We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
8
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
4
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

If you need perfection and luxury accommodation, don't come to St Andrews. But if you appreciate the simple life, nature, friendliness and vintage charm, you'll fall in love with this sweet spot in Qualicum. It's just far enough away from town centre to feel private, and just close enough to be convenient. The cottages are wonderfully well kept for having been built in the 40's - they remind one of simpler days before flat screens and fast food and high rise luxury hotels. This is a slice of the past to be appreciated...there are so few vacation spots like it left. The cottages are quirky and charming (not modern) and have everything one needs. They are situated on a pebble beach front property and the cottages are nestled in a grove of mature trees...through which deer wandered several days during our weeklong stay. We were allowed a campfire on the beach and enjoyed many romantic sunsets there. Bring your water shoes to enjoy the swimming - it's rocky. Bring your groceries too (from town) and borrow a grill from the friendly innkeepers. The English style fish and chips restaurant across the street was well above average...if you're interested in splurging, it's very well worth the 30 second walk! We saw seals, and deer and one day the beach was swarming with tiny crabs...SO cool! The bugs were minimal - we had our unscreened windows open 24 hrs a day. Go before it disappears to developers!!!

Date of stay: August 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
7  Thank CalgaryClaymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had heard about St. Andrews Lodge many times but had never stayed there. From the first contact over the phone I could tell that it was a friendly place. When we drove in we fell in love with the place and then when we were shown our cottage we knew we were going to have a great holiday. The cottages were built in the 30's or 40's and they are very well kept and nice and clean. We loved that the kitchen stove heated the water I think that was half the fun lighting it (they will light it for you). As soon as we unpacked we went for a walk on the beach which was right outside our cottage. The cottages are close to Qualicum Beach about a 10 minute drive,you could also walk to two places near by for a meal, and there was a little grocery store across the street. We can not wait to go back to our cottage by the beach. The property is up for sale I am hoping that when it sells that they do not change a thing. It is a great place for a get away.

Room tip: We stayed in #3 and it had a great view of the beach.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CanadaPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

St. Andrews is one of only two self-contained cottage style accommodation on the beach in Qualicum Beach. It is made up of 7 cottages with 1 or 2 bedrooms plus fully supplied kitchen, outdoor picnic area and each with a full beach view. The property is still full of trees and at the outer limits of Qualicum, so although shops and restaurants are within walking distance, the feeling is of being out in the country. The cottages were built during the 1930's and 40's and still retain the charm of the era. The beach it sits on offers endless walks, the best one is to the north and ending at a land preserve at the Qualicum River Estuary. Wildlife abounds in these waters, both mammals and birds. Watching ferries and cruise ships between Vancouver or Washington State to Alaska is part of the charm. Hurry though. The cottages are for sale and may not be there much longer, if a developer who favours large hotels should buy the place. The tide goes far, far out at low tide, offering endless beach exploration.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My family has been visiting St. Andrew's for over 25 years and always have a wonderful time.

The cottages are almost 75 years old (I think) but are very well maintained and absolutely spotless. There are about 7 (?) cottages set on a very large piece of land, right on the beach. We have stayed in most of the cottages over the years and have found all of them have their charm.

This is not the place to go if you are looking for luxury--but if you are looking for clean accommodation in a beautiful location--with opportunities to walk, explore the seashore, have beach fires, etc. this is the place for you. The Village of Qualicum is lovely and has lots of interesting shops and restaurants.

Final note--my daughter is now 24 and has travelled to many locations over the years--her favourite memories are still of St. Andrew's.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pharvey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed in the bachelor cottage that is pet friendly and walk out to the beach. It is cramped because of a big old stove/heater that cannot be turned off because it heats the hot water for two units. Windows have to be kept open to reduce the stifling heat. Furnishings have seen better days, the curtains are on a wire, there were cobwebs in the bathroom and the stained shower made it feel unclean. Bring your own pillow! The upside is hearing sea lions at dawn for a winter rate of $80.

Date of stay: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HatzicMission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews