We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
25
14
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
14
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub south downs way ensuite bathroom large room next morning car park portsmouth dust
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2017

We stayed two nights at this excellent pub. Comfortable room (no2), including excellent shower and thick towels (always a bonus). Warm and inviting bar with big open fire, excellent ales and good breakfast. We had a very enjoyable evening meal on the first night served by attentive staff. What's not to like!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Six of us booked into the White Hart for a Christmas meal. What a lovely time we had, proper napkins, place cards with our menu choices (in case you forget what you ordered!) The meal was delicious, the setting delightful and the staff fun, efficient, polite and professional. Have already booked to return next year.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

We visited midweek for a quiet meal and our expectations were pleasantly surpassed. We were shown to a table in the pleasant restaurant with a good selection of dishes on the menu. Following a delicious crab cake to start we had the John Dory and the duck breast, which was beautifully presented, see picture. The food was very well cooked, tasty and hot, something which many struggle to achieve. We will definitely recommend and return in the future.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ChrisNicholson1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

The White Hart combines the local country pub with an excellent dining room very successfully. The dining room has a delightful ambience, space between the tables and excellent service. We chose the festive menu and had an excellent meal. There's a good wine list. We had a most enjoyable evening and look forward to another occasion to go there again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hugh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We visited the White Hart in South Harting for lunch a few days ago. The kitchen at the National Trust's nearby Uppark was not fully operational that day. The White Hart filled the bill admirably, and had the feel of a well-liked village pub that knew how to provide what it should. The staff were friendly, the food was excellent, the service efficient and quick, and the ambience very pleasant. The dining room was attractively decorated. The bar areas were well laid out. The loos were spotless. One slight drawback was the rather small car park; we thought that might be because the pub dates from the era when everyone walked to it. There is however nothing out of date about the service or the atmosphere. We might quite well be paying a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AlanandAnneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews