We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canadian Princess Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Canadian Princess Lodge
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed here for three nights while attending a conference in Uclulet. The view is idyllic and all the rooms have that view. We stayed in one of the hotel rooms which are basic but fine. The bed was very comfortable and the staff were pleasant. It is definitely a "no frill" kinds of place but comfortable and good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treylya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    69
    50
    41
    19
See reviews for
71
78
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
malmö,
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I stayed inside the boat in the beginning of August while my parents stayed in the cottage. If you want to save money, then choose to sleep inside the boat (it is like a budget hostel). If you want to spend a little extra, then definitely get the cabin as you have your own bathroom, fireplace and a balcony that overlooks the beautiful sea.

We went for a fishing package (2 nights, 3 days) included is two full days of fishing. I would call this a fisherman's resort and if you don't like or plan to go fishing, I would not recommend this because there is nothing else to do around the area (unless you drive). The service was great both in the hotel and on the boat. I had horrible sea sickness on my first day and hotel gave me some pills for my super fantastic second day at sea :) The skippers on the boat were so so great and all had fun personalities. In addition, there were TONS of whales and seals everywhere. Don't waste your money for those whale watching trips. You can do this and get a "2 for 1" deal.

Can't wait until my visit to the westcoast again and will definitely come back!

PS: This was my first ever exclusive fishing trip and we caught over 25 fish (between the 5 of us) and I caught a 14lbs halibut. FISH ON!!

Room Tip: If you stay inside the boat, make sure you DO NOT sleep beside the restaurant. The staff gets reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianClarkson, General Manager at Canadian Princess Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear adewski,

I'm glad you enjoyed your fishing trip at Canadian Princess. We are primarily a fishing resort although our whale watching trips are very popular with visitors. I'm glad you got to combine both! I'm also glad that you enjoyed your experience on the ship. Although not for everyone, the ship offers a unique nautical experience and is very appealing to the budget traveller. We're very proud of our boat crew and I will pass along your compliments to them.

I hope to see you again soon.

Brian Clarkson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

This hotel is very unique and specialized for fishermen. We stayed to see the wildlife and the Pacific Rim. The whales are often seen and used boats for excursions are large and comfortable. The hotel is clean, the rooms are large. Breakfast is served from 4.30 am. They are typical Canadian breakfast, then the Italians should go out ....
The staff is very courteous and they check in too late at night, we arrived very late. At the reception there is a nice gift shop.
the hotel is ideal for fishermen, but we were very good also.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigliobattelezampe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianClarkson, General Manager at Canadian Princess Lodge, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear nigliobattelezampe,

Thanks for your feedback on the resort. We do cater to fishermen, but also welcome a lot of travellers who are simply looking for a west coast experience like yourself. I will pass along your comments about our crew accommodating your late check in. We're proud of the service we provide. I hope you can join us again on your next trip to the west coast.

Sincerely,
Brian Clarkson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We had been camping on the island for a week and a half and decided to treat ourselves to a nice hotel. The price was a little higher then we had anticipated but what the heck. When we walked in the room we decided on the spot to stay for the extra 2 nights we were in the area. Then we saw the view out the window to the marina wow! Then it all went crashing downhill...we could here every breath, cough, fart from every other room within our building. Simply walking down the hall woke everyone in the place. This building is so poorly built I would be embarrased to charge 10 dollars a night! We didn't sleep a wink and couldn't wait to get out of there and back to our tent. I have NEVER
chosen tent over hotel when presented with the choice. Omg don't stay here!!!spend less money up the rode for a wonderful nights sleep.




  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idieh128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianClarkson, General Manager at Canadian Princess Lodge, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Dear idieh128

Thanks for your feedback on our accommodations at Canadian Princess Resort. I'm sorry that your found your stay so unpleasant. Your feedback about the ability to hear your neighbours is appreciated and we do our best to accommodate guests and to work with our existing buildings to provide a positive guest experience. Unfortunately, in your situation, we were unsuccessful, but we are working to improve the situation.

Brian Clarkson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ucluelet hotels

Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

I had the great fortune to bring my two grandsons and their wonderful fathers to the Canadian Princess. We stayed ashore and the facilities were great as was the entire staff. We went out to sea and limited out on Halibut and Salmon including one heck of a great bottom fishing trip where all of us where screaming FISH ON!!! And were treated to seeing about 50 whales which everyone on board was delighted to see. If you are looking for a great place to do some party boat fishing this is the place to go. RRP Irving Texas

Room Tip: Great clean rooms and everthing worked the best thing NO PHONES!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianClarkson, General Manager at Canadian Princess Lodge, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Hi Richard,

Thanks for your wonderful review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to share your fishing (and whale watching) experience with your family. Thanks for the compliments on the crew. We'll pass that along! Hope to see you again soon.

Brian Clarkson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
32.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
2.0 km away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#6 of 10 in Ucluelet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.3 km away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
0.8 km away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.3 km away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#4 of 10 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadian Princess Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadian Princess Lodge

Property: Canadian Princess Lodge
Address: 1943 Peninsula Rd, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,505 - ₹ 12,977
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canadian Princess Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canadian Princess Lodge, located on the west coast of Vancouver Island in Ucluelet, sits at the very core of the Pacific Rim on the edge of the iconic broken islands. This part of British Columbia is known for its surfing, hiking, and wildlife, and we'd love for you to make us your base for exploration and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Canadian Princess Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadian Princess Hotel Ucluelet
Canadian Princess Lodge Ucluelet, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing