We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
14
9
3
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
9
3
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gracious staff convenient location hotel is located front desk staff dominion brittany train housekeeping elevator noise lobby
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We stayed here the very first week it opened, so there were some kinks that had to be worked out. First of all, we had to move from a beautiful corner room to a regular room because the corner rooms didn't come with a desk. Also, there were no min-fridges which are usually standard in most hotels. However, the staff they have employed were just phenomenal! They assisted us in making dinner reservations nearly every evening we were there and provided numerous helpful hints about how to get around Vancouver. They even gave us umbrellas as we went out if we had forgotten our own.
The hotel is located right next to the sky train, so that was super convenient for getting into town. Also, the town hall, public library, and shopping centers are all in the immediate vicinity as well.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the town hall and library are probably quieter, but rooms on the back have views of the mountains.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonie T, Director of Rooms at Civic Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Mary Jo N,
I truly appreciate the time you took to write us a review. We are currently working on adding full working desks in all rooms soon. We only currently have them in our Queen/Queen and some King Room type. Kindly request during reservation for the time-being. Mini fridges are also available upon request. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back again at Civic Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Let's start with the elephant in the room... the hotel rooms have 'passive cooling' (aka no a/c). There I said it. If the ambient temperature is normal (below 80f / 30c) then all is good. If the temperature is high then it can get uncomfortable. The rooms are well designed, comfortable bedding, large shower, plenty of power outlets. Internet speeds are very impressive 300mb/s down and up! 3 minutes walk to SkyTrain. Breakfast and meals generally very good. All the staff I have encountered have been helpful. I will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: The room numbers ending 14 or 15 have a 180 panoramic view.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSA900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonie T, Director of Rooms at Civic Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear PSA900,
We greatly appreciate the time you took to review our property in regards to your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

The Good: Nice staff. New modern design. Restaurant onsite. Good food.

The Bad: No AC. Seriously!! It was horrible. It was miserable. The cheapest fan possible was their alternative and it was useless. Couldn't sleep or rest, just melt. Even roadside motels offer these basics. Two small complimentary bottles of warm water (because they do not supply any room fridges) come with the so called eco friendly sweat-box. Restaurant club- style music was so loud that twice the waitress couldn't hear us while taking our order. Turn it down, ya think? Meanwhile, someone's toddler was permitted to run around throughout, being played with/chased by their parent... while the rest of us came in to dine. Staff were clueless and did nothing, just stood around oblivious. Ruined any impression the food made.

The crowing glory... drove in one evening after dark and two drunks were in front of the entrance urinating all over the cement pavers. So gross. No security watching the front door. This is not a good area, yet they had no security watching out for their guests at the entrance. This is unacceptable.

There's a reason it costs less and why it doesn't face the street-life. A real shame. They could've been great, but they chose to cut out basics and they blew it. As the saying goes... You can put lipstick on a pig but it's still a pig... Never again.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawks77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonie T, Director of Rooms at Civic Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear Hawks77,
Our sincerest apologies for the sleepless stay you described during your most recent visit due to our passive cooling system. We take your concerns about the temperature seriously and are working towards stablizing our system. We do appreciate the positive feedback about the team and the Dominion Restaurant. At your convenience, please kindly reach out to me directly at Jonie.Tee@CivicHotel.ca to be able to discuss your stay in further detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Horrible stay. No Ac and very noisy. Staff cannot do anything about it. Rooms are nice and clean. Restaurant is luxurious but all that aside the overall experience is poor at best. You can hear the sky train and carsat proximity

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
2  Thank Grondin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonie T, Director of Rooms at Civic Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Grondin M,
I'm terribly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that we are working to improve our cooling system and your feedback is much appreciated. Should you wish to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at Jonie.Tee@CivicHotel.Ca. Again, sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Nice hotel but it is NOT air-conditioned. They are quick to tell you that they are "Eco-Friendly", which means they could care less about guests. DO NOT RECOMMEND. They offered up a noisy fan for the room that blew hot air around. Are you kidding me??? Worse yet is the arrogant response from staff. Don't consider cool.inbg off in the pool, it was closed.

Room Tip: Stay away!
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KenS2331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonie T, Director of Rooms at Civic Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Dear Ken S,
Sincerest apologies for the poor experience. I'm deeply saddened to hear about your impression about my colleagues. We do care about our guest experience, and would like to ensure you are heard with the concern you raised regarding the temperature in your guestroom during your stay. We take feedback constructively and are looking for ways to ensure we improve upon our hotel passive cooling system and services. May I invite you to reach out to me directly so I may be able to assist you internally? My email address is Jonie.Tee@CivicHotel.ca. I look forward to connecting. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews