We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted in a campground!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kimberley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kimberley Riverside Campground
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We had a great family reunion at this campground, it was everthing we were hoping for.

We booked a year in advance for our reunion and were able to get a group of us in the area at the top called Sunflower Hill. The spots we were in were not very private but with it being all our family in the sites it didn't matter. These sites have water and power but no sewer hook up. Very close to the main building that has washrooms, laundry and pool.

The pool was great, nice big deck to sit and relax or play ping pong or giant chess game. The pool is gradual entry with a w/c ramp which made it perfect for younger kids to be in more shalllow water.

The showers are free but hot water runs out very quickly.

Free Wi-fi in certain area's of the campground. We happened to be close enough to one of the hotspots that it worked at our site most of the time.

Mini golf is a fun little course located right as you come in to the campground.

If you go down to the bottom of the campground there is a rocky beach along the river. Beautiful spot to sit and cool off. Someone has built rock pools so it's safe to sit without worrying little ones with get washed down the river. There is also a park at the bottom of the campground and an area to have a picnic.

There is lots to do in this area. Biking trails, fishing, hiking, rafting and some great golf courses close by!

If back in the area camping I am sure we would choose this place again!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Moscato-Mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

This place is built for families! Great sites, a POOL, flush toilets, laundry, showers, mini golf, hiking trails, a park (a little dated) and close to town. Love the service, enjoy camping here with the family. Try it out. Book early!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank TravellingMatthieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We called an hour before arriving and through the campsite was full, they have non-reservable non-serviced sites for tenting and campers. We got a site immediately for $30 per night and stayed for 3 nights. We were beside the St. Mary river which was gorgeous and sounded amazing. Crystal at the office was incredible and helped us get around the area and assisted with anything we needed.

Privacy was non-existent in the sites we were in but we were able to set up our site so we weren't staring at our neighbors. Pool is very small and shallow but great for kids. Bathrooms/showers and outhouses are very clean and kept up. Tons of lakes around the area to visit. Mini golf was beautiful and fun, challenging enough. Great stay, would stay again!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

We had reservations for this campground this weekend but are experiencing a fire in our community. I have just got off the phone with the Riverside Campground and was told they couldn't reimburse us for this weekend. The management said and I quote " I can't help nature"
Seriously...where is your human compassion? We have stayed 3 different times with this campground and will NEVER be back.
You make me shake my head at some of the human race out there.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Shauna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyCampground, Manager at Kimberley Riverside Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear Shauna R,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review as it had brought this matter to my attention. I am the only manager here at the Riverside Campground and know that this was not brought to my attention by my staff. I absolutely would have refunded you, especially as it is something completely beyond your control. It was not a case of a conflict in schedule, you forgot about your booking or you simply couldn't come... it was a case of being on an evacuation alert and the last thing you should ever experience during this time is a lack of compassion.

I will be sitting down with the staff member in question as this was completely unacceptable and I will be ensuring this does not happen, ever again.

Although you have specified you have no plans to return, I do hope the gift certificate and refund will help you consider staying with us again. We value every single customer that walks through our door and I hope we renew your faith in us if you give us the chance.

Thank you again for your review and please do reconsider us as we would love to give you great customer service, just like the last 3 times you have stayed with us.

Kindest Regards,
Leanna Winter
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We stayed here for an overnight stay in the unserviced tent sites at the bottom of the facility. We felt very safe, everyone was friendly, the pit toilets and plumbed facilities were all very clean and well maintained. The front counter staff were helpful, professional and welcoming. The quiet hours (starting at 11 pm) were observed so we slept soundly.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kimberley hotels
6.1 km away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 5 in Kimberley
405 reviews
6.2 km away
Mountain Spirit Resort
Mountain Spirit Resort
#1 of 5 in Kimberley
256 reviews
6 km away
Polaris Lodge
Polaris Lodge
#4 of 5 in Kimberley
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Chateau Kimberley Hotel
Chateau Kimberley Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kimberley
91 reviews
6.3 km away
Northstar Mountain Village Resort
6.8 km away
North Star Motel
North Star Motel
#3 of 5 in Kimberley
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Riverside Campground? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Riverside Campground

Address: St Mary Lake Rd | Site 500, Kimberley, British Columbia V1A 3B9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kimberley
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Kimberley
Price Range: ₹ 1,078 - ₹ 1,591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the pristine St. Mary River Valley, the Kimberley Riverside Campground offers incredible scenery and endless opportunities for all to enjoy! Check out our heated outdoor pool, 18 hole mini-golf course, playground, disc golf course, day use recreation area, and our many other amenities! Sites available as 15/30/50 amp electrical, water and sewer. Wifi Internet at free hot spot locations, payphone, laundromat, convenience store, rock-climbing wall, hiking and biking trails and sani-dump. We are big-rig friendly and our sites are available as back-in, pull through, River View, Non Service and/or tenting options are all available! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing