We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
96
28
4
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
28
4
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private balcony beach fires cute place room was clean and comfortable spent one night small kitchen short drive an amazing view a wonderful stay suite patio ocean bbq qualicum properties highway necessities
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Representing a group of Sorority ladies anxious to go on a ladies get-away in Qualicum,on October 2, 2015 I booked five rooms and paid the required $500.00 deposit which was processed by Buena Vista the next day. The booking was for July 17, 18 and 19th 2016, thus nine months hence. In May 2016 I sent an email indicating the names of the ladies occupying the rooms booked. The response from the owner was a one-line email stating they were fully booked and could not accommodate us. Phone-calls and a number of emails were ignored for four days until I was finally notified that the rooms would be occupied by the executive of a hot-rod car show and if we found other accommodation they would transfer our deposit there. We were also told that our Sorority ladies should not be visiting that particular weekend as the town would be very busy. In summary no apologies were made and the conversation with a most belligerent owner was not professional to say the least.
I would certainly discourage anyone from making reservations at Buena Vista by the Sea in Qualicum.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
8  Thank Els B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We were so pleasantly surprised when we first viewed our "Georgia Room" at Buena Vista. Absolutely stunning view and lots of light. The garden below is meticulously groomed with lawn and flowers and seating areas and barbecue facilities. And then, a little sandy beach area and access to the ocean beyond, with views of the mountains and islands of BC. Our hostess couldn't have been more gracious, even offering a cup of cream for morning coffee. The little kitchen and full size stove and fridge contained all the necessities for preparing meals. And the little town of Qualicum Beach couldn't be more charming! All in all, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndas834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Lori & John the managers of Buena Vista By The Sea were welcoming and compassionate beyond our expectations after a horrendous day for my brother and I. We were looking for affordable accommodations at 8:30 at night after our Father had passed away in Qualicum unexpectedly that morning. We truly found our oasis in them and their quaint 8 room motel. It is an older site right on the highway and the beach. The spacious common property with gardens, wooden patio decks and a barbecue all at the entrance to the beach is special. The rooms have been updated with very good quality pillow top mattresses, linens, nice carpet, lino, and furnishings. The kitchens are facing the front adjacent to the hwy away from the bed so we did not experience any road noise. I left my patio door open a couple of inches in the locked position and fell asleep to the sound of soft waves against the beach. Thank you Lori & John, your kindness at the end of that awful day made a world of difference to us both.

Room Tip: I preferred the upstairs room for the view.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Van2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

We spent a week here and loved it. The managers Lori and John are wonderful -- very friendly and helpful. The motel is immaculate, and the grounds are beautifully kept. It's right on the beach and very quiet, even though it's on the Island Highway. Highly recommended, and we'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Georgia suite, which is probably the nicest -- upper floor, fabulous view and very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Olgasheean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Extraordinary location – on the beach, close to all amenities, and activities galore close at hand. We found this to be an excellent stopping point on our way to the West Coast of Vancouver Island. The hosts were very welcoming. The view from our unit was one you could gaze at all day. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rebeccaleslie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews