We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lakeview Motel(Christina Lake)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 93
US$ 90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Victorian Motel and RV Park(Grand Forks)(Great Value!)
US$ 75
US$ 72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Motel(Grand Forks)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 88
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Western Traveller Motel(Grand Forks)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 99(Grand Forks)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 120
US$ 96
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rossland Motel(Rossland)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Alpina(Rossland)
US$ 68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland(Rossland)(Great Value!)
US$ 176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
8
9
2
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
9
2
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand forksice creamsuitelakeshadecamping
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

There were 5 of that stayed at the totem resort.The place was fairly clean. The owners/managers all seemed very friendly and helpful. They even allowed 3 of our family members that were camping in Grand Forks to come and shower .......very kind of them. Fair location......about a block or so to the beach one direction and a block or so the other direction to the ice cream/food stand. Overall a good experience. Oh one thin in suite # 3 the bathroom and one bedroom doorknobs need to be replaced lol cause you can get locked in as they are broken......found out the hard way ......lol.

Room Tip: The lower suites are a few steps from the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CloverdaleTravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Although the transformed house is near a tiny beach on Christina Lake, the quality of the property left lots to be desired. Yes, it was adequately clean but the mice went through one of our coolers and ate our crackers. The ceiling fans in every room were so out of their center that you couldn't sleep from the noise they made (and for fear they might take off). The small swimming pool was full of children ALL THE TIME and there was no shade around it for you to sit at least while you waited for the water to clear.
What was most alarming was that every single room in our upstairs apartment had no locks - that's right: all the lock buttons had been removed so that, when you were trying to get out of the bathroom or any of the bedrooms, you had to ask somebody to open the door from the outside. We ended up bringing knives into the rooms to use them as tools to turn the knobs. This unsafe transformation just added to the non-existent smoke alarm (there had been one but it had been removed and all there was left on the ceiling was the wires). I would have thought this to be against the law in any province. How often do these places get visited by an inspector?
We couldn't relate any of this to the proprietor because, although the neon sign on the front door said "OPEN", the door was always locked and nobody was at the front desk.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere or bring your camper.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Booked an RV site with power and water...was given a site we couldn't even fit in with only water, extremely hot day! Told we could go to another park! But she kept our deposit...very bad policy! Why guarantee you a spot that doesn't work at all for you! Not very well run! She really didn't care one way or another that we couldn't stay there!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank shineyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We stayed in Suite #3 from July 11-14, 2017

Good stuff: Large suite with full kitchen and 2 bedrooms (one of which we really did not need). Close to small public beach and a short drive to the provincial park and other activities.

Not so good stuff: The suite was large but was out of the way around the back of the building. The stairway to the second-floor suite was up the equivalent of 2 flights of stairs. The suite is above a large area where the sorting of cans and bottles for recycling happens -smelly and attracts bugs. The lights are not on when you come home after dark. There is a lack of parking. The RV park was very noisy early in the morning. There are people smoking in a garage area every morning and the smoke is wafting up the stairwell.

The suite had only a small window air conditioner in the living room and in the 34-degree heat, it was not adequate to cool the suite. There are ceiling fans in every room but they are from the 1970s and are noisy and wobbly. The suite was not well maintained. The cheap coffee maker was severely stained, Bedding is old and not comfortable. Complimentary coffee tasted terrible which was not enhanced by the past due coffee-mate powder. The TV was a flat screen all right but it only got channels 2- 13. Terry was not customer friendly. Each time I went to the office it was locked and no-one was there. There is a sign telling you to ring the doorbell. Terry shows up some time later and seems annoyed...

Although we will be back to Christina Lake we will not be returning to this accommodation!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodG601, Manager at Totem Motel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

This customer had a bad attitude the moment he walked into the office. He was not a happy person and I tried to honor him into holiday mode, to no avail. His wife was lovely! That's all I have to say about him and his stay. He was most unpleasant band at times rude.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We booked this resort for it's close proximity to the beach, and the heated pool. This was our big summer camping trip and we were all very excited to enjoy our 11 days at the lake, which we did. What we didn't enjoy was the rude and abrasive owner/ office manager. We were traveling with our two boys ages 12mo and 2 years and our senior dog, who, due the the nature of his breed, is very susceptible to heat stroke, therefore, we have a trailer with AC and knew we would be using it when the temperatures reached 28+. Our campsite was terrible, very open, very small, and very dirty. The bushes surrounding our campsite, were littered with garage, cans and empty bottles. What alarmed me the most where the large chunks of glass I found in the only area where my son could play with his toys. There is no green space for kids to play. The only green area I presumed suitable for play, was located right beside the park. The area was always unusable because they always had their sprinkler going, like Totem didn't want kids playing on it - I found it strange. Another main concern for me was the rolling brown out that happened to our site and our neighbors site multiple times a day. We needed the air conditioning for our dogs and most importantly our toddler and baby. I had asked my husband to kindly ask someone at the office to look into this matter. When he returned from the resort office he was visibly irradiated and rattled, which I don't see very often, due to his laid back and diplomatic nature. He told me that the lady operating the resort had basically told him "whatever" "deal with it" We were paying an ample amount of money for power; when my husband asked for a refund for the cost of power, she bull rushed him out of the office, and was never to be seen again. We were left with a very hot trailer, unsuitable for our children to nap or cool off in, defrosting food in our freezer and meat/cheese we had to throw out due to poor refrigeration temperatures.
On several occasions we were asked by wandering campers, if we had seen the office manager or owners, because they were trying to check-in; she was never around and the office was only open when she felt like it. Our neighbors were approached by a couple who were wondering when they were leaving, because they had their campsite booked for the long weekend. Our neighbors showed them their receipt with the dates reserved for them, which included the long weekend- The receipt was signed by the office manager. The couple had confirmation on the site as well, she had double booked that campsite!
We will never return to Totem, due to the run down nature of the camp resort, cleanliness, poor customer service and neglectful nature of their small campsites. There are several other resorts that I biked and ran through in this proximity, that where at a much higher standard then this slummy establishment.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Alfie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews