We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Park Place Lodge(Fernie)(Great Value!)
US$ 153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham Fernie(Fernie)(Great Value!)
US$ 128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lizard Creek Lodge(Fernie)(Great Value!)
US$ 147
US$ 134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort(Fernie)(Great Value!)
US$ 142
US$ 138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Powder Mountain Lodge(Fernie)(Great Value!)
US$ 105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snow Valley Motel(Fernie)(Great Value!)
US$ 100
US$ 98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Tree Lodge(Fernie)(Great Value!)
US$ 114
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
134
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
134
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscustom builtoatmeal piebooking sitedietary restrictionsa great stayroad tripclose to towncharlotteianfurnishings
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Stayed in the Blackstone for a single night on a road-trip through the Kootenays. The B&B is located in a newly built area of Fernie just north-west of downtown in the Castle Mountain area. After speaking with Ian we learned this is a brand new location after being elsewhere in town for about seven years. The new house is custom built and includes three different rooms. We stayed in Room #2 which was on the ground floor. The room had a very cool modern, minimalist look with a walk-out terrace with some pretty epic views of the mountains encircling Fernie. It would be about a 15 minute walk to downtown from the property (although we didn't realize how close it was and drove 3 minutes to the rec centre, parked and walked from there). Ian provided some great recommendations for dinner. Breakfast was a highlight. We had oatmeal pie, a first, and it was fantastic! Ian was also very willing to accommodate dietary restrictions. Booking was easy, communication with Ian was great via e-mail and on the phone. All in all a great stay and would highly recommend and come back again!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ecsplode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

Ian & Charlotte managed to squeeze us in last minute because of a cancellation. The first 2 nights we enjoyed room #1 and then moved to room #3 for the duration of our stay. All rooms are beautifully decorated, a modern rustic look. Ian takes great detail in making sure everything is perfect during your stay and very attentive to the littlest details. The hot tub was HOT and we enjoyed it after our days on the mountain. The breakfasts were very filling and delicious. The views from room #3 spectacular. You won't be disappointed by staying at Blackstone!

Room Tip: All rooms are similar in decor, if you want a delicious breakfast room 1 or 2 more privacy and a spectacular view choose #3!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnotherRonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

This bed and breakfast is one of a kind! The host Ian provides a flawless establishment with superb service. The rooms are super cozy with modern amenities. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was well worth the price as any other options in Fernie were much more. The oatmeal pie was to die for! The hot tub is very clean and plenty warm for a cold evening in Fernie! When we return to Fernie we will absolutely stay here again!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mikaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016

This B&B is absolutely beautiful and I would recommend staying here any time over one of the over-priced hotels in Fernie. It was quiet and in a nice location, but very close to downtown.

Our host was friendly and he made us a great breakfast. Our room was quiet and very comfortable. We had our own private deck and really enjoyed the deep antique-style tub in our bathroom.

Even though it is a B&B, it felt more like a luxurious ski lodge. Highly recommended and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danni_P123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2016

We did a two week ski trip last year in Canada and Fernie was our first stop. This is a wonderful B&B....it's more like staying in an an elegant private home. Ian, the owner, is a very interesting person. He is also a great cook and prepared a great breakfast each morning. He is also very knowledgeable about the area and the ski options, including CAT skiing in the area. So, if you are planning to go to Fernie, stay here and take advantage of Ian's help in making your ski vacation superb. Next time we are in Fernie we will be staying here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, so you can't go wrong with whatever is available.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank planetexplorer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews