We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good lunch on SDW”
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
Reserve with OpenTable
The White Hart is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The newly refurbished (and reloved) White Hart at South Harting is one of few pubs remaining with traditional pub values, whilst providing excellent local and seasonal food and a warm welcome every time. Surrounded by stunning West Sussex countryside, nestled in the heartland of the South Downs; the White Hart caters for walkers, ramblers and all folk looking for a rest-stop along the way. Serving generously filled baguettes as well as high quality A La Carte meals, the White Hart is sure to satisfy the weary walker. A full selection of crowd pleasing Upham Ales is available as well as a highly regarded wine list. The White Hart at Harting is back, and we look forward to welcoming you.
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We diverted slightly off the South Downs Way for a much needed refreshment break after walking 12 of the 19 miles scheduled for day 2. We each had a pint & sourdough baguette, mine accompanied by a mug of soup. All were very tasty and 'hit the spot', allowing us to depart fortified for what lay ahead. Well worth the diversion.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank One_of_the_BOFs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartSH, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you GrumpsDC,

I am Glad we contributed to your experience of the South Downs! Hopefully you will visit us soon.

Best wishes
Dana Tase

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

We were walking the South Downs Way and arrived too early for lunch but sat by a fireplace and had a welcome pint. Very nice staff, and we enjoyed the local customers ("I'm trying to decide if it's a beer day or a cider day."). It was clear the pub is dog-friendly, which was great.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Nomadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartSH, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Nomadventurer,

Thank you for your time to write this review!
I am so glad you enjoyed your visit here. Hopefully it will not be the last - we have 7 beautiful bedrooms, if you next time, maybe fancy a longer rest before your walk!

Kindest regards
Dana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Stopped here for dinner just before the end of the third day of our South Downs Way in 4 days walk (were staying at a farmhouse B&B a further 20 minutes walk away.)
The pub was lovely inside and we were directed to a table in the corner where our dog could stretch out on the floor.
Perhaps because it was Sunday the menu was rather limited and the only thing we both fancied was the burger which came in good time.
The burger itself was absolutely delicious, however it came with only a small bowl of skinny fries and an even smaller bowl of coleslaw. Already quite pricey, we had to pay extra for cheese and onion rings. We therefore had space for desserts and mine was lovely but my friend's cheeseboard with three small pieces with crackers and chutney was overpriced at £9.
Service was very good as was the food but it was overpriced compared to other places we know serving very similar locally sourced food.
When paying we also noticed we had been charged a ridiculously high £5.20 for a pint of lager, although the excellent Orchard Pig Reveller cider was much more reasonable (they even had a very good scrumpy cider that I tried but unfortunately was too strong with a long days walk ahead!)
Overall a lovely pub with excellent food but they need to reduce prices a touch or increase portion sizes before we could recommend a return visit.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Phil25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartSH, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Phil25,

Thank you for your review! I am sorry that your visit with us wasn`t perfect.
On Sundays we run the same menu through out the day, I am sorry you found it limited.
Regarding the lager prices, we are looking to change to other lagers which would be better value for money, but still would remain a premium product such as Peroni.
If you wish to discuss anything else, please contact me directly at the pub on - 01730 825124 or by e-mail - info@ the-whitehart.co.uk and I would be more than happy to arrange an appealing offer for you to return.

Kindest Regards
Dana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Great traditional feel to the place,Middle of nowhere really,but a really pleasant surprise,dropped in a couple of times at lunch time over the last two weeks.Food of offer was light or serious opted for some sandwiches,excellent and something of thr trad. pub list,Ham egge foof is very very good,fairly priced

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank osmo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartSH, Deputy Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hello,

Thank you for the great review!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night whilst walking the South Downs Way. It is in a beautiful village and the rooms are in a converted stable/barn out back. Our room number 4 was gorgeous in decor, had a great shower, lovely big soft towels, dressing gowns and a good coffee/tea choice. However it was so small we could only just find places for our rucsacs and had to squeeze by the end of the bed. Only a few hangars for clothes so unpacked onto floor and found clothes got covered in dust.
Dinner excellent. Staff friendly. My husband's full English breakfast good but my poached eggs with a pile of burnt sliced toast unappealing and disappointing. We would return just for the dinner.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank valhill56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartSH, Deputy Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay overall & we look forward to seeing you again if you chose to come back & dine with us.
Unfortunately you did have the smallest room that we have, but to reflect this we do offer a reduced rate for this room.
If you ever choose to stay with us again we would be more than happy to allocate you a larger room if you book direct with us.
I am please your husband enjoyed his breakfast and I apologise about your toast. I have taken this up with the kitchen team.
Kind Regards
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

 
Petersfield, Hampshire
Buriton, Petersfield
 
Chilgrove, West Sussex
 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing