We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachside Garden B & B
Ranked #1 of 8 Ladysmith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We recently had only one night at Beachside B&B, our last stop before heading back to Australia. This was the perfect spot to wind up a wonderful holiday. Hosts Warren and Verna have created a special place to stay just outside Naniamo. If you are looking for peace, with water at your doorstep and views to the hills, this is a wonderful setting just a little away from the ferry terminals and off the main highway. Our room was lovely; the outside garden leading down to the water was the highlight, along with a fantastic breakfast, sitting on the patio. This is a quality B&B, which we would highly recommend. We were the 1st Aussies to stay here and we hope there will now be more. PS loved seeing a wild mink.
Jane and Joe

Room Tip: We stayed in the front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Thank you so much for your fantastic review, our first and most delightful Aussie guests. We are extremely happy that you included us in your holiday, and that you have enjoyed our accommodation, breakfast and the spectacular view. We are truly thankful to have met you, and we look forward to seeing you again and some of your Aussie friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 347 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

The hosts Warren and Verna were warm and welcoming. The accomodations were quaint with stylish flair. The food was 4 star quality. You did not have to wait for your first cup of coffee of the day. The weather was grand to see the panaramic vista in their back yard while sipping juice. I would recommend this hideaway to anyone wanting peace tranquility and pleasant conversation. It is a bit out of the way to get there but worth the extra 15minutes off the highway. I will ge going again!

Room Tip: middle room is the smaller of the 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

It's a real pleasure meeting you, and we have enjoyed your pleasant conversation and company tremendously. Thank you so much for your compliments regarding our accommodation, breakfasts, the tranquil ground and panoramic view. Our sincere gratitude to you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to give us a wonderful review. We are certainly looming forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Newly built and of highest quality construction, this B&B is appended to one side of a mansionlike home, with 3 guest rooms staggered so each has a glimpse of the sea. Best view is from the outdoor patio, where breakfast is served looking out at distant islands--a most pleasant setting. Hostess Verna makes an amazingly airy baked French toast with berries and provides excellent maps to good neighborhood restaurants.
HANDICAP / ELDERS TIP: Verna is an occupational therapist and has seen to it that the premises and one guest room are fully wheelchair accessible with low threshold ramps and wide doors, and portable grab bars and tub/shower transfer seat are available as needed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seasonedtraveler067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

When we designed the B&B, we took the opportunity to make it barrier free (wheelchair accessible). This feature, together with a few pieces of adaptive equipment, have met the needs of some of our guests. We are more than happy to provide this service. Thank you so much for pointing this out in your very kind and generous review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the spectacular ocean view and our breakfasts. We deeply appreciate your company and conversation. We look forward to seeing you next time you are on our beautiful Vancouver Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

A fantastic location with gorgeous views, beautiful gardens, quiet and scerene, wonderful hospitality, excellent food and great accomodations. The rooms are large and tastefuly decorated and very quiet. You can even arrive by boat. Verna and Warren are very gracious hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firstmatemarigig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you so much for this all inclusive and fantastic review. There isn't a thing you have missed. It is very kind and thoughtful of you. We are truly honored.
We were delighted to welcome you ashore and listened to some of your boating adventure. We thoroughly enjoyed your company. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your sailing this way again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We happened upon the Beachside Gardens as we were driving north along the beautiful coastline of Vancouver Island ... and we were in for the most delightful surprise of our trip! Verna and Warren welcomed us as old friends into their home and BandB, and we were delighted to discover that their gorgeous beachfront property is nestled at the tip of the Ladysmith peninsula with vistas of the islands and beautiful bay. At one point while chatting with our hosts, Warren handed me binoculars just as a bald eagle was sweeping into the water to fetch a fish that he carried back up to his nest in the trees beyond their home. Once-in-a-lifetime! Breakfast was wonderful. We even had fabulous weather. We were only sad that we could not have stayed longer as this was the BEST! I recommend the Beachside Garden to any and all who seek a brief respite from the worries of the world.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren and Vern... D, Owner at Beachside Garden B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Watching a bald eagle swoops down on its prey is an exhilarating experience. We are so happy that you witnessed it. We were real glad that you ventured off the highway to discover us. Thank you so much for deciding to stay. You are one of the most delightful people we have met. We enjoyed your company and we deeply appreciate your kind review. We hope to see you again next time you come explore Vancouver Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladysmith
7.6 km away
Kiwi Cove Lodge
Kiwi Cove Lodge
#1 of 1 in Ladysmith
89 reviews
23.6 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,496 reviews
8.9 km away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.0 km away
Best Western Northgate Inn
3.0 km away
Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast
130.4 km away
A Snug Harbour Inn
A Snug Harbour Inn
#1 of 30 in Ucluelet
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Garden B & B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Garden B & B

Address: 3788 Fearn Way, Ladysmith, British Columbia V9G 1K7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ladysmith
Price Range: ₹ 9,439 - ₹ 9,700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachside Garden B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Travellers' Choice 2014 Winner......Walk-on beach oceanfront luxury home with spectacular ocean view and an acre of exquisite ornamental garden, our B&B is custom built with your comfort in mind, and is wheelchair accessible. It is located in beautiful Yellow Point area, on the east side of Ladysmith Harbor. Elegantly decorated, each room has ocean view, queen bed, private en-suite, TV, air-conditioning and WiFi Internet. This is paradise for scuba-divers, kayakers, swimmers, sunbathers and gardeners. A place to relax and to rejuvenate. We pamper you with scrumptious breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing