We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you're visiting Wells Gray Park, stay here.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Meadows Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpine Meadows Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you're visiting Wells Gray Park, stay here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Our rafting group (actually a bunch of middle-aged guys who aren't as young as we used to be) stayed here two nights prior to rafting the Clearwater River. The Resort was fabulous and exceeded our expectations. Sitting on its own lake surrounded by mountains, the views are stunning. The Resort even has its own little restaurant, which was extremely good. Frankly, we didn't think we would find such good food so far north of Vancouver. The Rooms (Chalets and Log Homes, actually) were wonderful, all with views of the lake. The staff went out of their way to make our stay special, even going so far as opening the restaurant early one day so that we could leave for Wells Gray Park early. We didn't have the chance to take advantage of the canoes that were just sitting there for our use (for free!), but next time we will. I certainly would stay here again, and likely will bring my family here one day.

Room Tip: If you can get one of the two Log Homes, do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Entrada_Regatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    81
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
114
194
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Very surprised at the lack of help with some of the staff. Lazy and in one case outright rude! First time I stayed it was great. Would not go back again. Truly astonished by the rude staff and unwilling to help. Regardless of the beautiful surroundings! You go into the tourism industry to help people have a great vacation. Many of the staff are in the wrong industry

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lookingglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed here for two nights to break up our drive from Whistler to Jasper. Initially looked at Kamloops for a stop off, but so glad we chose Clearwater. It's much more scenic and close to Wells Grey Park, which is beautiful. (Wasn't impressed with what we saw of Kamloops.)

Alpine Village is a true taste of Canadian wilderness. It's about 20 miles from the small town up a winding dirt track. You pass a few creepy looking farms on the way and literally are in the middle of nowhere! (The setting reminded me very much of films like Wrong Turn.) The resort is lovely -very peaceful and picturesque. Although we stayed in the peak of summer we barely saw anyone else there! The cabins are very spacious, but fairly basic. Our cabin was as close as they get to the lake, so had a fabulous uninterrupted view, however as the site is on a gradual slope, all cabins appeared to have lake views.

The food in the restaurant was nice, but there wasn't a great deal of choice and it was a little bit pricey with dated decor and style. There is an outdoor barbeque and play area, which is available to guests, with picnic benches and an indoor seating area.

The hot tub was fabulous, with amazing views out to the lake and mountains. It was never crowded and we always had the whole hot tub to ourselves. There are canoes available to take out on the lake free of charge and there was always plenty available. We also managed to spot a deer by the lakeside!

A real highlight of Alpine Village had to be the wolves, which could be heard on the mountain beside the lake at twilight each night and at dawn. It was quite eerie to hear them and sit and watch the mist rise on the lake and mountains after a summer downpour!

Night time was quite scary here, as it's pitch black, VERY remote and you can hear the echoes of the wolves howling across the mountains. It really is a cool place to stay for a couple of nights. I would highly recommend it.

EXTRA TIPS:
There is nowhere to buy food for miles around. We stopped in Kamloops on the way to buy food.
No phone reception but there is a phone in the cabin.
On a sunny day there are LOTS of midges.

Room Tip: all cabins looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmccu81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed town nights in a two bedroom cabin. Brilliant accommodation, lovely location, very calming and relaxing. We took canoes out on the lake and ate at the restaurant on one of our two nights. Great staff, good food, highly recommended.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PeterW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Thank you to everyone who put their comments on TA or we would never have found such a lovely place. We stayed two nights but could easily have stayed a week, it is the perfect place to relax and get back to nature. We stopped here between leaving The Rockies and making our way to The Okanagan. This place really is in the middle of nowhere and as stated previously stock up before you come on food etc as half an hour on a dirt track back to Clearwater would not be fun! We used the supermarket and liquor store in Clearwater before arriving, both of which had plenty of choice. Once you arrive at your cabin you will just want to stay and chill.

Unfortunately we did not see any bears but we had our fill of birds, deer and unfortunately many many mosquitoes - bring repellent in July!

We stayed in a lakefront luxury cabin which had one bedroom (smallish) with one chest of drawers, a walk in cupboard area on the way to the well appointed bathroom. Towels are provided but remember rooms are only serviced every three days. There was a huge open kitchen and lounge area with tables/chairs which was spacious and airy. The kitchen is fully equipped with lots of space, they really thought of everything. They even provide a box of board games!! Tea/Coffee is provided and you have the use of a satellite TV and free internet access. Our cabin had a balcony with sunbeds and table/chairs but we did not risk the rain or the mozzies.

Kayaks and boats (without battery) are free for guests to use and life jackets are available in various sizes. It is worth taking a trip out on the lake as it is so peaceful and you may get to see a beaver. The jacuzzi was huge and clean and had its own toilet/changing facility, very relaxing. There is a BBQ area in the middle of the resort but that is for corporate events, guests now use a newly created area further up the resort. Wood is provided for the BBQ pit and to use the gas BBQ you need to ask reception to switch on the gas and there is possibly a charge for this. The BBQ area also has an indoor/outdoor area to picnic in with toilets and a large outdoor games section and play park. We would have preferred our own BBQ next to the cabin. There are laundrette facilities.

We did not use the restaurant but staff at reception were very efficient and helpful - esp directions to the Little Fort ferry.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poker-Queen08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
16.1 km away
Wells Gray Inn
Wells Gray Inn
#3 of 8 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
16.7 km away
Clearwater Lodge
Clearwater Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
16.0 km away
Jasper Way Inn
Jasper Way Inn
#4 of 8 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 km away
Dutch Lake Motel and RV Campground
17.0 km away
Clearwater Valley Resort
Clearwater Valley Resort
#7 of 8 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
16.7 km away
Ace Western Motel
Ace Western Motel
#8 of 8 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Meadows Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Meadows Resort

Property: Alpine Meadows Resort
Address: 3400 Dunn Lake Road | P.O. Box 428, Clearwater, British Columbia V0E 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clearwater
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,606 - ₹ 22,195
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpine Meadows Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Alpine Meadows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Meadows Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing