We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely lovely barn and would recommend to...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lower House Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Staunton on Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
233willia...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely lovely barn and would recommend to stay there .”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed there in november , its a lovely barn and very spacious .
We stayed with our dogs and there are great walks nearby to take them on .
I would deffinataly recommend lower house barn for you to visit .Diane is very helpfull and is at hand across the way if there are any problems.
Really can't fault anything , will be returning next year :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2015
Thank you! It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay despite the fact that the weather wasn't very kind to you! Look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganMH
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful break”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at Lower House Barn as a family at the end of last month and had a wonderful break.

On arrival we were delighted to find that the house was just as lovely as the photos we'd seen online...if not better! It has been decorated to a very high standard and had plenty of room for the seven of us (and three dogs), whilst at the same time having a cosy feel. The outdoor patio area was also perfect for enjoying a drink or meal in the sunshine and taking in the views of the surrounding countryside.

We were only staying for three nights but managed to fit in a couple of local scenic walks... Including through the apple orchards. There is a very good garden centre a short drive down the road where we were able to pick up our groceries and there are a couple of pubs if you wanted to eat out.

Di and Martin were lovely hosts. They checked we had settled in ok and were only across the way if we needed anything. Di was even so kind as to bake a delicious Victoria sandwich cake, which was a very nice touch.

We would highly recommend Lower House Barn and would like to thank Di and Martin for being such great hosts!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful - will be back”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Thank you to Di and Martin for making us so welcome.

The Barn is fitted out to a really high standard and all of the furnishings are top-notch. They have thought of everything, including a good barbeque and a chiminea outside.

We had hot weather, but we would happily go in the winter as it has underfloor heating.

We also used the tennis court, which is one of the best we have played on, and with a great view over the valley. There is also a table tennis table. Wi-Fi was easy and a good speed.

There is lots to see and do in the area - we had a really good day in canoes on the Wye.

As I type this, my son is asking when we can go back; the answer is soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of the place - well equipped, and to a high standard
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don W
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“brilliant.”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Great layout and owner and location, spot on. The quality of the fittings was very good wi fi worked very well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange196...
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and top class accommodation”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Lovely rural location, beautifully renovated barn spacious interior with great furnishings, well equipped kitchen. Plenty of room to park next to the barn. Kids enjoyed the open spaces around the barn and playing with the dogs and cats. Thanks to Di and Martin the owners making us all feel so welcome and for setting up a table tennis table for them and allowing them use of the tennis court. There was also a lovely welcome basket on arrival full of local produce and eggs from the hens on site! During the week we were also presented with a lovely vase of sweet peas from the garden and some home-baking, lovely touches. Nothing seemed too much trouble to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The barn also had a great DVD library, books and board games and a BBQ. Arranged a supermarket delivery to arrive when we did, which worked well. Great base for enjoying the area, we will definitely be returning for another stay in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and interior of the barn and stuff for the kids to do.
Liked least: Nothing to report!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing