We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro feel”
Review of Hotel Belle Plage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Belle Plage
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Matane
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Check-in was easy.
Lobby is full of marine artefacts and wooden furniture
King bed was firm and confortable
Decor in the room is from the 70s and very clean.
Food was amazing and fresh. The fumoir specialty items is a must try; smoked salmon, trout, shrimp and scallops.
Service was great and welcoming. They went above and beyond our expectations; it was a rainy and humid day and we asked if it was possible to have a fire in the lobby fireplace and in less than 10 minutes we were toasty and warm.
Outside, there are swings, picnic tables, shuffle board and a beach. You can walk on the beach.

Boyfriend missed coffee maker in the room.
During the day, there is construction near by and we could hear trucks backing up which is not management fault.
The view from our room was the fleuve but mostly the ferryboat port.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bigspender789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2017

We stayed in the Motel across the street from the Main Hotel. Our view was of the parking lot, but the room was large and had everything we needed. From reviews we read, we thought the accommodation would be average and that the dinner at the attached restaurant was going to be extraordinary. The opposite was true, the accommodation far exceeded our expectations but we were underwhelmed by the restaurant. The menu was dated, and needed something new with more flavour. My husband had the shrimp as an appetizer and was disappointed to see it was small salad shrimp in a mayo based sauce. We both had the cod, mine was served with a lemon drizzle and my husband’s was served with a tomato salsa. The food was not bad but it was not what we expected after reading all the reviews. The dining room was very dated but saying that the view of the river was fantastic

Room Tip: Motel room was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BywaterPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We stopped to sleep here before an early morning ferry crossing. Room are very average, clean but very outdated and, unfortunately, you can hear you neighbors. However, you have a great view of the St-Lawrence. Friends had recommended that we try the restaurant - very good recommendation. The food was very tasty, and well presented. Good wine selection. Not cheap, but worth it. They also have a variety of smoked fish. Not my cup of tea, but my wife liked them.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel d D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Booked in for night travelling from Baie Comeau to Matane on a motorcycle trip. Ferry arrived at 8:30 PM, but motel advised restaurant would accommodate us on arrival (normally closes at PM) We checked in a restaurant was fully seated, advised to take our time, but we would accommodated. Offered A meal package on check-in, but we declined, my advisers take it the package. It included a four corse supper and breakfast the next day. We opted for a la carte since we were so late in the evening. The food here is 5*, portions were filling, cooked to perfection, ( I had the fillet Mignon, it was perfect). I hate to order steak as it is normally overdone, this was awesome. Wife had seafood chowder, it was amazing. Dining experience was 5* in my book, but I am a biker, not a New York culinary snob, The room that I had, garden view, is nothing to rave about, the restaurant is a total surprise. Breakfast was awesome, had the Eggs Benedict on Salmon, they smoke their own. Next time will do things in reverse, staying in Matane and catching the ferry in the morning to enjoy all this place has to offer. They have sea view rooms at a higher cost, may be worth the upgrade if you had the time to enjoy, and the weather. Staff was very friendly and majority coulee speak english.

Room Tip: Meal plan offered at check in is good value compared to a la carte
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

As I mentioned, we left Montreal by car heading east and stayed at the Hotel Belle Plage in Matane which is half way to Percé,Qc. We had reserved a room ahead of time and advised them that we would be bringing our dog. The rate changed by 10 $ once we got there and were switched to a room on the other side of the water. Regardless, its one of these hotels off the road, quiet, clean, nothing special.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the hotel section whick is on the water. More quaint and interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CubaF0rever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matane hotels
3.1 km away
Riotel Matane
Riotel Matane
#1 of 4 in Matane
435 reviews
0.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Matane
3.1 km away
Pavillon sur Mer par Riotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Auberge Bruine Oceane
2.5 km away
Auberge la Seigneurie
Auberge la Seigneurie
#2 of 7 in Matane
51 reviews
4.5 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle Plage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Plage

Address: 1310 Matane-sur-Mer, Matane, Quebec G4W 3M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Matane
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Matane
Price Range: ₹ 4,756 - ₹ 7,262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belle Plage 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Belle Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belle Plage Matane, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing