We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful high quality buildings and an amazing wine tasting experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pender Island
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful high quality buildings and an amazing wine tasting experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We spent two days recently and the room and general facilities are first class all the way.

The food was good and service in the restaurants excellent. The pool was well heated and clean and the surroundings are truly beautiful.

Our only complaint, and it was shared by everyone with whom we spoke was that they had converted the heat pump from cool to warm and we had a warm spell. The rooms were really warrm at night and you had to ask for a fan to get some cool air blowing into the room from the open window. They should have either switched back to cool or supplied fans without having to ask. It was really uncomfortable the first night before we thought to ask for a fan although we called to see what could be done with the heat - high 20's in our room.

One trip we took was outstanding. We went to a winery called Morning Bay Winery where Keith Watt, the owner, gave us the best wine tasing experience we have ever had. First we tasted four wines from bottles in the traditional way. Then came the barrel tasing where Keith took samples from about 16 barrels - different years, different oaks and different presses. We got to taste the differences between oaks, presses and vintages. I really learned to taste the differences.

After we were able to purchase wines directly from the barrels if we wished if we took a case and the price was reasonable for the quality.

i would recommend it again. You can fly in but check

I would strongly recommend a trip to this winery and call in advance to ensure you can get a barrel tasting.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RustyCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    85
    46
    61
    39
See reviews for
98
174
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We were gifted a few days accommodation here in Poet's Cove as a wedding present from a friend. We received a bungalow with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchen, sitting room, deck and jacuzzi. I have to say it feels like a rest from our holiday, I was so relaxed here. The place is wonderfully designed, perhaps appearing like a resort in New England more than a retreat in the pacific northwest but every detail has been considered. The hotel, which we had a chance to look at, was immaculately cared for and in tip top shape. We did not eat in the restaurants, preferring to cook for ourselves since our bungalow was so perfect, look to be excellent. Yes, the place is set up for the nautical crowd arriving from Seattle and beyond on their yachts, but, really, this works for everyone. I used the gym, swam in the pool, considered taking out a kayak and then a bicycle but then was more than happy to relax in the jacuzzi with a glass of wine. Romantic, relaxing and worth the travel to get here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Despite my partners advance booking we were surprised at check in to find the resort completely booked out with limited access to most of its amenities. The pub was closed and the dining room, while nice, was almost inaccessible due to the resorts overbooking. Not very romantic.
At the very least we should have been told that the entire resort was not available beforehand, and been offered a discount or an opportunity to book at a later date. It is a beautiful property with great potential, but when you have your heart set on what is featured on the website, only to arrive to half a resort, its more than a little disappointing...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Flew into Pender Island via float plane. It's a beautiful setting, remote and romantic, but once you're there, you are completely trapped unless you want to pay a fortune to take a taxi, or rent the resorts van which is available sometimes. If you plan to stay at this resort, having your own car is a must. We stayed in one of the cabins, which was spacious and well outfitted, but I think the hotel may have been a better choice for views. It's an interesting spot to stay for a night or two, but beyond that may be too much.

The restaurant had decent food, wine prices were sky high, and it's the only place to eat for miles and miles. We rented the resort van and drove to an unexpectedly good sushi restaurant near the main "town".

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Beautiful location, romantic setting, 5* accommodations. The only downfall is that we were only there for one night, so were unable to experience all of the amenities. I
recommend at least a 2 night stay if you want the full experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ineedaholiday_net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pender Island
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Mayne Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mayne Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poets Cove Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poets Cove Resort & Spa

Property: Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Address: 9801 Spalding Rd, British Columbia V0N 2M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Pender Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pender Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,976 - ₹ 24,987
Hotel Class:4 star — Poets Cove Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poets Cove Resort & Spa is the Gulf Islands' premier luxury resort. Tucked away in Bedwell Harbour on Pender Island, there is a luxurious combination of 22 Lodge Rooms, 9 Villas and 15 Cottages. We offer a full-service 110-slip deep-moorage marina and a Canadian point of entry customs office for CanPass users. Our stunning Aurora Restaurant and casual Syrens Lounge serves the best local fresh ingredients and our activities range from exciting kayaking adventures to rejuvenating spa treatments in our award winning 'Susurrus' Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Poets Cove Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poets Cove Hotel Pender Island
Poets Cove Resort And Spa
Poets Cove Pender Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing