We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
63
7
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
7
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

On the recommendation of the local "tourist information office," we found this charming home to be more than we could have hoped for. The hosts, Barry and Susie, were very welcoming and offered helpful suggestions about local sites. The weather was rainy on our first day so we spent a little time sightseeing as well as resting and enjoying the home. It is beautifully decorated - the architectural details are flawless. The home is well appointed and CLEAN. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. The location is well within the downtown area and within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, the waterfront, and other entertainment options. We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: WE took the last room available, and looking at the website, it was just as nice as any of the other 3 rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rome_GANomadAtHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We recently stayed at this delightful B & B in Lunenburg, Nova Scotia. A beautiful old home and Susie and Barry were wonderful hosts. They prepared a wonderful breakfast for us and gave us detailed maps and instructions to explore the town and surroundings. What an interesting town!!!
Lovely old home with gorgeous furniture. Short walk to all the sites!! If you're going to visit this UNESCO World Heritage Site, then you must stay in a B & B like the Maplebird House. I'm certainly glad that we did!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We read all the reviews and weren't sure where to stay, but we were happy that we chose this B & B. The hosts were convivial, and we loved meeting some of the other guests. Because Lunenburg is on a hill, there are three rooms on the ground floor ( so you so not have to carry suitcases upstairs), but the view from our room was above that level at the back. The breakfast room is down a flight and there is a porch off the back. They have a lovely looking pool but it was still too cold for us to take a dip. This place is conveniently located within easy walking distance of the whole town. Breakfast both days was tasty: fruit,waffles,eggs and bacon one day and fruit crepes, sausage and croissants the second day. The sitting room was small but comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davetnr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Maplebird is a delightful, cozy B&B. Within easy walking distance to Fisheries Museum, waterfront, shops and good restaurants. Our friendly, knowledgeable hosts, Susie and Barry provided great breakfasts including bowls of fresh fruits, yogurt, and freshly baked treats (scones, muffins, French toast) along with good conversation. The big porch overlooking the lawn, gardens, harbor and hills beyond was a relaxing place in the evenings. Our room was quiet, pleasant, and comfortable with good closet space and nice ensuite bathroom with plenty of towels. We spent two nights here and look forward to returning for another visit with more time to explore the interesting architecture of the town. Eleanor & Clint, Downeast Maine

Room Tip: We had Room 3, a very pleasant room
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebjohnson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We can only recommend this B&B. The house is very nice and authentic and so are the hosts. Not to forget the town where it is located. Breakfast was outstanding. Unfortunately it was too cold to use the swimming pool.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews