We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“We would suggest to choose something elese.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge du Lac des Sables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auberge du Lac des Sables
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We would suggest to choose something elese.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

The room was clean I would give 9/10 however the carpets were stinky but oh well they sprayed some grandma perfume. ;) , Breakfast area wasn't vacuumed after last night dinner , we could see bread pieces, dried rice on they lovely carpet.

When it comes to the comfort and the look of the room overall wasn't bad nice jacuzzi bath tab operated by timer switch :) the jet speed control wasn't working. The room quite small for the price that you have to pay per night , very nice fireplace feature , Very, VERY , uncomfortable dated matters ( but if you like camping you will find it alright).

Location: beautiful view on the lake however just by the busy street, I was waken up by a local driver of Honda Civic at 2:34 night (Take your ear plugs with you.)
Terrible parking spots evening time taken by the clientele of the restaurant, manager told me to park on the street and ``no problem you can park on the street until midnight``but I would suggest to be careful and don't move your vehicle after couple of drinks.
Helloooo! I just paid for a hotel and I have to worry about the parking spot!?

Very friendly staff.

Bad breakfast I would love to see at least some scrambled eggs, cereals and warm milk gets boring after couple of days.

Overall I wouldn't get back there again.
Value for the money poor. I would suggest to the manager to lower the price per night that way he could keep the place full, like $70-$80 per night would be fair deal.
They studios are for sale , ask yourself why?

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robzar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    25
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
42
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Laval, QC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

My family and I went to spend Christmas at this beautiful Auberge, what a gorgeous place. The decor is modern but warm and inviting. The room my husband and I stayed was the Harlequin room situated on the 3rd floor, two double beds, open jacuzzi roman tub, fireplace and full bathroom with shower was romantic especially overlooking the lake covered in fresh white snow. Most of the rooms face the beautiful Lac des Sables which is picturesque, with the mountains in the background, simply breathtaking. The owners, John and Carmella Drymousis make you feel welcomed and part of the family, the restaurant Lezvos sur le Lac is simply a gastronomic experience, simply delicious. Looking forward to return again in the summer sitting on the terrasse and watching the colorful sailboats.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are facing the Lake and they also offer some effeciency rooms that have just been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnxiousLyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

I stayed here with my husband and kids for one night in August 2011. The studio room we booked did not have a pull out of bed like we were promised and like the website indicates and that was a huge issue. However, when I complained to management, it was dealt with and I received a discount for the trouble.
The room was spotless, modern and large, but with cheap furnishings. The bed was very uncomfortable and the walls are paper thin. We were woken up at 2am from the noise in our neighbour's room, which was awful because we could completely hear their "activities". I can only assume that they were equally as annoyed to be woken up at 7am by my kids. We could also hear the busy street traffic, but that did not really bother us as much as the noise from the other rooms. The breakfast was basic with breads, muffins, cereal and fruit, but it was fine and we did not leave hungry.
What I did like was that the view of the lake from our room was spectacular, the staff was very friendly and the location of the hotel was good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Friendly front desk with most being able to speak English fluently. Breakfast buffet, which ended at 10 a.m., consisted of cereal, juice, croissants, various breads, muffins, bananaa and a few other small items. Outdoor front patio with tables and umbrellas provided an elevated western view of Lac des Sables. It also provided an excellent view of the Festival Sainte-Agathe en Feux fireworks which was the best Canadian display in my opinion.

Now, the rooms were about 95% clean. There were a few spots missed here and there. Nothing serious. No bedbugs during our stay. The slow draining sink was outside of the bathroom. The bathroom consisted of a slow flushing toilet and a jacuzzi bathtub/shower head combination. The bathroom's exhaust fan was operated by a wall timer knob. The jacuzzi, which we did not use, was also timer wall operated.

The air conditioning was adequate and quiet enough for us to sleep comfortably. Our second floor suite entry door did not have a self closing device. We had to ensure the interior thumb latch was locked before we closed the door and exited the suite. Otherwise, anyone could have gotten in.

The hotel was close to the park where concerts was held. About a ten minute walk. The drive north into the small downtown area was about five minutes. The walk would have been about twenty to twenty five minutes.

There was one day where the cook didn't show up and there was no lunch or dinner served. The nearest luxury spa hotel was called Watel which was a five minute walk south where they had a better dining room with a cook.

Best to compare the Watel with the Auberge and see which one suits your taste. Going into the downtown area would be a better option for food.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jp1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

Stayed at Auberge du Lac de Sables for one night on a bike trip along the P'tit Train du Nord bike path. The inn is Ok, but for the price I paid, I was expecting something a lot nicer. This was the most expensive room of our whole trip. We stayed in a studio, as that was the only room large enough to accomodate two adults and two children. The price for 4 was a good bit higher than for 2 in the same room. The room was pretty average, certainly nothing fancy, a bit worn, and with a stained carpet in places. The pull-out couch was old and incredibly uncomfortable - you could feel every spring in the mattress. Breakfast was a decent continental breakfast, but again, based on the price, I was expecting a full breakfast (should have asked in advance...). As others have noted, the location and view are nice, but the inn is on a noisy road. The people at the hotel were friendly, nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bmorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Agathe des Monts
0.4 km away
Hotel Spa Watel
Hotel Spa Watel
#3 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.3 km away
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
#1 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.4 km away
Super 8 Sainte Agathe des Monts
Super 8 Sainte Agathe des Monts
#2 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
25.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
5.3 km away
Motel Le Radisson De Val-david
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Lac des Sables? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Lac des Sables

Property: Auberge du Lac des Sables
Address: 230 Saint-Venant St, Sainte Agathe des Monts, Quebec J8C 2Z7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sainte Agathe des Monts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sainte Agathe des Monts
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,421 - ₹ 12,487
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du Lac des Sables 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 3 types of rooms, Classique with Double or Queen bed, single theraputic bath, shower, lake view. Superior with Queen or 2 Double beds, double therapuric bath, corner shower, gas fireplace,table and chairs,lake view. Studio with Queen bed, Queen sofa bed, double theraputic bath, corner shower, tables and chairs, fully equiped kithennette, wood burning fireplace, lake view. All rooms include continental breakfast. Our in house Restaurant LE 2-30 welcomes you as well as well as guests from the surrounding areas. Come and ENjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Auberge du Lac des Sables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Lac Des Sables Hotel Sainte Agathe Des Monts
Auberge Du Lac Des Sables Sainte Agathe Des Monts, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing