We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Great Divide Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Field
Bolton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful time!”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

What a wonderful time we had in February 2012. We had a suite as well as a room with a double bed and a twin bed. Family and friends and in all seven in our party. We mixed it up and while we did not all ski/snowboard everyday nor eat at the lodge everyday, we were able to pay for just the services we used at discount prices. The food was outstanding and staff very friendly and pleasant. They even had a pig roast and bonfire on the Saturday night! The rooms were very basic and no frills but clean and confy. No hairdryer, clock or phones. We managed just great. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    52
    42
    34
    31
See reviews for
50
84
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Some friends and I booked a room for the stay and ski deal, and while the rooms were decent enough for what we were paying, we had nothing but trouble with the service and management. We were misinformed about the number of beds in our room when we booked, and our shuttle ride back from the ski hill left about 20 minutes early and so we were stuck without a way back. The hotel management refused to help us out in any way, they basically blew us off when we talked to them about this.

Long story short, if you're under 30 don't bother staying here, because you will not receive any respect here. If you don't mind a lack of service however, the price is pretty good for the stay and ski deal.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Field hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We booked this because of an advertisement we saw at the Lake Louise Ski hill. It was for a stay and ski for $89. When we called we were told they had sold out of the $89 rooms and could only give us a $99 room. When we got there, only one other couple was staying at the lodge and checked out the following morning.
When we came back from skiing we asked what the difference was between the $89 rooms and the $99 rooms and was told that the more expensive one had hardwood floors and a bigger tv, the cheaper room had carpet but everything else was the same. We were told the bathrooms were renovated, but it looked like it was from the 1970's and there were chips in everything. So we asked if we could have the $89 package because no one else was there and we were told that the $89 rooms were unavailable because they were being renovated.

We asked to have the difference of the money back from the room for our stay and they agreed to do it for one night and then said they would move us to the cheaper room which was apparently available now. They gave us a new key and told us we could move after dinner. While we were having dinner they came and told us they would let us stay in the room we were in and just give our money back for one night.

While at dinner the manager was in and our talking to staff about signing for something and the staff were talking about how it was unfair and they were being ripped off, which i thought it was unprofessional for the manager to be discussing this and creating arguments in front of paying guests.

One of the staff was very unfriendly and rude, and one was very apologetic and trying to do everything she could to help us. There were staff complaining about other staff and it was a very unwelcoming environment.

While it is good value to stay for about $20 per person per night as buying a lift ticket is $80 on the hill, i feel like i got screwed over by this place and would much prefer to spend the extra money to stay in a much better hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penpen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parabiago, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This lodge is a good compromise if you are looking for a budget accommodation located about 15 km on the highway from extremely touristic (and expensive) Lake Louise. Rooms are no frills and very basic, but clean; bathroom had "pea green" washbasin and bath tub (somewhat 70's fashioned!) but water was hot. We did not eat at the lodge restaurant as we preferred to have breakfast on our room balcony overlooking the mountain and the lake on the parking/highway opposite side. Staff was friendly and helpful when we had a problem with our key. In the reception area there are two computers with internet connection you can use for free. On the whole, a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldcitizen31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is the perfect ski lodge. Within a couple of hours drive of 6 major ski clubs.
It is located in the remote Yoho National Park. The beauty and tranquility of the mountains surround you. Sandy and Cathy are the perfect hosts, ensuring your stay is friendly and comfortable.

Room Tip: Request a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
10.2 km away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,635 reviews
12.2 km away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,321 reviews
9.7 km away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,661 reviews
6.2 km away
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
11.1 km away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Divide Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Divide Lodge

Property: The Great Divide Lodge
Address: Hwy 1 - 14 km (9 mi) W of Lk Louise | Yoho National Park, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia, Canada (Formerly West Louise Lodge)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Field
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great Divide Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Kicking Horse Pass and Continental Divide in the heart of the Canadian Rockies. We are the gateway to 3 of Canada’s national parks and over look Wapta Lake on the British Columbia side of the majestic Canadian Rockies. We're just 10 minutes from the world class skiing and snowboarding at Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Great Divide Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Divide Hotel Field
West Louise Hotel
West Louise Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing