We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveller rating
211
121
76
71
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
211
121
76
71
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub steam cave poets cove resort the cottages hot tub dining room the main lodge wedding weekend beautiful location bedroom cottage off season coffee shop get away amazing views washer dryer tennis courts steam room
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018

If traveling by boat this is a solid choice to be dockside for a change. Rooms are dated and need TLC however. Staff issues with not enough of them to go around. Entire dining room was serviced by one waiter. He was great at his job that being said. Compliments to the chef as the food provided at dinner was excellent. Breakfast buffet underwhelming. We'd booked for a 5 day stay and left after two. Glad we tried it out and if brought back up to it's former glory this resort is a great location and well designed master plan.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

We needed a break from the hectic pace of Vancouver. This resort has all the amenities for a quiet romantic interlude. Great cheerful staff made the visit even better. Highly recommended! Great location, awesome view!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

We were a large group that stayed at Poet's Cove for a good part of a week. With the cost of the rooms ($220 plus per night) I had very high expectations. I was very disappointed. The carpets of a majority of our rooms were extremely stained and in some cases clearly had not be vacuumed. Some showers had mold in them, one person had hair in their bath tub, the blinds were very dusty in most (one person couldn't even open up there blinds because the mechanism was broken), some rooms had new TVs eithers had the old tube style TV's with cords running down the front of the cabinet. The furniture is very worn, with water stains on both the end table and the desk. The bedding is very dated (pink comforter cover and a bed skirt that doesn't even appear to fit properly).
This hotel appears extremely dated and needs a really good remodel of furniture/bedding/window coverings and the carpets clearly need to replaced or cleaned. Good thing we all bring slippers! Some of the gym equipment does need to be updated/upgraded (specifically the elliptical) and it would have been nice to have gym towels available.
The daily cleaning of the rooms requires attention. Empty pizza boxes were left in a room for days and I am sure my room wasn't vacuumed once during my stay.
Although most of us found our beds to be comfortable, everyone commented that they are obviously old and in need of an upgrade.
On a positive note, the view is incredible and the fact that each room has an ocean view balcony was spectacular. The staff was very accommodating for an early breakfast time (breakfast wasn't being serviced until 8am, which was too late to meet our needs) and the meals we ate at the bar were great with great service.
If you are going for the view, and want to spend time on your deck with a glass of wine after exploring the island this is a great place to do it. Just don't expect too much from the rooms.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 367dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M, Guest Relations Manager at Poets Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

The resort provides a wide variety of rooms including space and style. We regret that you were disappointed with your room. Did you inquire about moving to another room? We do our best to accommodate our guests' wishes. We'll share your feedback with our cleaning staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

I don’t normally take the time to leave a review but finding a room with tub and shower and sink not cleaned is a huge turnoff. (Hair in both, large clump I shower). But then to find dirty sheets?! Used, marks on sheets....
Even worse though, was that no compensation was offered.
Friendly people living on the island, and so many deer - it’s a great place, but don’t stay at Poet’s Cove.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hellopenelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M, Guest Relations Manager at Poets Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Sometimes there are errors in housekeeping reports, and unfortunately you were given keys to a room that wasn't ready. Fortunately we were able to address the situation immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Pender is an interesting place - farmers' market, various ocean viewpoints, nice cafés and great people! Stayed at Poet's Cove for one night - check-in was a bit slow, but the room was fantastic - lots of space and a great view over Bedwell Harbour! Dinner in Aurora was excellent, terrific salmon dish and good appetizers! Pool and beach area were excellent! And it was SO quiet at night! The only issue was the New York pricing - seemed to be a bit high for the rooms, given everything, although the restaurant dinner was excellent and of great value!

Room tip: Take a room in the main building, higher up, with a view of the ocean!
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M, Guest Relations Manager at Poets Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thanks for all the nice observations! Our rates are competitive with similar resorts on remote islands. Keep in mind that all supplies for the resort have to be brought in. As well, the rooms, villas and cottages are well furnished, spacious and stylish. Rates are less during the off season, and we do offer special packages, which you can find on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews