We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay for ski trip”
Review of Ermitage du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ermitage du Lac
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Mont Tremblant
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My family of 3 stayed in Ermitage for four days and three nights. We have our own skis. The spacious bathroom became a nice room to put all our boots and equipments with no worry about wetting the floor. The king size bed gave us great sleep. The living area is small but functional for us. Since the price of the hotel on the hill is higher normally, I think this one is affordable for its location. We took Cabriolet to the top. If we book any hotel in the middle of hill, then we have to walk up to the left.Thank you for the agent suggestion. Besides, the skate rank is next door. The maple taffle on snow is nearby. We don't like shopping. So the stores are not something we are looking for.

I don't favour its breakfast. Food is so normal. But it includes in the price and it is buffet. We had enough energy for four days skiing. We even took a lunch break and little nap for my son at hotel to relax our muscles. The big benefit is the location that allow us to take Cabriolet up and down.I think it's great without carry things around, especially with my little one (5 year old).

Room Tip: kind size bed, kitchen are must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sswu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 261 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

My original choice was to stay at the Westin, and thank god they were sold out otherwise I would have never discovered this quaint cozy Hotel. Ermitage has all the upscale amenities that I normally look for when traveling. The staff are friendly and most important, eager to please. I highly recommend staying at the Ermitage Du Lac, It is my new home whenever i travel back to Tremblant. Special thanks to Nathalie Brosseau, she is definitely an asset to this establishment. With service like what was provided, I will return.
T Salomon

Room Tip: Lift is at walking distance therefore it is the equivalent of a ski in ski out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We took a trip to Mont Tremblant with another couple, and I must say our stay at Ermitage was Awesome! It may seem that Ermitage is located furthest from the hill in the pedestrian village, but the mini gondola lift takes you pretty much right from the hotel to the bottom of the hill. We were away from all the party noise at night, but close enough to take part before turning in for the evening!
Our room was beautifully furnished with a fireplace and mini kitchenette. Bathroom was very large, clean and spacious! The complimentary breakfast every morning was fabulous! Paired with first tracks, ski valet, skating rentals, etc, etc, this hotel is a must stay!
We will definitely be staying at Ermitage again on our next trip to Tremblant!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david1197, Manager at Ermitage du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Dear AnnGr,
Thank you very much for this awesome review.
We are delighted to see that you enjoyed what seems to be the perfect experience at l’ermitage Du Lac.
We can’t wait to welcome you again.
Best regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We were a group of four friends travelling to Mont-Tremblant for two days of skiing, staying i the Ermitage du Lac for three nights. This hotel was not booked by myself.

This is a four-star hotel at the base of the village, requiring a 5-10 minute walk to the mountain (or a 2 minute walk to gondalas that open at 10am to whisk skiers to the top of the village).

The room did not adequately accomodate four adults. A queen bed and a poor quality, sagging sofa bed meant for a poor night's sleep for everyone on the first night. Noisy upstairs neighbours did little to help the cause, but Reception was able to keep them in check. We were unable to Upon complaining to reception the following mornget ing, we were abruptly told that the room does not usually accomodate four adults but two and maybe children. This is unacceptable as the room was billed as being able to sleep four adults but it couldn't.

The hotel was unale to provide an upgrade to a two-bed suite or provide a second room, due to being fully booked (but we doubt that they would have done this even if there was spare capacity).

Instead, the hotel provided us a small cot so that two people could sleep in the queen bed, one person on the sofabed and one person in the cot. The room could barely fit this furniture in, and required much clambering over to move about the room in the night. This is hardly ideal after a long day of skiing. But at least we all did sleep better, to a certain degree.

That being said, this is not the kind of service one would expect from a four-star hotel.

The bathroom was adequate, but the shower wasn't fantastic, being low pressure and not amazingly hot.

Parking underground was available for only one of our cars, at a cost of $10 +tax. The other car had to be left outside in -20C (fortunately it wasn't adversely affected). Internet at the +tax per day - this is a cost that should be included in the price of the room for a four-star hotel.

Being four-stars, it was shocking that much of the work in cleaning the room was left to ourselves as guests. Housekeeping was minimal, with only the beds being made and towles replaced (each day we did have to phone down to request more towels, as we were consistently only given three). Furthermore, guests had to clear their own crockery from the "kitcehnette", which was not replaced. Quite where the room rate we paid was being spent is beyond me!

Breakfast was adequate, being a continental buffet. The range of fresh fruit on offer was meagre, but the bread and bagel selection was very good for toasting. A cooked option would have been nice, given that the hotel is four-star.

We were not told that the ski valet service was charged at $8 +tax per person per day which was highly questionable practice. Unfortunately we did not notice this until after the bill was paid.

Overall, the stay was very disappointing given the amount of money the room cost. Much of the value chain was absent and fell onto the guests to ensure a comfortable stay. The hotel did not bend over backwards to accommodate four adults, so unfortunately we would not stay at Ermitage du Lac again

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david1197, Manager at Ermitage du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

Dear Matt K,

We are truly sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.

It seemed that the biggest inconvenience during your stay was the room type you had reserved.

We try to be as accommodating as possible here at l’Ermitage Du Lac and rest assured that if there had been the possibility of an upgrade, we would of explore the possibilities with you.

We hope that you are going to give us another chance to show you a memorable experience.

Best regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Summary:

We were 4 friends who had booked this hotel online and thought we were booking a room that would accommodate 4 people. This was NOT the case. The amenities were average, cold breakfast included with various breads for toasting. Coffee machine and hot chocolate machine were out of order for the duration of our stay. Cleanliness of room, was average with the shower being of low pressure. The outdoor hot tub was kept at too low of temperature in order to be in it in the -20 C weather. Overall impression was that the hotel was below standard of chain hotels such as a Marriott or Sheraton and therefore think that this one is way overpriced for what it is.

Room:

As mentioned we were 4 friends, a mixed group. Since this was primarily a ski holiday with little time actually meant to be spent in the room, we went for a room with a queen bed and a double sofa bed, assuming 4 adults could adequately be accommodated. We checked in and were shocked to discover that the room was tiny and the sofa bed could only sleep one adult, as it was not even at your cheapest Ikea mattress quality. It was springy and visibly sagged in the middle. We brought our complaints to the reception and were shocked when the receptionist said that the room we booked was a 2 person room as it was their cheapest one available. This is fair enough, however we should not have been able to book a 2 person room for 4 people if it could not in fact house 4 adults.

We asked whether we could upgrade to a different room or get a second room but unfortunately they were fully booked. The only "solution" was to get a cot. However, the room itself barely fit 4 of us in there with 4 suitcases and winter gear. The person who ended up sleeping in the sofa bed ended up having to walk over the 2 people in the queen bed whenever the had to go to the toilet.

The room had a fridge and microwave which was good. The bathroom was fine, only a shower, no tub. The shower itself did not get very hot and did not have very good water pressure.

Housekeeping/Cleanliness:

Housekeeping was minimal. They only made our beds. Since even housekeeping apparently assumed 4 adults shouldn't have been be in our room, they only ever gave us 3 towels at a time and not enough robes. We had to call down every day for more. We requested extra pillows and were shocked when we were told they only had 1 pillow left. When I asked what we should do, the man at the door simply shrugged.

We were not given enough glasses or cups and even after we'd used them, they were not cleared away nor replenished. We were forced to bring our used plates/cups out ourselves and put them by the elevator.

Amenities:

Breakfast was included, however it is a cold breakfast with only various breads for toasting. We were only there 3 days but by the third day it did get a little boring.

A further irritation was that the hot chocolate AND coffee machine were both out of order for the duration of our stay, and with not enough mugs in our room it made even making tea annoying.

The outdoor hot tub was not adequately heated for the outdoor conditions. We went down only once and stayed 5 minutes because we were freezing.

Parking/Checkout

It must be stated the hotel only accommodates 1 car/room in their underground parking at a fee of $10/day. This is fine if you only have 1 car but if you're a group then everyone else will have to park outside. During our stay temperatures reached as low as -35 C with snow so sadly our friends that were parked outside had to chisel out their car but at least it started!

We were also told that the valet ski service was included in our stay which was why we were surprised to find an $8 charge/day/person added to our bill.

Bottomline:

All I can say is, maybe stay somewhere else in the village where the quality warrants the price. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise, make sure to book a room that fits the correct number of adults, mayb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica-Leigh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david1197, Manager at Ermitage du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

Dear Jessica-Leigh K,

Since you are writing a very similar review like the previous one and it seemed that you were all in the same room, we are posting the same response.

We are truly sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.

It seemed that the biggest inconvenience during your stay was the room type you had reserved.

We try to be as accommodating as possible here at l’Ermitage Du Lac and rest assured that if there had been the possibility of an upgrade, we would of explore the possibilities with you.

We hope that you are going to give us another chance to show you a memorable experience.

Best regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont Tremblant hotels
0.4 km away
Sommet des Neiges
Sommet des Neiges
#1 of 29 in Mont Tremblant
574 reviews
0.5 km away
Fairmont Tremblant
Fairmont Tremblant
#3 of 29 in Mont Tremblant
1,708 reviews
0.2 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Mont Tremblant Manoir Labelle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant
Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant
#5 of 29 in Mont Tremblant
1,147 reviews
2.8 km away
Chateau Beauvallon Mont Tremblant
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mont-Tremblant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ermitage du Lac? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ermitage du Lac

Address: 150 Chemin du Cure Deslauriers, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1C9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Mont Tremblant
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mont Tremblant
#9 Family Hotel in Mont Tremblant
Price Range: ₹ 8,077 - ₹ 25,337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ermitage du Lac 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Tremblant between two lakes and surrounded by lush scenery, Ermitage du Lac is an idyllic spot for a couple retreat. Get closer in the upscale atmosphere of chic, contemporary urban design, with lots of room to stretch out and relax. Enjoy your romantic getaway in this clean, serene boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ermitage du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ermitage Du Lac Tremblant Hotel Mont Tremblant
Ermitage Du Lac Tremblant Mont
Ermitage Du Lac Mont Tremblant, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing