We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lost weekend” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Spa Watel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Spa Watel
Westmount, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lost weekend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Booked 2 nites.Warm reception.Tasty abundant dinner. Hotel and spa cramped,dark.Too dark to read anywhere.Plastic flowers everywhere. Left same day.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude F, Propriétaire at Hotel Spa Watel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for your good words. Concerning the light, we will install some more in the living room and the artificial flower being throw away. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    71
    36
    30
    17
See reviews for
43
199
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

This was our second weekend at Watel. Location is excellent, an hour and a half drive north from Montreal (and this is a Friday 5 pm traffic I am talking about). You are in Laurentians, but still not too far from home. We did not use the 'spa' facilities so I can't comment on that.

ROOM: Both times we had the superior room, with double jacuzzi and fire place. Room was spacious and clean (I checked). Huge windows and the magnificent view. Loved the big bathroom, it even had a night light. There were candles (and matches) provided for the hot tub in the room. Nice touch. I don't know what other rooms are like, but it's definitely worth paying a little extra for the comfort of the superior room.

RESTAURANT: We had supper and breakfast included in our package. Supper was OK. I would not call it 5 course dinner, but it's a solid three-course. I do think they need to review the way the supper menu is written. It's really hard to figure out what things are. For example Mille feuilles de bébés épinards. I thought it was spinach in puff pastry, but it really was a spinach salad. Coquille à la volaille was simply pasta with chicken. Just call the things what they are, fancy names raise the expectations of the diners which, when not met, lead to slight let down. The English translation of the menu also could use some help (and not from google translate). The wine was good and had a fair price. For dessert we had the crème brulèe - it was excellent! The breakfast was also very, very good - eggs, bacon, potatoes, fresh fruit..we loved it.

From the first contact (we made the reservation by phone), to the check-out, including staff in the restaurant, everyone was welcoming and caring.

Overall, this is a great value. We had a great experience and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirela_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude F, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Watel, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your stay. I'm sure this way help some people undecided. We are very pleased thet our Hotel satisfied your needs.
Thank you to all the personnel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Loved it. Staff was nice, the room was great. We will definately go again.

Room Tip: mentio tripavisor when you book, you will be upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBINWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Booked a weekend here - although I tried hard to convince myself to find something else - trip advisor reviews only 50% recommended. Glad we followed through and stayed here. Spa Watel is a solid 3 star hotel that will surely meet all your needs, comfortably. If you are looking for luxury, i.e. overkill AC and ice 24 hours- you may prefer to upgrade. However, those of you who are looking for a beautiful lake/beach, an outdoor pool, a picturesque hot tub and a clean and spacious room for a mere $129 CDN a night, you will surely be happy here! Spa Watel is a well established and well cared for hotel. The owners are friendly and accommodating: fulfilled a request from a far away family member to have flowers and champagne in our room upon our arrival, let us have a midnight soak under the full moon and conversed with us both in English and in French. The location of Spa Watel is also perfect! Close enough to town that a 20 minute morning walk took us to breakfast, a 7 minuter drive found us spectacular golf, and then for dinner we walked a mere 2 blocks to a highly recommended local restaurant (Lez Vos). I would recommend Spa Watel to any of my friends (with or without children).

Room Tip: we had the classic (basic)... if you need a fridge, upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ducaticool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watel, Propriétaire at Hotel Spa Watel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thanks for your kind review.
Hope to see you soon.

Claude Fleurant
Owner
Hôtel SPA Watel
Sainte Agathe des Monts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

It's a 3-star. A good one. Not exceptional, by far, but a honest 3-star. Sometimes I read reviews here and I can't help but think some people don't take into consideration what kind of place it is they are reviewing. You can't ask a 3-star hotel to give you everything a 5-star gives you for the price of a 3-star...

Anyway, this place was good, with a nice view of the lake. OK beach right on the other side of the road. You can go for free with a card they will give you at the reception. We had a nice suite, with a large whirlpool tub and a fireplace. It was clean and comfortable.

My only small complaint would be that the kitchen has a bit more ambition than talent, with really nice looking plates and great ideas, but an undercooked salmon and too liberal use of oil and balsamic vinegar.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jflafond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude F, Propriétaire at Hotel Spa Watel, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post your comments on your stay with us.
As a valued customer, your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we are using this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We know you have a choice in hotels and we are delighted that you chose ours. We hope to see you again!
Again, thank you for completing our survey and if we can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact us directly at (819)326-7016.
Sincerely,
Lise & Claude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Agathe des Monts
11.4 km away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.6 km away
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
#1 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.6 km away
Super 8 Sainte Agathe des Monts
Super 8 Sainte Agathe des Monts
#2 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Auberge du Lac des Sables
Auberge du Lac des Sables
#4 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
30.8 km away
Fairmont Tremblant
Fairmont Tremblant
#2 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
20.1 km away
Esterel Resort
Esterel Resort
#1 of 1 in Esterel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Watel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Watel

Property: Hotel Spa Watel
Address: 250 rue Saint-Venant, Sainte Agathe des Monts, Quebec J8C 2Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sainte Agathe des Monts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sainte Agathe des Monts
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,742 - ₹ 9,684
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Spa Watel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel Spa Watel is an establishment with 31 cozy rooms: 10 with fireplace and therapeutic bath for two. You will find all the conveniences needed for a very pleasant stay: private bathroom, telephone, colour cable television, high-speed Internet, air-conditioning, whirlpool bath, safe, hairdryer, etc. This quality hotel provides a panoramic view of Lac des Sables and the beautiful Laurentian mountains. The Hôtel Spa Watel is located next to the famous theatre Le Patriote and a superb public beach. Relax in one of the four massage therapy rooms or enjoy the indoor and outdoor heated pools, the indoor and outdoor spas or the dry and wet saunas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Spa Watel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Spa Watel Sainte Agathe Des Monts, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing