We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection.”
Review of Al Forno

Al Forno
Ranked #3 of 110 Restaurants in Takapuna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Al Forno Italian Restaurant in Auckland serves traditional Italian dishes along with a excellent selection of wine, beer and non alcoholic beverages.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Al Forno is a favourite of our family.
Stunning atmosphere including a view of the pizza chef at work.
There’s a dish for every mood, craving or occasion.
The service is excellent - professional yet welcoming. You’re never left waiting for service but never feel rushed either. Wide variety of drinks (cocktails too!), beautiful desserts (if you can make it past the generous portions of the main course).
Bookings are essential.
Great for family, friends or a romantic dinner - this place has it all.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank tabs_leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had made a booking for 6.30pm on a Wednesday night, everything was going well...(food was delicious), until we were told at 7.40pm as the bill was put on the table that the table was rebooked and we would need to be gone within 10 minutes!
To say we were shocked is an understatement, we had not been forewarned when making the booking or on our arrival, an abrupt end to what was to be catch up with friends, with little more time than to get and eat the meal there wasn't much time left to catch up. Disappointing end to what would have been a great night.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cherie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfornotakapuna, Owner at Al Forno, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Cherie, thanks for the review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your meals and the service. It’s disappointing to hear you were not made aware of a dining time limit on your table. I’ve taken a look at your booking and can see this was absolutely our mistake. Its always our goal to have customers enjoy their time with us from start to finish so we apologies that we let you down. Please pass on to your friends our genuine apologies. I will remind the team how important it is to pass on any dining time limits during the booking process. Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again. Grazie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My father is Italian and was looking for a nice meal with Al dente pasta and was very very happy to find Al Forno

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Mika_and_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Lovely Italian meal and enjoyed the friendly staff. They were very helpful with gluten free options for my daughter. Very accommodating. A busy little place, so you need to book but it seems to always be busy which is a sign that they are a good restaurant. Authentic staff. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LindaGuirey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

First of all, ignore the very few negative reviews of this restaurant and go try it for yourself if you haven't already. They say that when someone has a bad experience they tell 10 ppl or more but if someone has a good experience they often don't bother with leaving a review or telling people. Proof - I've been to Al Forno many times and LOVED IT each time and this is the first time I'm writing a review. Also you can tell it's good because over 150 people have left exceptional reviews and less than 10 negative reviews and going by the rule mentioned above, that is proof that this is a really good restaurant!

Never been disappointed by AL Forno. When we go out for special occasions we want to go somewhere we know is exceptional so we go to Al Forno! Cause we know it's going to be really good :)

The pastas and pizzas are really good :) which is obvious since it's an Italian place that I'm pretty sure makes the pastas there because they are so good!!!! (not at all like the supermarket stuff some Italian places give you)

But last night felt like venturing something new from the main menu and so I tried the veal scallapione with a wine sauce that starts with M (can't remember the name) and it was soooooo good! Husband had the lasagne which melted in your mouth! So delicious!

My husband asked for a special dessert for my birthday so they wrote happy birthday on a plate with chocolate sauce and the waitor and my husband (and some othet customerd) sang happy birthday. There was a candle in the gelato! Never had a candle in gelato before so sth special !

Service is really good too :)

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 191lici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Forno also viewed

Takapuna, North Shore
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Takapuna, North Shore
 
Takapuna, North Shore
Takapuna, North Shore
 

Been to Al Forno? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing