We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A gem of a cottage with everything required to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
The Garden room
Well equipt Kitchen with all your home from home essentials
2 Fridges and a large freezer to keep all your groceries fresh
View from kitchen to garden and fields
The dining area
Lounge with sofa bed for additional 2 guests if required
Cosy wood burner for those nippy evenings
Twin bedroom
AT THE END OF THE LANE. A WARM WELCOME TO ALL OUR GUESTS AT THE CASTLE INN. EXCELLENT FOOD .
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bodiam, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris T
Angouleme
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem of a cottage with everything required to have a good holiday.”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is immaculately clean, comfortably furnished with all the elements needed for a splendid stay. It is well situated to explore the interesting and beautiful area with a wide variety of activities

Terrie and Mike do everything in their power to ensure that everything Is of high quality and the holiday is a great success.

There is a very generous welcome pack and we can recommend highly the meal provided on our arrival.

We have already booked for next year,

Perhaps we should keep this place secret it is so good!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome and kindness of Terri and Mike to their comfortable cottage.
Liked least: We didn't have enough time there.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nimbletim...
Brighton, England
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic Bodiam!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our second stay at the Cricket Pavilion was lovely. Fab weather to make use of the lovely garden, perfect for the dog to run about and us to laze about!
Nice touches include the bread, eggs and Victoria sponge cake on arrival, after that and a BBQ we didn't go hungry.
Great location a short walk from the castle and pub and good places nearby drive away.
We will be back (again!)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2013
many thanks for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your return visit and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRuth...
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We came back here after two years away and the place is just as wonderful as last time. We were greeted like long lost relatives and there was a home made cake waiting for us and our previously ordered welcoming meal was excellent. The children's room was spacious enough for our 1 and 3 year old to share and the kitchen was well stocked to meet any family's cooking requirements.

The view was amazing and our son loved seeing the steam train puff into the nearby station every day. He also enjoyed visiting Bodiam castle which is a handy 5 minute walk away (very accessible with a buggy).

I would strongly recommend this property to families or to a couple who want a peaceful retreat as there are no nearby houses overlooking the plot. We look forward to seeing the owners in 2014 when we return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and tranquility
Liked least: having to go home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed the pavilion as much as before and you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H
Newton Abbot
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday - could not ask for better”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed at the Old Cricket Pavillion for a week in July for our family holiday. We have two young children and the Pavillion was a perfect location for all of us (and our dog!). Terri was a very welcoming host and we greatly appreciated the delicious cake which was awaiting our arrival. The accommodation was perfect and had everything you could possibly need or want. We used the garden and outside space as a superb end to our days, sitting in the evening with a glass of wine, sausages (provided by Terri and definitely recommended) sizzling on the BBQ listening to the peace and tranquility all around. The area in which the Pavillion is located is also ideal as there is every sort of activity and environment within a short travel. We were lucky enough to have some great sunshine on our stay and went to Camber Sands which is a most for anyone who enjoys a great beach. I can't recommend this holiday rental highly enough. We had a wonderful, memorable family holiday and this was made even more so by the Old Cricket Pavilion and our wonderful hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and the outside seating space - perfect!
Liked least: What's not to like?
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that the Pavilion provided a good base for your family and that you found plenty to do whilst here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 25 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Aug 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing