We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing cottage and location - perfect break”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
The Garden room
Well equipt Kitchen with all your home from home essentials
2 Fridges and a large freezer to keep all your groceries fresh
View from kitchen to garden and fields
The dining area
Lounge with sofa bed for additional 2 guests if required
Cosy wood burner for those nippy evenings
Twin bedroom
AT THE END OF THE LANE. A WARM WELCOME TO ALL OUR GUESTS AT THE CASTLE INN. EXCELLENT FOOD .
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bodiam, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fiona S
1 review
“Amazing cottage and location - perfect break”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were welcomed with homemade cake, eggs and bread. The cottage was stocked with everything you needed, very clean and comfortable. I took a dog with me, and he loved it too - great garden! The location is truly amazing - you need a week to make the most of it! Will defo be returning!
Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2014
Many Thanks for your kind comments.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailTrave...
San Francisco, CA
1 review
“A perfect cottage in a verdant setting, lovingly managed”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have been traveling for three months in Europe, having stayed at a variety of places. this was hands down the best. The Cricketeer's is lovely, fully-stocked, clean, romantic place for a couple, or a small family. I searched hard to find a place such as this and I was not disappointed. Located in Sussex, near Kent, it is well-located to see many historic places (castles, gardens, towns etc). A stone's throw from Bodiam Castle, walking easily to the Castle Inn pub with nice food. Our main challenge here was that driving in England is quite difficult on the narrow roads. Also, do not rent from Enterprise rent a car. They invented damage and are scammers. The Gravesend Enterprise location manager should be given the boot!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Cricket Pavilion. It is a shame you had a bad experience with the car rental company. I do hope you get this sorted out.
However please note this is not a company recommended by us. Hopefully your comments will aid other travellers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSDILAN
Pinner
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cottage to relax in quite”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Old cricket pavillion was a great cottage, it has everything under the sky. Terri was very helpful and welcoming. The cottage was well maintained it was very clean. To welcome us Terri has even baked cake. Home away from home. Love the environment. Great holiday will definitely go again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Really pleased you liked our cottage and look forward to seeing you again. Many Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Suz
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I can honestly say that this short UK holiday ranked as high as any expensive trip abroad. The accommodation was immaculate - incredibly clean with every amenity, appliance and utensil you could hope for.

The directions were spot on and the key pick up couldn't be easier. We arrived to find a sizeable homemade sponge cake welcoming us - absolutely delicious Terri!!! There were also fresh eggs, bread and milk as well as tea and coffee.

On opening the back door we found the best part of the rental - the beautiful back garden with stunning views of the East Sussex country. Having two dogs we were also delighted to see the garden was totally secure which meant we could leave them to their own devices (and make friends with the cows who love to run over for a stroke!).

We live in East Sussex and so a holiday in East Sussex was on the face of it not much of a holiday. However, the beauty of the surroundings and the complete lack of any passing traffic meant this felt like paradise.

To the best bit. There is a pub 200 metres away that serves fantastic food and ale!!! With really friendly staff, the food is reasonably priced given that the castle is across the road from it. There's a further pub that does equally good food (and even better ale!) a 30 minute walk across the fields.

Lastly, the owners, Terri and Mike. A nicer couple you'd find it hard to meet. Terri popped in soon after we arrived to give us the lowdown of the area. Mike also stopped us on one of our first walks to say hello!!! We'd be delighted if you'd have us back for a further stay in the near future. Many thanks for your hospitality.

Alex & Suz (the Humans), Toxic & Asparagus (the Dogs)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility & views
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2014
We are delighted you all enjoyed your holiday close to home. We would welcome you back anytime and thank you for taking the time to review The Pavilion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anonymous...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed here with 2 young children and our dogs for 5 days.

This is one of the best holiday cottages we have ever stayed at. The reception was warm and friendly with a lovely welcoming pack on arrival too. So nice be able to take our dogs with us to somewhere that was so clean. The decor was fantastic and the cottage and stunning outdoor space had everything we needed and more.

We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say! It was so clean and the outdoor space was fabulous.
Liked least: The bed in the main bedroom could have been comfier but that it probably just personal opinion!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you all found the cottage to your liking and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing