We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place To Be.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1826 Maplebird House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 26 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. Susie & Barry make you feel vary welcome. Breakfast was great as well. Anything you want to know about Lunenburg, Ask Barry.
If It happens to be raining, Settle down in the reading room with a book. It will probably turn into a nap. Its that sort of comfortable place.

Room Tip: They are all comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harleybick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

On the recommendation of the local "tourist information office," we found this charming home to be more than we could have hoped for. The hosts, Barry and Susie, were very welcoming and offered helpful suggestions about local sites. The weather was rainy on our first day so we spent a little time sightseeing as well as resting and enjoying the home. It is beautifully decorated - the architectural details are flawless. The home is well appointed and CLEAN. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. The location is well within the downtown area and within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, the waterfront, and other entertainment options. We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: WE took the last room available, and looking at the website, it was just as nice as any of the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rome_GANomadAtHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We recently stayed at this delightful B & B in Lunenburg, Nova Scotia. A beautiful old home and Susie and Barry were wonderful hosts. They prepared a wonderful breakfast for us and gave us detailed maps and instructions to explore the town and surroundings. What an interesting town!!!
Lovely old home with gorgeous furniture. Short walk to all the sites!! If you're going to visit this UNESCO World Heritage Site, then you must stay in a B & B like the Maplebird House. I'm certainly glad that we did!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We read all the reviews and weren't sure where to stay, but we were happy that we chose this B & B. The hosts were convivial, and we loved meeting some of the other guests. Because Lunenburg is on a hill, there are three rooms on the ground floor ( so you so not have to carry suitcases upstairs), but the view from our room was above that level at the back. The breakfast room is down a flight and there is a porch off the back. They have a lovely looking pool but it was still too cold for us to take a dip. This place is conveniently located within easy walking distance of the whole town. Breakfast both days was tasty: fruit,waffles,eggs and bacon one day and fruit crepes, sausage and croissants the second day. The sitting room was small but comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davetnr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Maplebird is a delightful, cozy B&B. Within easy walking distance to Fisheries Museum, waterfront, shops and good restaurants. Our friendly, knowledgeable hosts, Susie and Barry provided great breakfasts including bowls of fresh fruits, yogurt, and freshly baked treats (scones, muffins, French toast) along with good conversation. The big porch overlooking the lawn, gardens, harbor and hills beyond was a relaxing place in the evenings. Our room was quiet, pleasant, and comfortable with good closet space and nice ensuite bathroom with plenty of towels. We spent two nights here and look forward to returning for another visit with more time to explore the interesting architecture of the town. Eleanor & Clint, Downeast Maine

Room Tip: We had Room 3, a very pleasant room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebjohnson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 km away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
282 reviews
0.4 km away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
348 reviews
0.2 km away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Brigantine Inn
Brigantine Inn
#14 of 26 in Lunenburg
104 reviews
0.3 km away
Spinnaker Inn
Spinnaker Inn
#16 of 26 in Lunenburg
76 reviews
1.3 km away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1826 Maplebird House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1826 Maplebird House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 36 Pelham Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia BOJ 2CO, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range: ₹ 4,853 - ₹ 5,874 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored heritage home (circa 1826), once used as a dairy farm, sits in a large garden with swimming pool, patio and verandah overlooking Lunenburg harbour and golf course. Within Lunenburg's Old Town UNESCO World Heritage Site. 4 queen rooms all with ensuite bathrooms. Fireplace, high speed wireless internet access, TV/DVD/CD, books and games in guests' living room. Full breakfast. Off street parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1826 Maplebird House Bed & Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing