We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Douglas, Isle of Man
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A beautiful place!”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This place is a gem, we stayed here for three nights and I did not want to leave, could have stayed here for my whole 3 weeks in Canada!

From the moment we checked in we were met with pleasent staff who were extremely helpful, showing us what to do in the area, where the places were on the map, places to eat and they even had a few kayaks and bikes for rental!

In the main lobby area there was plenty of guides for local activities like whale and bear watching trips (would recommend Jamie's bear watching trip as we saw 8 bears including 4 cubs), also plenty of DVDs for an evenings entertainment in front of the fire that were in the condos!

The condo we stayed in was tucked up right in the corner and had the most amazing view from the windows, the condo itself was clean, light and had plenty of space (even though there was only two of us). The bedroom was quiet, although there was a seal who woke me up one morning but he was fun to watch along with a couple of eagles who swooped around the harbour area most days! The highlight of the place was to be able to sit in the hot tub on the private balcony and enjoy the picturesque views and take in the fresh and peaceful surroundings!

Even when we checked out we were given ideas for the next stop on our trip, which turned out to be great advice!

Absolutely loved this place not a bad word to say and would definitely stay here again and recommend to all as a lovely getaway!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda_IsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    180
    55
    16
    11
See reviews for
174
232
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We came across Waters Edge through a Groupon deal that could not be passed up. We ended up staying over the May long weekend for 3 nights. The resort itself is quite beautiful and rustic. It is located on Ucluelet Harbour NOT on the Pacific side. The location is perfect, however if you have your heart set on being on the Pacific side you will be disappointed i(n terms of having an unlimited ocean view only).

We checked in and this is where we were impressed. The front desk staff were friendly, helpful and very happy to talk about what there was to see in the area. The lobby was also well equipped with menus of local restaurants and DVD's to watch (in the evening. There is not much night life!)

The only reason for the three stars is the condo itself. It was pleasant, clean and had a beautiful view onto the harbour. There is a kitchen, but honestly it was not well equipped so if we were planning on cooking most of our meals we would have been out of luck. It did have a coffee maker though and since we only used the kitchen for breakfast, we were set.

The bedroom was spacious with a queen bed and it was quite comfy. Our daughter had to resort to the pull-out in the living room which she said was very uncomfortable (but what sofa bed isn't really). There was sufficient drawers and closets for clothes, however the drawers in our bedroom were half full of someone else's clothes and undergarments. Was it a big deal? Ok, maybe it shouldn't be, but it did bother us. It felt like we were intruding on someone else's space and it was OUR vacation.

A few suggestions while in the area? The Wild Pacific Trail is a MUST! The view is amazing and the amount of ocean life we encountered was better than any Aquarium (sea lions playing, otters banging clams against their chest which is very entertaining to watch, and best of all two humpback or grey whales...not quite sure!)

We also ate at a few places... Fetch at Black Rock Resort which is worth the view alone. Add in some very tasty food and wine and it was worth the splurge. We ordered in pizza one night from Romans and it was very good! We ended up eating in the restaurant the next night and even the entrees were very tasty.

With that said, would we stay here again? Likely, yes. However next time we may choose a resort on the Pacific side, just to experience the waves crashing and the sound of the ocean. But we did enjoy our stay nonetheless, and we would recommend it based on location and service alone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank born2travel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My husband and i planned this weekend through Groupon first time to Ucluelet. Called the resort to ask a few questions a few days before we left and to confirm reservations and Linda was so nice and friendly and did not rush through my questions even though it was the end of her shift. Off to a good start. Once we arrived we were greeted by big smiles and a warm welcome. Once we got into our place, first impressions were great. It was so clean and bright. Loved the jacuzzi tub on the balcony took advantage of that a lot and the view was lovely. It was not too busy as it was off season there fore very quiet i don't think we had been that relaxed in a very very long time. We took advantage of the complimentary bikes and went on a 3hr ride, rode to the pacific rim trail, glad we did that the view was spectacular of the waves hitting the rocks. What we liked the best was the over all experience and what we disliked was hmmmm well there wasn't anything. Great weekend and will definately return in the near future.
Must mention the bed and the pillows were comfy and very clean.
Thanks to all staff helping with bikes, check in and check out, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife & I stayed for 3 nights in mid-April 2012. We received a very friendly and warm welcome when we arrived to check in and our apartment which was cosy, clean and well maintained (and we're very fussy!). A simple pleasure but an important one, is the shower and the one in our apartment was the best we've used in any rental accommodation including the so called better quality hotels, better than home even! Comfortable bed, the kitchen is basic but well equiped and the wi-fi internet was quite quick and responsive which is a benefit. DVD player in living room but the TV's are not wide screen. Some lovely costal walks to enjoy particularly the loop which takes you to the Amphitrite Lighthouse, breathtaking scenery. If its open make sure you get fish & chips from Jiggers! Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NY152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was our first time to Ucluelet and we picked the Waters Edge Resort as we had purchased the Groupon for it. We certainly were not disappointed and plan on returning to the hotel in the future.

Although the resort was full for the Easter weekend we never heard the neighbouring guests and were able to find parking right outside our unit.

Our little kids enjoyed the jacuzzi tub on the deck and made it a morning and evening ritual. I also enjoyed sitting in the jacuzzi with a coffee in the morning watching the eagles, seals, and hawks. Note well the advise of the hotel to fill with hot water first then add cold as once the tub is filled there is no hot water for a good hour and a bit.

The beach at the hotel was good for us, with the kids able to find starfish, crabs and oyster shells.

Although we didn't take out the Kayaks there were enough to choose from and were easily checked out from the front desk.

We did borrow a few board games for in the evenings and there was a good selection.

The rooms were quite spacious and very comfortable. The kitchen is stocked with basic cooking supplies, such as 1 fry pan, 1 cookie sheet, etc. But it was enough for us to cook meals.

The fireplace also gave great heat, and was a nice way to spend the evening after the jacuzzi.

The staff at the front desk were very helpful and informative. They offered suggestions and spoke to the kids when we were waiting in line.

All in all, this was a beautiful resort, my family had a wonderful time here. The extra space with two kids was also appreciated and made it a much more relaxing weekend away. We would return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
32.5 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
31.9 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
29.2 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.2 km away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.2 km away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#6 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Shoreside Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Shoreside Suites

Property: Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Address: 1971 Harbour Crescent, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
#3 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,769 - ₹ 20,164
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Shoreside Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water's Edge is the only property with access to both the serene Ucluelet Harbour & bordering Marina from every suite! The peaceful harbour suites are located on a private island joined by a causeway and just minutes from Vancouver Island's #1 rated tourist attraction; The Wild Pacific Trail. Waters Edge is truly the ideal location for discovering the Real West Coast of Ucluelet, Tofino and The Pacific Rim National Park (all major attractions within 15 - 30 mins from Waters Edge!). Guests enjoy spacious private suites featuring west coast decor and full kitchens; the perfect home base to explore the areas miles of sandy West Coast beaches, ancient rainforests, fantastic kayaking, awesome fishing charters and spectacular panoramic views. Guaranteed to leave you breathless! Peaceful ambiance on our private island joined by a causeway within the harbour. Bonus Tip 1: Bring your kayak and you can launch right on site because were the only property located on an island within the harbour! Bonus Tip 2: Boaters rejoice! Were the only property located almost right next door to the new public boat launch so bring your boat up and catch yourself some of the best Halibut on the Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Water's Edge Shoreside Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Resort At Pacific Rim Hotel Ucluelet
Waters Edge Hotel
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites Ucluelet, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing