We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and will surely be back.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laphroaig
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Excise House
Ranked #1 of 1 Laphroaig B&B and Inns
Halle, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We loved it and will surely be back.”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Old Excise house. The rooms were great and I especially liked the bath tube with a wonderful view towards Laphroaig. Ron and Emma were such friendly and helpful hosts. they helped us with making reservation in restaurants and in arranging tours at the destilleries and I'm still dreaming of their kippers for breakfast and the delicious muffins. Thank's again for making our vacation a special one.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikih76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
96
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I stayed at the Old Excise House in September 2010 and had a wonderful time. Ron & Emma are very helpful and provided wonderful service. The views from the room and across the street are breathtaking. I had been touring UK and Europe for the previous 2 weeks and this was a great rest. Breakfast was wonderful and I really enjoyed the black pudding. The purpose of my visit was to see some of the local Scotch Distilleries. Lagavulin, Laphroaig and Ardberg are all convenient (the others require transport to the other side of the island). I recommend a trip up the road to see the Kildalton High Cross as well. Should I be fortunate enough to return to Islay I will be sure to plan a stay at the Old Excise house.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaySunFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evergreen colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

This B&B is among the best we have experienced. Pristine and lovely decor, quiet, private, beautiful location and views, gourmet breakfast and homemade baked goods The Hosts, Emma and Ron Gaudie are very sophisticated, yet warm and friendly. We immediately felt at home. The guest rooms and breakfast/library room are privately located on the second floor and have wonderful space with newly remodeled bathrooms - perfect.
Walking distance to Lagavullin, Ardbeg and Laphroig distilleries makes it an ideal place for Scotch lovers, but Port Ellen itself is a nice harbor town.

An extra plus is that Ron is a golf Pro and is for hire to play a teaching round at the nearby Machrie Golf Club (Rated in the top 100). This property offers something for everyone! I hope we are able to return to the Isle of Islay. Be sure to book early, since accomodations on Islay are not that plentiful and this property is becoming known.)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank informant03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Me and my friend had 7-day Scotland trip in early June, and this was our first stop away from city. We were blown away by Emma and Ron's hospitality: cosy and spacious room, sumptuous breakfast, free wireless internet (we never had free WiFi later in our trip!), valuable advices about good restaurant, local whisky tour, etc., and most of all, our two days stay felt more like visiting a friend - always casual, relax, helpful yet with spotless services. I can see why they are always booked well in advance. I think I will visit beautiful Islay again sooner than I thought would be, and it's no brainer I will stay in their house again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webbyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

This is a beautiful, newly and tastefully refurbished home. Stunning views from the rooms. Excellent location near three favorite distilleries. It is necessary to have a car to take full advantage of whisky, golf, walks and sites. Ron and Emma are lovely hosts; very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindikbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laphroaig
18.0 km away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
36 reviews
18.2 km away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
261 reviews
1.7 km away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.6 km away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
284 reviews
15.9 km away
An Cuan
An Cuan
#11 of 13 in Bowmore
85 reviews
30.9 km away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Excise House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Excise House

Property: The Old Excise House
Address: Laphroaig PA42 7DS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Laphroaig
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Laphroaig
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,805
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed and Breakfast accommodation in former Excise Officers house for Laphroaig distillery, on the beautiful Hebridean Isle of Islay. Warm welcome, quality en-suite accommodation with fantastic sea views and good local food. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing