We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge
London
Level Contributor
172 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Very Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

So the last HI related hostel we have stayed at was in Fernie called Raging Elk Hostel.
I was a big fan of Fernie, both the town and the hostel. Huge shame about the Mountain though – I will try to review that later. Fernie is a great Hippy town, with some great places to eat be it cheap or expensive. The Hostel is right next to the Greyhound (a nice change from Banff where it is miles away). Note: The Eastbound bus to Vancouver/Nelson etc leaves at 3am. Everything is in walking distance, and the facilities are great. They have a whole floor below the hostel with Huge Screen TV, huge common area and big kitchen. The Bunk beds were not the most comfortable but hey they are bunk beds! The bar/café has some great staff that were very helpful and the Rib night was very good. These Ribs were like Dinosaur bones and very tasty. The Ski bus also leaves from just across the street!
I would recommend this hostel as it was very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awanderingmemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relk, Manager at The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your review on The Raging Elk.
I am happy that you enjoyed the small town charm of Fernie and our facilities at The Elk. I am also glad that you were impressed with our communal facilities as this is one area of the hostel in which I pride as being relaxable and comfortable for guests to enjoy.You will be happy to know that we still have the slowly cooked ribs every Friday at The Kodiak. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    22
    12
    7
    11
See reviews for
9
20
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

great place to stay to set up stuff like long term accomodation! can be loud like any hostel but super down to earth and awesome facilities!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hylni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relk, Manager at The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your review with regards to your stay at The Raging Elk. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities. I actually love Sept/Oct when we get to meet tons of backpackers from all of the world looking for work and accommodation for the ski season and I am glad tand appreciate that you found the Elk a useful starting point to meet other seasonal workers and find a home for winter.
Regards
Joe Howse
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, Ontario
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

We were very pleased with our stay at the Raging Elk. The name itself (and the rates) drew us to the place and we didn't regret our decision. Though we were in the minority age-wise (middle-aged couple with three teenage kids), the twenty-something denizens welcomed us warmly. Great play room and the pancake breakfast was a real bonus for a family of five. Our family room was basic but completely adequate. I would definitely return again.

  • Liked — Cheap, centrally located, free breakfast.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GrayingAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relk, Manager at The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, 21 May 2009
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Raging Elk. We appreciate your kind review. We are always looking at ways to refine the product that we offer our guests and it is very pleasing to see families such as yourself enjoy our facilities. We hope to see you back at the Elk in the future.
Regards
Team Elk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2008

The location is great, and the huge free kitchen was awesome for storing and cooking whatever you want to eat. But there is no one working the front desk fter midnight, and no respect for a "quiet time" at night. There were loud parties in the sauna at 4 am, and my roomates kept leaving the room lights on at night! the place was fun, if you dont expect to get any sleep...

  • Liked — the kitchen was good
  • Disliked — my roommates...
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jjzazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relk, Manager at The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, 21 May 2009
Thank you for choosing to book at The Raging Elk . We appreciate your review and we have now taken measures to counter react any late night noise with late night security.We have also regulated the sauna hours to finishing at 9pm. We sincerly hope you will be able to stay wth us in the future & enjoy a better nights sleep .
Regards
Team Elk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fernie hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2006

Stayed 1 week in spring. The best part is the semi private rooms have an ensuite bathroom. So you aren't sharing with everyone. The kitchen is large with tons of fridge space and the tables are huge log work picnic tables. There is a pool table and the TV room has a masive screen. Never seen such a good TV in a backpackers before. Plus it's full of rows of comfy couches.

All in all, a great trip.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relk, manager at The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, 21 May 2009
Thank you for staying at The Raging Elk and for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & the facilities.This year we are also adding to our facilities with a new inhouse lounge.You will still be able to utilize the lounge & communal areas downstairs but you will also have a option to enjoy a licensed area upstairs that will serve local and international food, wine and beer. We hope to see you again in the future. Enjoy your travels.
Regards
Team Elk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.1 km away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.2 km away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
5.0 km away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
5.3 km away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#12 of 22 in Fernie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge

Property: The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge
Address: 892 6th Ave, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Fernie
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,535 - ₹ 4,796
Hotel Class:2 star — The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raging Elk adventure lodge is situated in the heart of Fernie, a 10 minute drive to Fernie Alpine Resort. We have 2 large patios with epic mountain views, a theatre style TV room, comfy lounge areas with pool table, fuse ball & piano. Fully loaded kitchen, spacious dinning areas, sauna, ski tunning room and secure ski and bike storage. Enjoy our outdoor fire pit in summer and winter and our daily complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing