We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So awesome”
other travellers have booked this property
relax in your private  hot tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
relax in your private  hot tub
beach puppy comfort and luxury
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
relax in your private  hot tub
beach puppy
comfort and luxury
incredible sunsets
gorgeous gardens
snow capped mountains
all the mod cons
moonlit night
float planes to watch
beautiful ammenities
beautiful summer views
pets are ALWAYS welcome
spring on the Coast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carsten K
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
“So awesome”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This place is a hidden gem. Wow.
The owners are so friendly and helpful.. the view is amazing and the suite is spacious and clean.

Highly, highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: Cant think of anything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annabelle...
Richmond, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Dogs' Vacation Spot”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in March 2014

It was March 2014 and our dogs were in much of a break as were we. Have you ever had to try and find dog-friendly accommodation in BC without a list of restrictions? Well look no more. You have found it. Our hosts made it abundantly clear that this was a place we could relax and not worry about the dogs. From the moment we made the booking through our entire stay, we were able to truly not concern ourselves about the dogs and just let them be. Everything was thought of. The kitchenette was stocked with people and doggie treats upon our arrival, and everything was thought of from doggie towels to bowls to appropriately selected furniture and furnishings that are pet friendly for those who allow dogs on the furniture at home. Whenever we went out it was always "no problem" and we were encouraged by Ian and Mary to leave the dogs in the suite at night, unlike most places that don't allow you to leave them unattended.

For us the bed was comfy and we loved having a kitchen to make most of our meals. Breakfast was always made with fresh ingredients and beautifully presented with fruits and colourful plates. The croissants were so French and our favourite. Light and flakey, the way they should be, with homemade preserves on the side.

The unit itself is large and bright with plenty of room to move around, It has everything you need with unobstructed views of the water and easy access to the beach. The only recommendation we have is the ability to open at least one window. The only option is the sliding door and we didn't feel as comfortable leaving that open during the night for fear of a critter or two seeking shelter from the rain. Some sort of ventilation is also recommended, as the windows steamed up quite a bit when cooking or having been closed during the night.

The beach is rocky and, depending on how far the tide is out, can be filled with shellfish making it difficult on the pads of the dogs' paws. Although we had great walks, it's not the best terrain for the pooches. All of the sunshine coast is pretty much like this. We recommend hiking in trails and finding a lake-like beach a better choice for water-side activities. Ask Ian and Mary for recommendation. They know the area well and are full of information that will help you navigate the best options for you and your pets.

Our hosts were gracious, quiet, respectful and friendly - important traits of those who operate B&Bs. They made us feel welcome and we would return with no hesitation.

The trip was a good get-away and we look forward to seeing Mary and Ian again.

A and K, Penny and Parket

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for the great feed back. We are always thrilled to hear from our guests. Interestingly, Ian and I were just talking the other day about switching out one of the main windows to an opening unit, and now I'm thinking likely the kitchen window also. Your opinion is very important to us and this has cinched our decision to do just that. We're so pleased that you found us so dog friendly, as that is the most important aspect of our business. The folks that come without dogs, seem to need to apologize, which of course is totally unnecessary! We do love our canine visitors though! Thanks again for your vote of confidence.

Mary and Ian Winn
Marian's On the Coast Seaside Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May L
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hidden gem of serenity. ..”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Me and my husband and 2 dogs came here and think we've found a piece of heaven! !! It was so relaxing and Mary and Ian were soooo friendly and accommodating to our dietary needs. .. thanks for making our birthaversary truly amazing!!! We'll be back soon!!!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christie...
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
“Girlfriends weekend away”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

April was the month we stayed with Mary and Ian and you know what they say about the showers bringing May flowers. Well, it rained most of our entire weekend, however, our spirits were not dampened as we had the most wonderful view of the ocean from our very cozy suite. We were serenaded by what sounded like hundreds of frogs from the relaxing comfort of the hot tub in the evening. We were able to relax and unwind in absolute serenity. Mary and Ian are very friendly and extremely willing to help with any questions about the Gibsons area IE: places to eat, shop, indulge in massage. We were served the most amazing right out of the oven croissants with local preserves and fresh fruit for breakfast. Although I was keen on checking out the area via kayak, this was not happening this time of year so I have full intentions of revisiting Mary and Ian to get the full tour. I definitely will recommend this B&B to everyone I know. Thanks again Mary and Ian for making us feel welcome.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanchia W
1 review
“Great place!! Mary and Ian are lovely people!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I stumbled onto Mary and Ian's place when my friend and I were looking for a quiet place that is dog freindly to get away for a couple of days. We were very happy to have found this place. Not only did my dog get to stay free, they love dogs. They made us felt so welcomed right from the start, I definitely recommend this place. It is on a beautiful property right by the water with beach access. The place is very quiet and peaceful and yet it is a very short drive from the ferry and a short drive into town should one needs anything. And her baked goods! Yummy!! I will definitely recommend this place. You will love it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing