We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT place for families with small children and family/friends reunion”
Review of Kokanee Chalets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crawford Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kokanee Chalets
Reviewed 9 July 2015

We stayed at the Kokanee Chalets July 1-5th 2015. This place is awesome! The chalets alone are clean, comfortable with lots of sleeping arrangements available. The staff is friendly and helpful, I felt that the they were invested in are over all happiness while staying there. The cleaning girls showed up every morning friendly and smiling.

We arrived at the chalets as a friends reunion with many small children. The lake and beach worked out great as the beach is sandy and shallow making it perfect for parents to relax and the little ones to have fun. We sat outside and chatted in the night and had no hassles from staff as Ive seen in other posts here. We respected noise volume they respected us and our children but I never felt as tho we had to whisper or anything.

We enjoyed are stay so much we have already booked for the end of this month and will be returning again summer 2016 with the same group for yet another reunion. My friends and I have been recommending this place since leaving and are very much looking forward to our return.

I should note for anyone staying at the chalets for the first time to bring a heavy(deet) bug spray. The family stuff just doesn't cut it for the amount bugs.

Thanks for the great stay Kokanee Chalets, see ya soon:)

Room Tip: Bring Bug Spray and a potable bbq in the event of a fire. the bbq on site can be hard to get a hold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Annie29_29_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokaneeCam, Public Relations Manager at Kokanee Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

We are happy that our facility was a hit for your family reunion! Good suggestion about the bug spray. Our forest area is so lush in the early summer that the mosquitos can be buzzing. A prepared camper is a happy camper!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2015 via mobile

What can I say....most rv parks have no trees. This rv park is so beautiful. Huge cedar trees, grass and a beautiful beach.
Deer walking though. Ducks in the wet land. Mountains you could look at for a long time. Owner of this property was really nice to us and we really enjoyed talking with him. Golf resort is close by. Which was great. We can not wait to bring the kids with us next time we come.
Oh and bring your bikes, biking around town and to the ferry was so much fun.
Love this rv resort!!! Thx

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokaneeCam, Public Relations Manager at Kokanee Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Thank you so much for writing a review. We are glad that you had an amazing time at our campground. Biking around here really is fun. :) See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2015

We Came here for 2 weeks the summer of 2014 and had such a wonderful time we decided before we left that we would be coming back next year. We have already made our reservations for the site and can hardly wait as we count down the days till holidays! Everybody is very Friendly and with the beaches close by and the park across the street this a very family friendly resort. We brought our 2.5 year old son with us last year and can not wait to bring our twin baby boys this year to experience what will hopefully be our family summer vacation spot for many years to come!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokaneeCam, Public Relations Manager at Kokanee Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

So glad you had a good time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had two cabins and three campsites booked here ranging from 5 days to two weeks. We stayed in an A Frame Cabin and it was fine - not great, not awful. We found the cabins too close together; if we needed 6 cabins it would have been perfect but we only had two and found that we had no privacy from the four cabins next to us and the campsites were across the campground - not a great arrangement for a family reunion. We all appreciated their dog friendly cabins and the quietness of the facilities. Our cabin was fine but again not great- the dishes and pots and pans were sparse and very old and tired. Don't come here with plans to cook meals - just the basics. The fridge is a bar fridge so we had coolers that we constantly filled with ice. It was really great that they have daily cleaning service which we used every second day. There are no views and a 10 minute walk to the beach. The owners are very friendly, wifi is slow (as other review have indicated). Overall - good place for family reunions but not really much else. We suggest you bring your own BBQ and camp stoves and even perhaps a gas fired / propane fire pit a a campfire ban was in place.

Room Tip: If you are only booking one cabin, ask that you be away from large family bookings otherwise you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pate63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokaneeCam, Public Relations Manager at Kokanee Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2015

Yes we are definitely a rustic resort off the beaten trail! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We will get to work on replacing the "Tired, old," kitchen amenities so that you find your stay more enjoyable in the future. Thank you for your review and for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a lovely spot right on the main road and a short drive from the beach. The cabins are scattered under giant shade trees. My extended family reunion returned here for the August long weekend. There were two other family reunions there as well, but there were no obvious problems as the place was easy to share with more than one firepit area and a campground on-site for those who prefer that style of holiday.

My daughter and I and her dog really enjoyed our A-frame cabin. It was spacious and fairly well-equipped. The bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated and featured a lovely large shower. My daughter used the bedroom on the main floor while I had one of the two upstairs under the pitched room. The open stairs are narrow and a bit tricky to negotiate, but I managed even though I am well into my senior years. We thought it might be hot for sleeping but it was very pleasant. The wifi wasn't the best, but it worked most of the time. Our only real complaint was that the oven in the stove wasn't working, and we weren't made aware of the problem until we went to use it. I was able to use the oven in another family member's cabin, but, if we had been alone, it would have been a problem.

Room Tip: If highway noise is a problem, ask for a unit away from the main road. Book very early for summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquamaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokaneeCam, Public Relations Manager at Kokanee Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2015

So sorry to hear about the oven! We will do our best to ensure that all appliances are in excellent working condition for all of our guests. Thank you so much for your review and for visiting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kokanee Chalets? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokanee Chalets

Address: 15981 Highway 3A Crawford Bay BC V0B 1E0 Canada | Kootenay Lake, Crawford Bay, British Columbia, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Crawford Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Crawford Bay
Price Range: ₹ 1,071 - ₹ 8,669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just any Kootenay Lake Hotel! Our family friendly resort offers cabins, guest rooms, and a full campground.Our beautiful and rustic paradise is nestled in a cedar forest. We offer cabins, hotel rooms and serviced RV / camping sites. Kokanee Chalets is the ideal place for your holiday, golf vacation or family reunion. Check out our wonderful community of Crawford Bay and our local events! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing