We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostel in a pretty village”
Review of Fireweed Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Field
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fireweed Hostel
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We only stayed here for one night in a room with two sets of bunks. The place is spotless and nicely decorated and furnished--a step up from the usual hostel. The kitchen is excellent and even has children's crockery and cutlery, coffee presses and anything else you could want! It is a small and very friendly hostel run by very welcoming people. The only problem was from the train noise in the night. It only woke one of us and could be dealt with by earplugs. The room was also very small meaning that we struggled to find space for baggage for all of our family. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Fireweed Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

Of all the parks in Canada my favorite was Yoho, and one of the best experiences was spending the evening in the town of Field. Great dinner at the pub and then a great evening in the cleanest and most comfortable hostels I've ever been in the world. In fact, I think it is much better than most of the hotels I've ever stayed. It's so clean you could eat from the floor.
Excellent stay! Very convenient for families who look for quiet, cozy places to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nurviaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Warm, friendly home away from home. This place is not your average hostel. Owners Craig and Kim have put a heap of effort into making this place a fantastic place to stay in the rockies. Craig is extremely understanding of a hikers needs. He offered a place to dry off tents and hiking gear before we even asked. The Kitchen is well appointed and the lounge area is the perfect place to chill out and unwind from your day hikes or a multi-day hikes. HIGHLY recommended for hikers and non-hikers alike.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This place is immaculate! Kim and Craig are very helpful hosts, they don't live on the property but they must live close by. If you need anything during your stay, just use the walkie talkie and one of them will show up in 2 minutes. This is shoes-off hostel, the rooms are upstairs and living / dining area and kitchen are on the main floor. Parking is around the corner of the building. We stayed in a 4 bunk bed room and there are 2 bathrooms and 2 showers shared between 2 room?! something like that. There's also a half bathroom in the main living area. Everything is super clean and kitchen has all the necessary tools to have a good home cooked meal. Buy your groceries before you get to Field, the grocery store there is tiny! The trains didn't really bother me, actually didn't even noticed them during our 2 night stay. But if you need ear plugs, just ask the hosts. It is a bit pricy for a hostel, but everything around Banff and Lake Louise is pricy, so this is probably your best bet if you are looking to save monies. We did the Iceline hike while in Yoho and it's got superb views, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silly_traveler_hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Three of us had been struggling to find economical accommodation near Lake Louise and were put off my the chaos and noise of the Lake Louise hostel. We took a chance at the Fireweed and were very impressed with this small, modern hostel. It is not a backpackers hostel but caters to families or travelers who value a quiet, well run hostel rather than a place "in the middle of the action".
Fireweed's main floor consists of a modern kitchen, outdoor patio, dining area and sitting space. Upstairs are four rooms with bunks. Downstairs feels like you are a guest at someone's house. Upstairs has two modern bathrooms/showers. The disadvantage is that if you are not a party of 4 or 5 you may have to share the room with a stranger.
We loved Field and will stay at this hostel again - it is close to all the best hiking in Yoho National Park.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the railway tracks and if you don't find trains romantic you might want to book...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria-Enrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
21.9 km away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,397 reviews
19.5 km away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,723 reviews
10.8 km away
The Great Divide Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Emerald Lake Lodge
19.0 km away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
4.7 km away
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireweed Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireweed Hostel

Address: 313 Stephen Avenue, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Field
Price Range: ₹ 1,310 - ₹ 8,122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style hostel, new in February 2007. High quality accommodation in the Canadian Rockies, hostel is located in the town of Field, Yoho National Park and has is central to the four national mountain parks, Banff, Jasper, Kootenay and Yoho. Close to amazing sights and year round activities and has direct access to many classic hikes (including the Burgess Shale fossil beds) and cross-country ski trails. Private and shared accommodation, living room with wood burning fireplace, self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing