We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“relaxing spacious cottage a stones throw from a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
The Garden room
Well equipt Kitchen with all your home from home essentials
2 Fridges and a large freezer to keep all your groceries fresh
View from kitchen to garden and fields
The dining area
Lounge with sofa bed for additional 2 guests if required
Cosy wood burner for those nippy evenings
Twin bedroom
AT THE END OF THE LANE. A WARM WELCOME TO ALL OUR GUESTS AT THE CASTLE INN. EXCELLENT FOOD .
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bodiam, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
suzontour
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
1 review
“relaxing spacious cottage a stones throw from a beautiful castle”
Reviewed 28 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011

after trawling many letting sites for many hours we stumbled across the Old Cricket Pavillion. Being that my intention for the holiday was to visit the numerous NT sites in the area, couldn't believe my luck that we were a few minutes walk from Bodiam Castle. Cottage was very well thought out. Anything you needed was there...including a home made cake on arrival! A steam railway was visible across the field and is open several days a week.... that was the closest we came to 'traffic' noise - the cottage is wonderfully quiet. Was fun to watch! Cottage lovely and warm - plenty of towels and a great shower. Great hosts - there if you needed them and very friendly, but once they knew you were settled you were left to enjoy your holiday. There is a local pub just opposite the castle but a short drive into Robertsbridge and there is another pub - the George.....lovely food. Not many food shops nearby so it's better to plan for that. Only less than positive comment would be lack of internet - good for planning/investigating local area and restaurants and also could do with thicker bedroom curtains for those light early mornings.....but having said that, if it hadn't rained most days probably would have taken advantage of the early rise! ;o) I believe both these items are being considered by Terrie who seems really on the ball with what people want in a holiday home. Would definately go back - still have about 4 castles to visit. Visit Bodiam Castle in the evening - it's beautiful in the evening sun with no one around!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2011
Thanks for this feedback. Blackout blinds are being fitted on 8th July to rectify the light issue. We are looking into wi fi going in in the near future just getting phone line sorted out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmiffYate...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Cottage”
Reviewed 24 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011

My boyfriend and I (and our cat Toonie) stayed at the Old Cricket Pavilion the weekend just gone, 17th - 20th June 2011.

The cottage was very easy to find on arrival and Terrie was there waiting for us to check in. She was very helpful, showed us around the cottage and explained where the nearest supermarkets were.
She left us bread, eggs, tea, coffee and baked us a cake which was very tasty and a nice touch.

The cottage was lovely, very pretty and nice that you are in your own little grounds, large enclosed garden. The kitchen dining room was very spacious which we made great use of by cooking a meal in on the second night. In the information pack that Terrie had left there were take away menus so we opted for a Chinese on the first night, very nice.

Although the weather was not fantastic we still made the best of the time we had there. Bodiam Castle was very interesting and we were allowed to use our National Trust cards for discounted entry. We would also recommend the steam train from Bodiam station to Tenderten, we were even luckily enough to see the beer festival we got there, bonus! We also had discounted tickets for the train due to our National Trust cards. The steam train was fantastic, very fun and nice to see the countryside in full.

We were also lucky enough to be in Bodiam for the traditional Motor Car Festival at the end of the road which was nice to see - we would also suggest Battle as a great place for breakfast we had a full English which was lovely and we even bought some scones to take home. There are very quaint little shops along the highstreet, although a lot of them are not open on Sundays, we did manage to find a few though.

The Castle Inn pub at the end of the road is great for drinks and dinner - the owners were very friendly and the sun even made an appearance so we managed to sit outside for a couple of drinks. The food was very good just a shame we hadn't gone there a day or two earlier so we could have eaten there twice.

We had a fantastic time at the cottage, everything was of a high standard, decorated beautifully throughout and you did not want for anything. We would definitely return to the cottage and have even recommended it to friends and family.

Terrie was very friendly and although we only saw her at the beginning it was nice to be left to it - we knew where she was if we needed her.

Thanks for a lovely stay - see you again soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samm1979
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ideal retreat, tranquil,quiet and a stone throw from Bodium Castle”
Reviewed 23 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011

We stayed at the Old Cricket Pavillion this weekend and It was wonderful. I went along with my husband and my son who is 7 and also my puppy Tia. Mick and Terri were extremely friendly and accomodating.. even baking us a cake on arrival.. it was everything I was hoping it would be.. The views from the Cottage were stunning.. The cottage was light and airy and had everything you needed... tea and coffee and milk in the fridge and of course the cake.. which was lush. Terri even brought down eggs that were laid that very morning... Once Terri checked us in.. we didnt see them for the rest of the weekend meaning we had the whole place to ourselves and we didnt see anyone else unless we ventured out the cottage.. The beds were comfortable.. ample towels.. a well equipped kitchen with everything you needed and a very comprehensive book of what is on in the area and all about the cottage. The shower was lovely too very powerful.
The cottage even has a summerhouse in the garden to relax in.. as well as garden furniture
It is tucked away and my own personal hideaway.. so much so we are planning on returning with friends. Thank you soo much terri and mick

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing