We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Everything about this place rocked.

Booking the room was simple and convenient, check-in took only minutes.

We were amazed by the quality of the "Luxury 1 bed-room suite" - not only were all the appliances new (and brand named), the furniture was modern, the fireplace functional & ambiance setting, and our living room view included birds, sea lions & river otters, as well as the occasional boat.

The Jetted Tub was outside on our walk-out balcony (where we were also able to explore the small beach from).

It was nice after a long day of exploring Ukee & Tofino to be able to go for a walk without leaving the resort.

The staff was friendly, and the place was very clean, and well-kept.

One thing, don't screw up when filling the Jetted Tub, or you'll have no hot water for an hour or so....

Room Tip: The harbour view leaves a bit to be desired! Ask for an open-water room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    183
    55
    16
    11
See reviews for
175
236
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My husband and I used a groupon to stay at the resort for a week, and the time flew by! We did have some rainy days so in the off-season be prepared with rain gear or with some good games/movies to watch while you relax indoors. (The DVD selection at reception was great, but we brought enough of our own games to stay busy without using it).

The restaurants in town looked decent but lacked vegetarian selection, which we needed, so we cooked at home mostly. We did go out in Tofino (to SoBo, delicious!) and bought some seafood there (Trilogy) to cook at home for the meat-eater - I'd recommend going to Tofino for seafood because Ucluelet lacked selection.

While there, we hiked the Wild Pacific trail, walked along the beach, used the kayaks on a sunny day, and enjoyed seeig stars or birds and wildlife from the outside soaker tub. A wonderful week away! The only negative was that the wifi in room was not reliable - the internet connection would stop working randomy at least a few times whenever I was surfing the web.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danicwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Water's edge resort during the Christmas holidays, which also coincides with my birthday. The staff were courteous and knowledgable about the area, and gave us advice about nearby hiking trails and restaurants. Our room was overlooking the cove, which was perfect as it offered a sense of privacy, as well as a spectacular view of the ocean. The luxury one bedroom suite was clean, modern and spacious, and had a large deck extending from the dining room, with a jetted soaker tub. We greatly enjoyed relaxing in the tub with a glass of wine after a day of hiking. Even though it was cold outside, we were warm and comfortable in the tub. There was also a fully equipped kitchen which we used quite bit. The suite featured a nice TV and fireplace which was perfect for a night of cozying up on the couch and watching a movie. The resort has a large library of movies which we took advantage of. For my birthday we went to Fetch Restaurant at the Black Rock Resort. I highly recommend it for a night out with fine dining. Ucluelet is a lovely town, with beautiful hiking trails perfect for storm watching. Overall my boyfriend and I had an amazing stay at Water's Edge and we look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aabida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

If you crave the beauty of the ocean in ways you've never seen then Ucluelet is the place! To enhance the experience even more, I would say that Waters Edge Resort at Pacific Rim is a great choice. Groupon chose the resort for us by offering an excellent weekend deal and we decided to take a weekend escape a couple weeks before Christmas. There were good and bad points to this decision --- great because there were not a lot of other tourists to make congest the resort or the local trails and sites. Bad because we drove for over an hour looking for a reasonably priced, OPEN restaurant.

Our trip started with a late arrival - after check-in hours, however the resort does have lock boxes which they will provide you the combination for if you phone in the day of your check-in. This was a great feature for us as we had no chance of braving the twists and turns of the roads which lead from Victoria to Ucluelet before the front desk closed.

A great point about our room was that it had a fully furnished kitchen and dining room table! So even though we couldn't find an open, reasonably priced restaurant, Waters Edge Resort had us covered. All the cooking supplies, utensils, pots and pans you could want were pre-stocked so we went to the local Co-op market and bought some groceries. Probably saved money in the long run so it definitely was not the worst outcome to not finding an open restaurant.

In addition to the kitchen and dining nook our room came with a living room furnished with a leather couch and arm chair, coffee table, entertainment center with TV, DVD player and CD player as well as a corner gas powered fireplace. A nice feature of this fireplace is that it actually gave off heat. We've stayed in hotels where they advertise fireplace and you only get the look of one, not the function. In addition there was one bathroom which had access from the main entryway and the bedroom which was nice, though the layout of the doors ended up being more of a hassle than a convenience in my opinion. The bathroom was very nice and well stocked with soaps, shampoos, lotions and toilet paper. I must say that the shower heads in this unit were nicer than other hotels/resorts which is always a plus in my book.

The bedroom was fairly standard though it was spacious which is nice. Full closet for hanging clothes as well as a full dresser for folding them as well. 2 night stands and lamps for either side as well. Of course the main highlight of the room was the back porch accessible through the living room which had a hot tub. Keep in mind that when I say hot tub, I don't mean one of those fancy jacuzzis. Picture it more as a HUGE bath tup with about 10 small jets dispersed throughout. I won't lie, it was cold the night we used it but once you got in after filling it up it was fine. I will also say that the buildings are organized in such a way that if your neighbors looked out their window they wouldn't have a problem spying at the action in the tub. This is more of a warning to those who are shy rather than a tip for voyeurs!

Another downer about being the off season is that we couldn't take advantage of the equipment the resort stocks such as kayaks etc however they do have rain gear to borrow and it was North Face brand so it was nice as it was threatening rain most of our trip. Apart from that the lobby also has DVD's to borrow for your room which was nice as well.

All in all, we had a great experience at this resort and if you're able to find a Groupon deal or something similar than it makes the cost effectiveness all the better. Our only issue with the visit was the drive from Victoria and even that was absolutely gorgeous (in the daytime!) At night you can't see anything on either side of you and with all the twists in turns in the road it can be a bit intimidating. But we cannot hold that against the resort as it's not really in their power to control the roads!

Room Tip: Try to request a room with the best view of the water. It seems some are not directly on the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albert AB Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

A peaceful restful place to spend a week in a magnificent 2 bedroom 2 bathroom unit. Imaculate with helpful staff who seem to take a real pride in the resort
Views over the harbour were lovely.
Visits from 2 sea lions and lots of birds in the harbour were wonderful

Room Tip: Splurge and have a facial or massage at the Spa at the resort - what a wonderful treat!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coll46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
31.9 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
32.5 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
2.1 km away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.2 km away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.2 km away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#6 of 11 in Ucluelet
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Shoreside Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Shoreside Suites

Property: Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Address: 1971 Harbour Crescent, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
#3 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,367 - ₹ 22,632
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Shoreside Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water's Edge is the only property with access to both the serene Ucluelet Harbour & bordering Marina from every suite! The peaceful harbour suites are located on a private island joined by a causeway and just minutes from Vancouver Island's #1 rated tourist attraction; The Wild Pacific Trail. Waters Edge is truly the ideal location for discovering the Real West Coast of Ucluelet, Tofino and The Pacific Rim National Park (all major attractions within 15 - 30 mins from Waters Edge!). Guests enjoy spacious private suites featuring west coast decor and full kitchens; the perfect home base to explore the areas miles of sandy West Coast beaches, ancient rainforests, fantastic kayaking, awesome fishing charters and spectacular panoramic views. Guaranteed to leave you breathless! Peaceful ambiance on our private island joined by a causeway within the harbour. Bonus Tip 1: Bring your kayak and you can launch right on site because were the only property located on an island within the harbour! Bonus Tip 2: Boaters rejoice! Were the only property located almost right next door to the new public boat launch so bring your boat up and catch yourself some of the best Halibut on the Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Water's Edge Shoreside Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Resort At Pacific Rim Hotel Ucluelet
Waters Edge Hotel
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites Ucluelet, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing