off the 303. Rather odd car park/entrance but thought 'only a quick snack, it will be fine'. On entering it felt a comfortable & relaxed atmosphere. We chose the wonderfully warm ciabattas that were full of thick, delicious ham and cheese, even the chutney was lovely and not 'run of the mill'. We had a breakfast before leaving home so didn't need a full meal. In April, on our next trip we will be stopping in for a full lunch, no breakfast!! Looking forward to it.

Thank Pearl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz P, Owner at The Solstice Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you for your great feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your ciabattas and the atmosphere.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Very friendly welcome on arrival + departure.
Quick to serve but simple breakfast choices ordered and an empty restaurant.
Clean restaurant and toilets.
Unfortunately not the best omelette - a thin omelette with a huge amount of the toppings inside - like a calzone? Not mixed in, and too much of it compared to the egg. Bland. The menu did not state what it was served with so we ordered hash browns on the side but apparently it was £1 for one little hash brown! I had to confirm she meant the standard size ones... A pound for one? No chance. That's outrageous!

Thank sassenach91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz P, Owner at The Solstice Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you found the staff friendly and I apologise you did not enjoy your omelette, and thought there was too much filling. If you are unhappy with your food, we are always more than happy to change it.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Solstice Rest also viewed

Berwick St James, Salisbury
 
Great Cheverell, Wiltshire
 
Pimperne, Blandford Forum
 

Been to The Solstice Rest? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing