We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swan Inn Chiddingfold
Ranked #2 of 5 Chiddingfold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth a trip”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Normally when in the area we tend to eat in Petworth; on this occasion we were meeting friends on their way to London and in a slight hurry. Id heard very mixed reviews in the past but we had a delicious Sunday meal and would highly recommend as a gastro pub. We didnt see the accomodation so this review is purely on the restaurant, but the vibe and feeling of the whole place was warm and welcoming. We will return.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    67
    31
    19
    10
See reviews for
51
105
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

From the outside it isn't much to look at. If you park in their car park the otherside of the Petworth Road, dodging the cars as they sweep round the bend is a serious challenge but it's worth it. The first step into the stylishly understated interior and you are reassured that you are in a serious eating establishment. I started with soused mackerel, it was pretty nigh perfect, firm, full of taste accompanied by a seasoned potato salad, all subtly herbed and beautifully presented. My wife kicked off with spiced carrot soup; the first spoonful confirmed that it tasted every bit as good as it looked, intense full of flavour. My main course was beef cheeks, tender, flavoursome and accompanied by a herbed dumpling all on a bed of baby carrots with mash and a thick reduction style sauce.The other entree was haddock fish cake topped with a poached egg. In fact the food was so good we even stopped speculating on the exotic couple irritatingly conversing on mobile phones who were seated nearby. Pudding was sticky toffee style with ice cream which we shared. My wife said she'd just have a taste as she couldn't eat any more. After the first mouthfull I was fighting her for my fair share, enough said. Two jumbo glasses of very palatable and reasonably priced Chardonnay and two of Merlot accompanied the meal. The bill came to £76 all included, what a bargain. The service was prompt and attentive but not intrusive, just as I like it. In my enthusiasm I left a tenner for service, my wife who normally thinks I overtip just beamed this time, praise enough.The Swan has someone seriously capable in the kitchen delivering top of the range pub food. It's an easy drive from Guildford and well worth the accolade of gastropub; even if it is an hotel. One more glass wine each and we'ed have included a hotel review!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcallcutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed at The Swan in November for a friends wedding nearby. We arrived mid evening to a lovely welcome and a table reserved for us already.

The food was was gorgeous and we shared a nice drop of Rioja with it too!

Its hard to find hotels in the country that arent donned with floral wallpapers, carpets and bedspreads so The Swan is a proper little gem if you seek a stylish, contemporary, calm but welcoming decor.

Would definately recommend staying here and we shall definately be visiting again soon!

Where we come from, we'd call The Swan Inn 'Cowin Lush'!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2012

What a fantastic place to stay - I usually stay in Goodwood but stayed here. The staff, the standards were excellent. I can't wait to go again. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Pleasant location. The room we had was nice enough, but nothing special. Dinner was good, with friendly and helpful service, but nothing to rave about. My overall impression was that this hotel was somewhat overpriced for what it had to offer, but this may be a function of its location and local pricing practices. We will not be rushing back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadwater_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiddingfold
4.6 km away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,047 reviews
9.5 km away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#3 of 4 in Godalming
246 reviews
6.0 km away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
12.0 km away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
443 reviews
14.4 km away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Inn Chiddingfold? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Inn Chiddingfold

Property: The Swan Inn Chiddingfold
Address: Petworth Road, Chiddingfold, Godalming GU8 4TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming > Chiddingfold
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chiddingfold
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,052 - ₹ 12,841
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Inn Chiddingfold 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Swan Inn Chiddingfold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Inn Chiddingfold Hotel Chiddingfold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing