We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Cupids Legacy Center

Visited here this morning and it was fascinating. Anyone interested in Canadian history would love... read more

Reviewed 13 September 2018
dursley30
,
Waterville, Canada
via mobile
100% Worth the Visit

took a day trip here from Newfoundland and it was well worth it. We went to the Plantation... read more

Reviewed 4 September 2018
Emily M
via mobile
Read all 59 reviews
  
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
31
20
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
20
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dig site english settlement early settlers excellent presentation modern museum historical significance local crafts worth a visit union jack guided tour north america fairy garden book sale english speaking union flag plantation canada
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Visited here this morning and it was fascinating. Anyone interested in Canadian history would love this. After we went over to the archeological site where Tish, one of the diggers gave us a wonderful and very informative tour. The amount of artifacts that have been discovered in this first English settlement are astounding.

Thank dursley30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine G, Manager at Cupids Legacy Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

So glad you enjoyed your visit! I have spoken to Tish and passed along your compliment! Thanks for taking the time to review us - we appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

took a day trip here from Newfoundland and it was well worth it. We went to the Plantation Archaeology site first, and the tour guide was incredible. I have a background in history and archeaology and she was extremely informative and answered all my questions. The museum is larger than I thought it would be, and the displays inside are first class. This is a wonderful place for anyone interested in Canadian history to visit.

Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine G, Manager at Cupids Legacy Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Wow! Thank you so much! We strive and pride ourselves on providing our history in the most accurate and informative manner as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Had guided tour through small museum which a person could easily do on their own. I didn’t walk down to the Cove Plantation site which was down the street.

Thank cookieladyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

Stopped off en route and well worth it. Massive building which enables well laid out and presented resources and artefacts on the history and development of the area. DVD presentations started our tour round to which helpful interpreters added facts and interesting information. Very relaxed and personal. We were taken up to the 2nd floor to view the largest Union Flag in Canada and to the 3rd floor for magnificent views of the village and harbour. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were ever present and keen to engage.

1  Thank Lancastrians16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine G, Manager at Cupids Legacy Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Wow! Thank you so much for you kind words! I have passed along your review to our staff and we appreciate you taking the time to write such a glowing review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

While in St. John's we decided to drive up to Cupids to look around, there is a beautiful little inlet and harbor that has some fantastic views. The Legacy centre has a great display about the first English settlers to arrive in Canada, very informative and interesting. Very much worth seeing, just a short drive from St. John's.

Thank F2321GQdeanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine G, Manager at Cupids Legacy Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

So glad you stopped by!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

We decided to stop at the Cupids Legacy Centre while we were over that way ...it was very informative about Newfoundland history in Cupids and John Guy ..it had very interesting displays ...we thoroughly enjoyed it all ...the rooftop has a fairy garden which added to the fairy folklore in Cupids ...Everything we saw added to a good day in the area...

1  Thank milliemccabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

My husband and I are new to Newfoundland and decided to spend a day driving from St. John's to Bonavista, stopping along the way at any historical sites. Cupids was the highlight of our day! The staff at the centre and the plantation site were so friendly, welcoming, and informative and it was clear that they enjoyed their work. I will say that the acoustics were a little lacking with the audio-visual portion of the exhibit making it hard to hear, but our guide filled us in. I absolutely recommend visiting here and following it up with a tour of the archaeological site at the former plantation just down the road. It's such a unique part of our heritage and worth spending an hour or two learning about! Thanks for the wonderful morning!

1  Thank britriches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine G, Manager at Cupids Legacy Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thanks so much! I will take a look / listen to see what has changed and make any adjustments necessary! Enjoy your travels - and welcome to Newfoundland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Didn't visit the centre. Went to the Archaeology site and it was excellent! Tish took us around the site and was a wealth of knowledge. We learned so much!

Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine G, General Manager at Cupids Legacy Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thanks! We think so too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

This place is very interesting and presents the history of some of North America’s earliest settlement. Unfortunately it has awful accoustics and if you have any hearing issues it a problem.

Thank altun13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Great facility with friendly, proud happy people to tell you about their history. For such a small place its a wonderful facility. Toured the Legacy center, the Church ( original pipe organ ) and the graveyard 1812 oldest stone. While walking the Graveyard the Church curators can out to see if we were look for particular stone ( we weren't ) but they provided lots of history and insight. Lucky enough to have seen the Huge British Union Jack Flag flying

Thank CHIP G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews