We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take out piri piri chicken sandwich with salad and fries were good”

Portugalos Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 656 Restaurants in Gatineau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 21 August 2016

I came here for a take out lunch. I ordered their chicken piri piri sandwich. It was actually very tasty. The take out salad was very fresh with a nice balsamic vinegar. The fries were ok, not the best fries I have tasted in a Portuguese restaurant. Overall a nice take out quick sandwich. The restaurant is a typical décor Portuguese place, not modern. The owner and waiter were very nice and helpful when I placed the order and when I picked it up. Its relatively a new restaurant in this area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugalos R, Owner at Portugalos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Portugalos Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2016

Wow finally a Portuguese restaurant. Very welcoming, warm and quaint. My cousin never had Portuguese cuisine. Eric came and offered some amazing olives that were seasoned with garlic and peppers, Portuguese bread was very good with that too. I had the clams in white wine, garlic and a hint of cilantro. For a moment I thought I was by the ocean in Peniche. My cousin had the shrimp in garlic and seasoned also to perfection. We both had the bifanas with frites. Just heavenly. I had a glass of vinho verde chilled to perfection. So happy that we finally have this little gem in the Ottawa Gatineau area. Having lived in Kitchener Waterloo Cambridge area moving here 6 years ago missed the Portuguese cuisine so much. I hope the Portuguese community will support these two entrepreneurs Eric and Manuel. If you haven't been please go and visit. You will be impressed. Saude Obrigado from a French foodie that appreciates great cuisine. Lynn Duarte from Orleans Ontario

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank lynn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugalos R, Owner at Portugalos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

I took for entrée Chouriço à bombeiro wich was salty and tasty, for main course I took half chicken Piri-Piri. The ambiance is nice and the service is excellent. The personel is very friendly. A must for people in Gatineau-Ottawa area who want a change from greasy restaurants

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Bernard10Gatineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugalos R, Owner at Portugalos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Very good food - had $28 table d'hote. Mussels app were tasty, sausage app wasn't anything special. Had piri piri chicken delicious. Good idea to serve spicy sauce separately, though they should have offered it before I'd finished some of my chicken. Lamb, another option, was good while two people really enjoy the bacalhau. Offered choice typical desserts. Wine reasonably priced. Very pleasant service.
Opposite Promenade de Gatineau mall in glass building with patio. Inside, small bar area and separate homey room with white tablecloths and typical Portuguese decor.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Masca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugalos R, Owner at Portugalos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

The food is great. Went with a large party and everyone loved their meals. The seafood platter was to die for. The chicken is excellent. There's so much to choose from. Also, they make great sangria. The service is great too and you feel like the staff really cares about providing a nice dining experience. The takeout menu is decently priced.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alice669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugalos R, Owner at Portugalos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portugalos Restaurant also viewed

Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 
Ottawa, Ontario
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Portugalos Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing